We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get a Shake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Durty Gurt's

Durty Gurt's
Ranked #7 of 62 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get a Shake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We ordered the burger, a salad, and the mint shake. I really enjoyed alcohol in a shake. It was the first time I had one, and you could easily have a few without really realizing it. It's the perfect dessert!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank natp1626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    233
    99
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
princeton, il
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, great staff, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Food was delicious! Huge portions, we actually shared a hamburger and it was still too much. Staff was very friendly. Very unique decor, loved all the sayings on the walls.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finallyforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality and Quanity at a great price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Always gone during the week and had great service but we went on weekend and they where packed and the service was still friendly and fast.And the food was amazing. We haven't had a bad thing yet from the menu.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Went with four kids. They got a kick out of all the signs on the walls! The burgers were great, very large portions. The seasoned fries were really good. Two of the kids got the side salad, which was a really generous size for $2.99! We ordered mozzarella sticks, and the dipping sauce that came with them was terrific! It wasn't your usual marinara...I"m not sure what it was, but we loved it!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kleigh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, IA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Sandwich!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Out of all the places to eat in Galena....we picked Durty Gurts for the name...
we thought what the heck....and were happily rewarded with great food, a fun
atmosphere (sp?) and a great waitress.
My girl-friend and myself both had a Beef Au Jus sandwich with home made
french fries. What was unusual was......it came with a small cup of pepper mix
to add to the sandwich...which I did....and.....wow.....it really made the sandwich
different and delicious. We thought it was kind of weird when the waitress asked
us if we wanted hot or mild peppers....and we both just said "mild". Oh and the home
made french fries were wonderful also!
Next time we go...we are trying one of their famous hamburgers......they looked really good too!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrskks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durty Gurt's also viewed

 

Been to Durty Gurt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing