We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time!”
Review of DeSoto House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeSoto House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful time!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Everything was great and very cozy. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. Everyone was friendly and helpful! The restaurants were all excellent, and the service was wonderful. The location was perfect, right in the middle of downtown Galena, with lots of shops right in the lobby of the hotel. The room was a perfect period piece from the 1800's, except for the modern plumbing; air-conditioning, which was cool and quiet; and the free Wi-Fi!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    156
    25
    18
    11
See reviews for
87
291
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at DeSoto House several times and have always been pleased. This time we stayed for three nights. The desk staff was friendly and courteous. We were very happy with the cleanliness of the room. We stay in many hotels, so we know what we are looking for. Breakfast was included in the package I purchased and included many choices from a full service menu. The hotel has a bar and restaurant and a newly remodeled nicer restaurant downstairs. A walking, biking path along a small scenic river is a block away. We ate at a different restaurant every night and never move our car out of the free hotel parking garage. I recommend that you request a room on the Main Street side, rooms overlooking the atrium could be noisy.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wilma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We highly recommend staying at the DeSoto House in Galena, IL. The rooms are wonderful. The food at the hotel is absolutely delicious. The staff is so friendly and helpful. We had our 50 year class reunion there and the hotel staff, especially Deb Bertucci, worked so well with us to make it such a success. It's right on Main Street close to all the shops, the trolley tours and many other tourist attractions most of which are all in walking distrance. They also have a parking garage so you do not have to leave your car on the street overnight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virgil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent 3-nights (mid week) in September at the Desoto House - it was very comfortable and clean. We had a parlor suite which faced the street and with the large windows it was just like home; the fireplace came in handy on the cool evenings. We chose it for the location and the ambiance of Galena. The parking garage was a little close for a large SUV, but so nice to have available to us (only problem, there were non registered guests using the garage and when we brought it to their attention they didn't seem to care-would recommend a parking pass for registered guests). We ate dinner at the pub one night and breakfast in the courtyard, all very good and fresh. Have recommended it to others as you cannot beat the location; a little pricey but well worth it to stay where the shopping and dining are within reasonable walking distance. Just wished we would have had time to try all the fine dining as they all sounded wonderful - we had lunch at EMBE, incredible soup and sandwiches.

Room Tip: I preferred the outside room because of the natural light and would have been concerned if room abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I chose to stay at the Desoto House because of the convenience. We attended a wedding in Galena and were attracted to how near it was to the reception. Indeed it was a perfect location to wedding events, restaurants, shopping and The Desoto House had private parking for their guests, very nice!
The building itself and the hotel decor left something to be desired! It was badly in need of updating (bathroom, bedding, carpeting) and the hallways had the rather unpleasant odor of disinfectant. We wished the staff had told us about the complimentary coffee available to us throughout the day but as it was we only discovered this as we were leaving on the last day.
We will stay there again and will gladly pay a higher room price for an updated room.

Room Tip: Choose a front room if you want to watch the shoppers go by and get a good view of Galena
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank On_the_G0_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our 1st stay at the DeSoto House. Beautifully restored hotel - lots of history. The rooms were beautifully done and very spacious. Our room had an interior courtyard view which is okay, but we were not in the room that much anyway so the view was not an issue. As other reviewers have mentioned, one of the best features of the hotel is its location - right in the heart of shopping and dining - and the free underground parking. We did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel, but the bartender in the lounge makes a pretty good chocolate martini!

Room Tip: Book early to get an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I would say that the best reason to stay in this hotel is location, location, location! The history of the building adds to its charm but it is pricey for the accommodations alone. The convenience is what you are paying for. Like other reviews have mentioned, you can step right out the door to the many shops, restaurants, historical sights and parks. You don't even need your car once you arrive. Free multi-level parking is available in their private lot. Our room was spacious and had plenty of room for a roll away bed in needed. We never ate in the hotel so I can't speak of the food.
Even if you don't stay here you can stop in and do a self guided tour of the place. Pick up a brochure at the counter in the lobby and read the signs posted by all the pictures on the wall. There are two videos that run continuously explaining the history of the area and the hotel in the hotel quiet room on the second floor. Be sure to check that out too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
840 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Property: DeSoto House Hotel
Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing