We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Weekend Fun”
Review of Grant Hills Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grant Hills Motel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Mpls MN
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Family Weekend Fun”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay at the well cared for Grant Hills Motel. We were traveling with our daughter and 2 dogs for a long weekend. The Grant Hill was so accommodating,offering us a lovely CLEAN room with good beds and a sound nights sleep along with a good cup of coffee in the morning a hot shower and a great property to walk the dogs on. All at a fair price! We will stay there again when we come this way. Thank You!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ginamia0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    42
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
35
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carpentersville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I stayed at the Grant Hills Motel with my mother recently. The staff was courteous, if not outgoing. The facilities are maintained well enough given the obvious aging of the grounds and building. The room I stayed in was fairly clean, but was dank and had an unpleasant odor. The walls are wood panelled or cinder block and the shower was a stall with a concrete floor. The beds were a bit stiff and although I had no problem, my mother had a troubled back after spending a night on one.

Grant Hills Motel is a short drive from downtown Galena and is a good value compared to other hotels/B&Bs I saw advertised. The free internet access was very convenient. Half of the rooms have parking directly outside their doors, for the other half you must walk down a flight of stairs to access. These rooms face a large lawn area that is pleasant by day, but a little alarming at night.

All in all, you don't get a lot for your money at Grant Hills Motel. I would not stay there again or recommend it, but if you must stay in/near Galena and cannot find other accommodations, this place will give you a roof over your head and a bed to sleep in.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sarah523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Me and my BFF are traveling cross country and were traveling through Galena, Illinois. We were driving for a long time and were eager to stay in a comfortable safe place. The woman behind the desk was THE NICEST lady ever and she made us feel very safe and at home. She was very accommodating and our room was AWESOME. It was big and homey for the two of us. She even offered us coffee and told us fun places to tour the next day... WE LOVED IT! STAY THERE!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lindz117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The woman who runs this Inn is helpful and friendly. She made us feel welcome right away. The room was quaint and the yard outside our room was beautiful, especially during sunset. The pool was clean and not packed with people. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will come again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SammyJane17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
6.1 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
3.6 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Hills Motel

Property: Grant Hills Motel
Address: 9372 Highway 20 West, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grant Hills Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galena's best value. Offering simple comforts of home, Grant Hills Motel is comfortably equipped to help you pack lightly and enjoy extended stays. Onsite laundry and kitchen facilities, a spacious backyard with picnic area and gas grills provide homey conveniences. More for you: heated outdoor pool, next-to-door parking (most rooms), and choice of up to 3 beds per room. Pet friendly. Affordably priced. 34 Rooms-perfect for reunions, business travelers and extended stay guests. Within minutes of downtown, shopping, dining and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Grant Hills Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Hills Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing