We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of DeSoto House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeSoto House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Atkins, Iowa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Has a charm to it. The lobby is being remodled so entry into the hotel is through the restaurant or parking garage if it is later in the evening. Centrally located on main street making it easy to walk most places. Enjoyed breakfast in the Courtyard and dinner in the tavern. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    155
    25
    18
    11
See reviews for
86
287
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The DeSoto House is our favorite getaway spot in the Midwest. We love it! It's very comfortable, with a very accommodating staff. The historic atmosphere is charming, and the room (parlor suite) was lovely; it was quiet, clean, and relaxing. The central location in Galena is perfect; we didn't drive for four days! We enjoyed the food at the General's restaurant very much; the Easter brunch was delicious. Deb, the manager, made certain that our stay would be wonderful, and it was!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My family and I can't recommend this hotel enough. The staff couldn't be more friendly, accommodating and helpful. Unlike many hotel restaurants, the on-site cuisine is absolutely delicious. On our most recent visit the front desk area was being renovated. Didn't matter or affect service in the slightest. Staying in the Teddy Roosevelt room overlooking Main Street made us feel like a part of history. Like we were living back in the Civil War days. My young child, teen-ager and wife all loved it! I can't say enough good things about our experience staying at the De Soto. We've tried other hotels in the area in the past. Will never do so again. The De Soto is the best experience by far.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra $40 to choose a higher floor room that overlooks Main Street. It makes you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyguy7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have lived all over the country and have returned to the Midwest. The Desoto House has become our favorite. The rooms are authentic and beautiful as well as clean and comfortable. The staff is exceptional with a high level of professionalism, respect and friendliness. And the food....awesome!! The Courtyard serves wonderful breakfasts with a very broad menu (and fast service) the Green Street Tavern is good for lunch or dinner, but our favorite is The Generals Dining Room in the evening for well-prepared cocktails and a wonderful menu expertly prepared.
Don't miss the bacon-wrapped shrimp as an appetizer. What's not to like? We are already preparing for our next visit!!

Room Tip: We love 313 and 311. Free parking in the hotel garage which is wonderfully convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank so b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We eloped to Galena. Deb at the DeSoto House was amazing she went above and beyond to make our day special. She really paid attention to detail and everything we asked for was provided. The rest of the staff was also very accommodating, welcoming, and knowledgeable. The room had an old world feel but updated. We were in room 213 it is right on the corner facing down town with 5 beautiful big windows. We ate two meals there and they were both wonderful. We had a memorable experience and will most definitely return. We give DeSoto House a 10 and recommend it to everyone!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I'm a fan of history and historic buildings, and this one fits that bill. Beautifully appointed with high ceilings, lovely furnishings and right in the middle of downtown Galena. We had a free breakfast offer as well, and the wait staff person was excellent, as was the made-to-order breakfast in the interior courtyard. It was all great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lo_in_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shullsburg, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The staff was very friendly and knowledgable about the area. They have a new chef since the last time we were here and the food was amazing. I suggest the scallops. Best I've ever had. We will definitely be going back to the desoto house more often.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Property: DeSoto House Hotel
Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing