We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Getaway!”
Review of DeSoto House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeSoto House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Getaway!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the DeSoto for 2 nights in July and had a great stay. We arrived at about noon and our rooms were ready so we were able to check in early which was very nice. Our room was on the 3rd floor and was an interior room so it was kind of dark, but since we didnt spend a lot of time there it wasn't a big deal. All the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the hotel itself is beautiful and full of history. The location was great and we walked everywhere. The breakfast buffet in the courtyard restaurant was delicious! We didn't eat at the other on-site restaurants so I can't speak to those. Overall, the DeSoto was excellent and I would stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior room for great views and natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DayTripper891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    156
    25
    18
    11
See reviews for
86
289
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our weekend trip to Galena was another success. The online reservations, and speedy check-in at the DeSoto gave us a great start tot the weekend. Our room was quiet and comfortable. I had no problem with using the wi-fi, everyone was so friendly and any request was taken care of quickly. We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosiePeoria_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Again a wonderful experience by Deb Bertucci and staff. It has become a family tradition, we feel so welcomed, the food is wonderful, the wonderful ombience of the occasion. The decorations are exceptional. The fact that you are not shoved and pushed. The children are safe and secure. We have now been there for 7 years. We wouldn't think of being anywhere else. While building my home, there were several excursions at the De Soto. Each time seemed to outdo the one before. This time, as in the pass, we have sent our out of town guest there. Again everyone was so pleased. I guess what I am saying is individual couples all agree what a great place to stay in Galena. Thank you. M. Arnold

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary ann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We come to Galena every year and always stay at DeSoto. Shelia is the best employee and wish I could hire her to work at my business :). The other staff is good too. Comfy rooms, great food and location, location, location. I did email Deb the manager who never responded, but I guess we all get busy. As an advisor, if you're going to Galena, the DeSoto is the only place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HorseColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed over the 4th of July, including participating in the rooftop celebration. The party included favors, activities for the children so they were able to burn off their energy and entertain everyone, the food was delicious, the staff was knowledgeable and courteous in all parts of the hotel, the view of the fireworks was spectacular, etc. It was a special occasion for us, which I had mentioned when making the reservation, and it was celebrated with a bottle of wine in our room! In addition, I've traveled frequently, and this is the first time a hotel has shown the courtesy of putting bottled water in the room. Overall, the experience was wonderful and I would wholly recommend DeSoto House Hotel to anyone wanting to stay in historic Galena, right in the middle of the Main Street shopping district.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This old historic hotel is a surprise in the best sense of the word!
Fantastic downtown location and you really need not venture past the doors if you want good food and great atmosphere.
We spent the 4th of July here and were able to view the fireworks form the rooftop! (highly recommended for family fun)
Best Bloody Mary's in the Stateline!

Room Tip: 3rd floor, newer addition to the hotel, is your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiikeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The staff at the hotel is one of the nicest groups of people you could ever meet. The management, front desk staff, restaurant and bar staffs and housekeeping staff were the greatest asset to our stay. They were beyond helpful and so friendly, it was like we'd known them all our lives. The hotel is full of ghost stories and it's amazing what a feeling of the history of the hotel we get staying there. We're just waiting to see The Lady in Black some night. We'll come back any time we're in Galena.

Room Tip: Check out the website for room pictures. And join the email list for discount specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregga30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Property: DeSoto House Hotel
Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing