We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be Back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Steamboat House
Ranked #17 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be Back!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had only stayed at one other B&B before so we weren't sure what to expect. Our stay with Glen and Char could not have been more relaxing and enjoyable. The Steamboat House has been beautifully restored and decorated with historical memorabilia and antiques. The front of the house has a large porch, gazebo and gardens; a great place relax sitting in a rocker and enjoy a coffee or wine. The wine and cheese "hour" each night was great to get to know the other guests and hear the stories Glen and Char shared not to mention the great wines and unique cheeses. The multi-course breakfasts were creative and outstanding. We had such a great time we will definitely be back. Thanks to Glen and Char for your gracious hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoDaSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    18
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
102
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marseilles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I think of the Steamboat House as home when we visit Galena. Glen and Char always make our stay memorable - such a beautiful house, delicious breakfast, great conversation, and fabulous wine time. We always come home relaxed and refreshed and look forward to our next visit to the Steamboat House.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMarseilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We love staying at B&B's and this was our first visit to Steamboat House. Glen and Char were so very accomodating in providing us a great place to park our motorcycle while we toured Galena. The house is beautifully decorated with wonderful antiques and our room was spacious and comfortable. Social hour was so very much fun, with lively conversation and great wine & cheese. Our favorite part of staying at a B&B is meeting fellow travelors and visiting, Glen & Char go out of their way to introduce the guests to each other and engage everyone in converstation. Sitting on the front porch drinking morning coffee was so relaxing and breakfast was outstanding. I would highly recommend the Steamboat House. Leonard & Cathy L

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was our first stay in a B&B and we were apprenhensive at best, but Glen and Char made our stay extremely comfortable. By opening up their home to us, being gracious, kind and engaging, The Steamboat becomes your home away from home. The accomodations are wonderful and the elegant breakfeast along with great conversation really starts your morning out right. Char & Glen love their family and it's history which is displayed throughout their home and they love doing what they do and it shows.

We will plan to come again and maybe stay a little longer..thanks Char & Glen you're the "hostess with the mostest".

Chris & Deana Capua

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

My wife and I never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. This was our first time. I do believe that what we experienced was a blessing! On our first try at a bed and breakfast we stumbled on what I can confidently say is one of the best! You may ask, "But you never were at another B&B". Yes, but everything was wonderful. The hosts were very friendly and generous. The house was magnificent! The room was SO clean and the breakfast was first class. We felt like royalty! I hesitate at writing such a great review for one reason only; too many of you will read this and when I go to book a stay, there will be no room for us! : ) Gene and Chris B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We have stayed at a number of bed and breakfasts in the past and this one was the absolute best! Beautiful surroundings, great antiques, fabulous hosts; and a balanced and delicious breakfast. Conversation and amusing stories abound. The sites of the city of Galena were great too!

Room Tip: The enclosed porch off the Bess is wonderful; you can relax and enjoy the outside without bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We are repeat guests at The Steamboat House and I wouldn't think of going anywhere else! First of all, the hosts are truly wonderful people who obviously love what they do! Helpful and gracious, Char and Glenn are eager to give suggestions and helpful advice and have amusing and delightful stories to enchant you with! They are always doing whatever they can going out of their way to insure your visit is perfect. The breakfasts are heavenly!!...well-balanced with fruit, baked goods, hot entrees such as quiche, cinnamon pancakes, and other delights to tempt your palate.
Char and Glenn look to details such as changing the china pattern every day you are there so you never see the same pattern more than once. It is these details that will surprise and delight you. Wine Time, from 5-6 pm is a special time that is enjoyed by all guests and is not offered by many other B&B's. The home is filled with beautiful antiques, and many rooms that have been prepared for the enjoyment and delight of the guests! There is a pool table, grand piano, DVD/VCR library, DVD players and private bathrooms in every room, a gazebo in the garden, a beautiful front porch, and parlors and cozy seating areas to chat with other guests or curl up and read a book. The location is perfect!! The only B&B that is within easy walking distance to all Main Street has to offer!! The five guest rooms each have a unique personality and charm all their own. This is our home away from home....elegance and comfort, hospitality and charm all wrapped up in one to create a truly unique and delightful experience. Why go anywhere else???

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atticus5335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
855 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamboat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat House

Property: The Steamboat House
Address: 605 S Prospect St, Galena, IL 61036
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of historic Galena in the extraordinary mansion built by legendary steamboat captain Daniel Smith Harris in 1855. A walk-to-town location, evening wine and cheese hour, heirloom antique furnishings, and gracious surroundings provide guests with the very finest bed and breakfast experience."Galena's favorite bed & breakfast" is a destination in itself. The Steamboat House showcases architectural excellence with its grand foyer, billiard room, parlors, library and formal dining room, all meticulously restored for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing