We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Thanks to the entire establishment instead of just the Courtyard restaurant. Such a wonderful atmosphere, food , rooms,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DeSoto House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeSoto House Hotel
Save
You added DeSoto House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Galena, Il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks to the entire establishment instead of just the Courtyard restaurant. Such a wonderful atmosphere, food , rooms,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Please list my prior review for the entire restaurant & hotel. It was placed in the incorrect catagory. If you read it it is for the entire establishment. Every event and stay that I have been to has been wonderful. I wrote a prior review and in error put it in the courtyard catagory. Every event and stay has made this a family outing for my entire family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary ann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    137
    23
    18
    10
See reviews for
72
251
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
randalia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We took advantage of the dinner and stay offer. We stayed in the Stephen Douglas suite. It was immaculate, spacious and had a wonderful view of the city. Our complimentary dinner was a culinary delight! Our steaks melted in our mouths and the fresh produce was delightful. We especially love your lemon herb bread and specialty bread. We look forward to our next stay at DeSoto!

Room Tip: The corner rooms are spacious. The Stephen Douglas room has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lori c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first time staying at this hotel, loved it, we paid extra to have a room facing Main street which was great, you can sit on your window sill and watch things going on outside. Our room was on a slight slant which was strange but still a lovely place to stay with total convienience of breakfast, lunch and dinner or some drinks in the sports bar thats attached! Will stay again for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glutengirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,766 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We've been to historic Galena, Illinois, on several occasions and never ceased to enjoy ourselves while finding something or some place new...a book store, a restaurant, a boutique, historic homes, an antique store, a museum, a confectionary...there is something to please and entertain everyone. Except for our first trip, we always have chosen to stay at the DeSoto House. Why not the first time? It hadn't been renovated. At that time, it looked like General Grant had just left or was still giving a Presidential campaign speech on the balcony. But now it is modern, up to date, charming and comfortable, located on Main Street, in the midst of everything. Galena is a two-hour drive from Chicago and if you are Civil War history buff, as we are, you will enjoy the town that sent nine, count 'em, nine generals to fight in the Civil War. If you aren't, it doesn't matter. Galena has something to offer everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a parlor adjacent to the bedroom. There is no such thing as a noisy room, even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
323 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was my second stay at the DeSoto House in Galena. Loved it the first time, loved it the second time! The hotel has lots of charm and history; after all, Lincoln, Douglas, and Gen. Grant all stayed here. Galena, in itself, is a beautiful little city surrounding the Galena River and it's quite amazing that flat Illinois has such a very hilly city near the Iowa border. The DeSoto hotel is right on Main street and has a large parking garage. It is truly a historic treasure and the room was clean and comfortable, although the lighting could have been better should one want to read a little. But wait, on the second floor of this fine hotel, was a little library with paperbacks (read it and leave another). Didn't use it the first two trips, but will definitely use it when I return with my daughter, my avid reader and trusted trip companion. The only drawback was the very affordable, but very unmemorable Sunday brunch. But only a minor drawback, as there is lots of fine dining in the area. Again, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toadsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

What a delight to stay in this historic hotel! It is said to be the oldest in the country. The location is at the center of town activity and the hotel has a large parking garage for your car. The room we stayed in was large and comfortable. The rooms are quiet also. It is an old hotel but charming. Everyone we encountered that worked at the hotel was friendly and helpful. It is a good idea to make a reservation as the night we stayed we got the last room. Definately a place I'd visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SYClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Brothers and sisters (with their spouses) get together every January. Generally we change cities each year, however, in 2012 we selected the DeSoto House Hotel, Galena, IL and we were elated. So we came back in January, 2013 and are now making reservations and plans for 2014 - all at the DeSoto House Hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel restaurants offers a little snack to a wonderful dinner. The hotel shops offer a variety of merchandise. The Sunday brunch is great. Parking is convenient at the hotel. The management, staff and wait members have always been very helpful and friendly, making sure everything is just the way you want it. Being downtown allows for close shopping and walking the historic streets. Can't wait to come back "home" to the DeSoto House Hotel in January, 2014.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms offer a variety of floor plans - Courtyard views to street views. Check them out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Property: DeSoto House Hotel
Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing