We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wyndham Worldmark Galena” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Worldmark Galena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Worldmark Galena
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wyndham Worldmark Galena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This property is going through the transition into a Wyndham property and we were pleasantly surprised that our room (booked at the last minute) was newly renovated, clean and cozy. Even though it was a studio (with a Murphy bed). The queen sized mattress was adequate and surprisingly comfortable. The fireplace that separates the whirlpool area from the living area provided enough warmth while using the whirlpool (big enough for 2) and the living area / bedroom. Carpeting was all new as well. Note the studio has a fridge, stove top and microwave but no oven, so not a big deal if you're not baking anything.

The pool area and hot tub were great. The pool room itself can use a paint job, but I'm sure that's scheduled. They were having problems with the sauna (dry) which didn't get much past 85 degrees but the service ticket was noted. The workout room was decent with 2 relatively new treadmills, 2 bikes and a huge weight machine. All in perfect working order.

Service is terrific and very helpful. It's really pleasant to be actually "welcomed" into the resort if even for a 2 night stay. They were helpful with recommendations and directions as well.

Lastly, note that this location is about 8 miles away from downtown Galena and is a nice drive, just don't expect to walk out your front door or across the street to any attractions.

Room Tip: Having a valley view room is nice, BUT..... it's also on the sunny side. So if you're a lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
43
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
177 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had 2 studios. The rooms were very roomy and the kitchette was very nice. A 2 burner stove, small refridge and sink was very nice. A full compliment of pots and pans, dishes for a seating of 4, an outside gas grill, everything was great. There was an indoor swimming pool/jacuzi/sauna area. There was a rec room with pool table, fooz ball and ping pong. There was an arcade that had to be fed coins. The exercise room was very nice. The location is very convient to Chestnut Mountain for skiing, or Galena for shops and restaurants. We also took some time and visited Wisconsin and other nearby towns. As we only stayed 3 eveings, but that was more than enough for 2 pre teens. This resort is designed for personal down time and recharging the batteries. If you are looking for action packed, run, run, run, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have been here twice in the last couple years. Very hard to book through Wyndham, as this is very popular and limited number of units. A small resort that has personal service but leaves you alone to enjoy your stay. No sales or owner update meetings. Nice pool, patio with bbq gas grills, game room, exercise room, and beautiful accommodations. Even the studio units ( little kitchenette) have plenty of room and the hot tub with fireplace. Very romantic.
The area around the resort is full of hilly scenic and historic things to see and do. Towns, skiing, a Luge, shopping, the Mississippi River is not too far away, Galena, Dubuque…never enough time too see it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank likemywyndham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our actual 25th wedding anniversary. We originally did a trip to Hawaii that included a cruise to the islands a month prior to this trip. So on our actual anniversary we decided to try this resort. We used my Aunt’s timeshare. We were welcomed by a very friendly staff. They informed us of the amenities and things to do for the weekend. The rooms were great. They have a huge soaking tub with a few jets. The water was only a small issue since they had just put in a new system you had to run the water a bit. It came out brownish but after that you were good to go. We hiked the grounds of Eagle Ridge and decided to even golf. The course there is amazing. We also were able to watch the Halloween Parade in town. That was great! The floats were good we really liked the Hot Air Balloons! It was kind of chilly that night and the heat they let out was welcomed. The resort pool and hot tub are really nice. They have a workout room but we didn’t part take since we hiked and played golf. The one course is open all year round. (weather permitting). The staff at the front desk had great suggestions for restaurants and things to do. On our actual anniversary we opened our door to find a nice note attached to a few balloons wish us well. They really go above and beyond in the service department. I would definitely go back to this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We came to Galena for the first time and stayed at WorldMark for 5 nights. The studio rooms we had (3) were very nice. The pool was decent but the hot tub was so full of chemicals it made our eyes burn. The owners lounge with games was a nice addition but everything cost so bring $ should you want to take advantage of this amenity. We rented movies here nightly for the kids which also cost.

The front desk staff - especially Amy - was wonderful and made our trip more enjoyable.

Internet access is not free - it cost $4.95 per day and was a mess during our stay. I called about the issues and was told they set up all my computers to access the net. This was not the case. I hope they get this fixed soon.

The location is about 8 miles from downtown Galena. If you don't mind driving into town - which we didn't this is a good family environment. Loads of kids and families. There is no restaurant on property.

We have been to better resorts in other places. However, for the $ and the appropriateness of this property for our group/family I give the place high marks. Also, the property is nice - clean - and well done.

I would certainly recommend this property to anyone who comes here for a family vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schnedavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We couldn't have had a better family get together than the one put on by Worldmark Galena. I'd been before but It was Mom and the toddler's first trip. They were wowed. The jacuzzi and hot tubs, the extra kitchen space to cook a whole thanksgiving dinner, the friendly staff and family friendly pool couldn't have been any better.

it was pretty cool to look out at the beautiful country side and feel relaxed and away from it all. But all the charm and warmth of Galena were only a few short miles away.

We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is by far may favorite Wyndham property. Out in the middle of nowhere, only 62 units, yet only five miles from Galena. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept on (a pull out Murphy) in a studio, the fireplace separated the jacuzzi tub and the living room/bed area so you can sit in the tub and watch the fire. A beautiful deck overlooks the sunrise. The people were wonderful at the Longhollow Inn and there's even a sauna, pool and hot tub, not to mention a work out room. The lobby was tastefully done up for Santa's arrival. They took attention to every detail. I went home after only 2 days feeling relaxed and refreshed. I loved the fact that there weren't a bunch of screaming kids with inattentive parents running up and down the hall. It was very cold there, but the room was warm and cozy, perfect for a couples getaway. Restaurants that were open were limited, but Gobby's was especially good. We did not hear a peep from anyone of our neighbors the entire time--the only "downside" was no laundry facilities in-room, but of course free laundry on every floor so no big deal!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be good, but you always want a room looking east to watch the sun rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank higas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
8.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
7.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#11 of 11 in Galena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worldmark Galena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldmark Galena

Property: Worldmark Galena
Address: 5129 West Longhollow Road, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Galena
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Worldmark Galena 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone and Odigeo so you can book your Worldmark Galena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark Galena Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing