We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!!!”
Review of DeSoto House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeSoto House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning!!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We loved the history of this hotel. It's beautifully decorated. My two sons, my nephew, my twin sister and I stayed here and we all loved it. The high ceilings the soft beds and the room smelled great upon entering. It is perfectly located and the free parking is a great bonus!! I highly recommend staying here.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jbelle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    156
    25
    18
    11
See reviews for
87
291
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here with another couple over Thanksgiving weekend '13. Huge and very nice hotel with an enormous amount of history. We stayed in the "Thomas Nast" room which was very large. We didn't eat at the hotel but the bar was a nice place to stop by for a while. The hotel also couldn't be better located right on Main St. in the heart of Galena.

It's amazing how many legendary 19th/early 20th century figures stayed at the DeSoto. If you're a history dork like I am or you're into potentially haunted places then this place is right in your wheelhouse. I would definitely recommend the DeSoto if you're looking for a nice hotel in the center of everything in Galena.

Room Tip: The third floor is apparently haunted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a wonderful, historic hotel nestled right on Main Street! We had made a special request at check-in that was cheerfully filled without a blink of an eye! The staff is superb, knowledgable and professional. What a great place!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our stay in General's Row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowbear17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our Business held it's Christmas party at the Hotel. Service was excellent and the food was very well presented. Offering several selections I chose the Strip Steak and it was delicious as were the potatoes. Dessert was a choice of 3 different cakes.... I chose lemon, and a great choice it was they also offered a generous scoop of ice cream (vanilla) that was very good as well. If you are looking for a historical property to visit, stay and eat the Desoto should be at the top of your list.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We loved the bed and breakfast feel of our room, and on our visit the staff was pleasant. We had a great time in the little town, the food was excellent (we did eat at the hotel once), and it was overall a good weekend. However, in the morning we did notice a rather large patch of mold/mildew in the bedroom and when I emailed the hotel upon returning home to inform them of the room number and the issue, I expected to receive at the very least an email in return apologizing or at least recognizing my email. I feel if an issue isn't recognized and addressed, then it remains an issue and isn't reconciled. Do remember it is an old building and may have moisture issues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominiqueCross, General Manager at DeSoto House Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the DeSoto House. I'm glad that in many ways you did enjoy your stay! I do apologize that you did not receive a response to your email, I sincerely believe it was an oversight. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The DeSoto house, located on the main shopping strip, is just what the title of this review says. We were not disappointed. Though we did not spend a lot of time in the room, we found it comfortable. The room felt like a bed and breakfast, but with the amenities of a larger hotel.

We would stay here again for the location but preferred The Irish Cottage.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

My twin my son and my two nephews stayed here for a night and it was wonderful. The hotel was full if history and charm. The room was huge and the beds were comfy. We wanted to see a ghost but did not (maybe next time). We ate at generals and the courtyard. Both great. Loved the generals in the basement. Our boys loved it and always wanted to be in the room. I loved the location and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
839 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Property: DeSoto House Hotel
Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing