We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place overall”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Steamboat House
Ranked #17 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very good place overall”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I have stayed in a number of bed and breakfasts throughout the US. Steamboat House is a beautiful structure and the hosts are nothing if not gregarious. I thought the house a little overdecorated, esp. with the addition of Xmas items (which I do love), but there were many beautiful pieces. I am a foodie, and breakfast certainly satisfied on that count. We stayed in the Lene - very nice room, and it was very quiet even when the house was full. A caveat about that particular room - shower is very small, also toilet tissue very thin. Staying in historic homes is a small price to pay for this. Nice DVD library and beverages early am and during happy hour. There was mention of a computer in the library, but never saw one. Bed was comfortable and the gas fireplace generated a nice amount of warmth.
Be sure to get to House on the Rock near Spring Green, WI - not to be missed!
Overall recommended, and the price and lack of 3-day minimum around holidays another plus in my book.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clvier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    16
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
98
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Our sixth visit to the Steamboat House B&B. Char and Glen continue to out do themselves. It is no wonder we return year after year.Their home is warm, cozy and filled with victorian charm. Their breakfast is outstanding. Wouldn't stay any where else. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tom Sherry, Mukwonago, WI
Dec 10th and 11th

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stgimler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We have been to the Steamboat twice with good friends. We love it so much. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. The innkeepers, Char and Glen are totally hospitable and they set the most beautiful table each morning and serve a wonderful breakfast. We like to play a dice game and we have enjoyed it in the library, the gazebo, and the upstairs sitting room. Wine time is always enjoyable. We can't wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

If comfort is what your looking for you might want to pass this one up. The hosts were very friendly and seemed to want to please, They offered a social time with wine that was very nice and a great effort was put into the breakfast, however, there were way to many things placed precariously. The already narrow stairway leading to the rooms were cluttered and very difficult to navigate. Their treasures were placed in such a way that they could easily be broken. Made us too nervous.. While the furniture is beautiful there was only one sofa in the library that was comfortable to sit on with the lighting so poor it was difficult to read. When we go to a B&B we want to relax. Not for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynthia2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
172 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Beautiful surroundings. Gracious and entertaining hosts. Wonderful breakfasts. Superb accommodations. Beautiful gardens. Lots of cozy places to curl up with a cup of tea and a book. Luxuriously appointed guest rooms with fireplaces. Private bathrooms. Amenities such as built-in blow dryers, DVD players in each room, a comprehensive DVD library, pool table, baby grand piano, and more -- is what you will find awaits you at The Steamboat House in Galena Illinois!! I have been spoiled at The Steamboat House and am not going to find another Bed and Breakfast that comes close to my experience there. In the past, I had stayed at The Steamboat House on mother-daughter trips. This time I brought a group of college girlfriends with me for a spa weekend. We were not disappointed -- Char and Glen, the owners, outdid themselves again!! They are wonderful hosts who have perfected the art of running a B&B. They truly enjoy people, and clearly, it shows. They go out of their way to accommodate their guests and make you feel as if you are part of their extended family!! I so look forward to their stories, suggestions on what to do and where to eat in Galena, and their charm and presence. Breakfasts are hot, full, well-thought out and planned, and delicious!! Wine Time -- when cheese, salami, and red and white wines are served -- is a nightly event that guests thoroughly enjoy as they recount the day's activities and plans for the evening. There are many activities to enjoy... playing the piano, watching a DVD, playing on an antique pinball machine or pool table, enjoying the gazebo and gardens. Just steps away from Main Street, The Steamboat House has the most ideal location in the town! Guests can easily walk to Main Street. Each of the five guest rooms are individually decorated with beautiful antiques and each room has a charm of its own! This charming Victorian home is ideal for friends, reunions, couples, mother/daughter getaways, and celebrations of every kind!! If you would like to treat yourself to something special, you deserve a trip to The Steamboat House in Galena, Illinois!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atticus5335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

My wife and I stayed for two nights to celebrate our 5th anniversary. The home has a very interesting history and the proprietors did an amazing job restoring and furnishing the home. Also a top notch location as main street two blocks away. Glen and Char were excellent hosts and had several great stories to share with the guests. They also served an outstanding breakfast that was impossible not to enjoy. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicubfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I took my wife here for a 5 day celebration of her 60th Birthday. We could not have been more pleased. The rooms are spotless and the decor is amazing. More little touches than I could begin to describe! Char and Glen were most helpful with recommendations and a few special touches I requested for the event. As an added bonus, we were in Galena!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandJudi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
839 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat House

Property: The Steamboat House
Address: 605 S Prospect St, Galena, IL 61036
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of historic Galena in the extraordinary mansion built by legendary steamboat captain Daniel Smith Harris in 1855. A walk-to-town location, evening wine and cheese hour, heirloom antique furnishings, and gracious surroundings provide guests with the very finest bed and breakfast experience."Galena's favorite bed & breakfast" is a destination in itself. The Steamboat House showcases architectural excellence with its grand foyer, billiard room, parlors, library and formal dining room, all meticulously restored for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing