We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like Japanese food”
Review of Little Tokyo

Little Tokyo
Ranked #17 of 63 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Montrose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you like Japanese food”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have ordered the Bento Box. I am not familiar with other items and the waitress had a few problems communicating in English.

It is clean and all food is freshly prepared, much of it in open view.

They seem to attract much repeat business which is a good sign.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GalenaEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    51
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of our favorite "go to" places in town.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We have tried numerous dishes and all have been excellent. The pineapple rice is one of our favorites! The sushi is always fresh and tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boompa135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
483 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Always tastes great.”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have become a sushi eater over the past several years. In the beginning I didn't really know how to order. I was intimidated by the language barrier and the menu, my own problems but I was determined to work through them. The folks at Little Tokyo removed both those barriers. They have been nothing but kind, friendly, and most of all patient. I used to always take a friend to share the experience and make it a little easier, now I can go it alone if I choose. YEAH. The food is always fabulous and I can rely on it to taste fresh every time. They are always willing to make all their rolls with soy wraps. They have spoiled me to the point that I will not eat them any other way. Not all restaurants are so willing to make all their rolls with soy wraps. Service, quality, and comfort are tops at this restaurant, you can't go wrong.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Go2FunFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Must in Galena”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Little Tokyo is one of my favorite places in Galena. The food is delicious and the restaurant is very clean. Started the weekend off with a trip for the delicious rolls. This time, had the Denise and Downtown. Yummy!!! We will definitely be back!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aparrothead45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“There are better places...”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We ate here only because my husband wanted sushi and it was the only place in town that served it. It is clean but our waitress was incredibly rude. I asked to use the restroom and while waiting in line, was asked what I would like to drink. The food was okay but there are plenty of other restaurants in the area to eat at with friendlier waitstaff and better food for what you pay.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mkirschman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Tokyo also viewed

 

Been to Little Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing