We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haunted Dinner DeSoto House Hotel Oct. 29, 2011”
Review of DeSoto House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeSoto House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I had a wonderful time at the Haunted Dinner offered at the DeSoto House Hotel in Galena, Illinois on Sat. Oct. 29th. The parade down Main St. just before the dinner was full of fun and fire as the local hot air balloon enthusiasts revved up the flames on several "balloon inflators". The dining room was definitely a full house (even a table of witches) and the food (especially the chocolate cake dessert) felt satisfying at days end. Everyone was waiting to hear what “ghostly stories” the Mississippi Valley Paranormal group would bring to the table.
Kathy Gereau and Judith Norris lead the discussion with a visual presentation that included great orb photos, hotel interiors connected with experiences linked to phenomena gathered by their group of investigators and previous hotel staff and guest accounts. An especially interesting section included a voice recording of a female ghost saying “Excuse me.” as clear as day. Several members of the MVP were sitting at a table along the wall when they had and experience of the ghost – later when the dining room was being remodeled and the wall behind the table was bare to the studs a doorway was reveal – the ghost was simple wanting to go through the door she’s always used and they were in the way! Loved it. The question and answer section of the evening was interesting as well with lots of questions from the audience and a lot of sharing of personal experiences. I’ve also enjoyed excellent tarot readings over the last 10 years with both Judith and Kathy – the Two Tarot Ladies of www.GalenaBodyandSpirit.com

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColleenHelgerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for DeSoto House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 566 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

In our 30+ trips to Galena we have learned that the DeSoto House Hotel is our #1 place to stay. Historic sites, restaurants and shopping are all within walking distance from the DeSoto House. Downtown Galena is a beautiful historic setting and the best way to appreciate the town is to stay right in the heart of Galena. The DeSoto House Hotel has quality, comfortable rooms and they are the only downtown hotel that offers onsite parking and dining. We have eaten in all of the DeSoto House restaurants and all food is quality and delicious. Be sure not to miss their Blue Cheese soup! After half a dozen trips to Galena we decided that Galena was the place to have our dream wedding. The DeSoto House was the perfect place to have our family and friends stay and the perfect place to host our wedding reception. All of our guests loved the onsite parking and the close vicinity to all the historic sites, restaurants and shopping. Deb Bertucci and staff were so welcoming and accommodating to all of our guests and provided top service for our wedding. We had a classy, memorable reception that was perfect and flawless and we owe it all to the DeSoto House. The DeSoto House played a major roll in our special wedding day. A special thank you to Deb and all the DeSoto House staff for welcoming us, our family and friends and giving us the perfect wedding weekend celebration. We can’t thank you enough. All your hard work and effort is priceless and very much appreciated! We love Galena so much that we wanted to share it with our family. Galena has a celebration for every season. Everyone should visit Galena and stay at the historic DeSoto House hotel!!

Room Tip: We prefer exterior rooms but all rooms are spacious and comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bandbfan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Step back in time and truly enjoy a remodeled "old" hotel which simulates the Lincoln era. Complete with a history room, hallway historical pictures, and some genuine hallway "creaks" history buffs should not miss this part of Galena's historical development.

Room Tip: Not easy bringing in luggage through front dooe-opt for parking garage entrance with luggage cart
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyl024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I really enjoyed the hunted dinner. It was my frist one and I was impressed at all the imformation that was given with the pictures.
I was also impressed with the qulity of the ghost's pictures they were amazing . the food was good it was a interesting group that shared there experances with us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Total comfort. This hotel knows the definition of comfort & luxury. We were spoiled every step of the way. Beautifully decorated, high quality mattress, linens, soups, all the details, you name it. We were treated like royalty. The restaurants also deserve 5-stars. Attentive, knowledgable waitstaff, quality ingredients, extensive menus. I must include the convenient onsite, indoor, guarded parking. It was a joy to tour, shop & dine for hours & days on end knowing our car was close by & safe. You will not be disappointed when you stay here-whether one day or a long weekend. You'll feel like royalty by the time you leave. Go ahead, treat yourself!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large & sunny. Rooms overlooking the streets have great views & are also q...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephensSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We love to stay at the DeSoto House whenever we are in Galena. It's wonderful to be able to walk around the area and explore. We just park our car in their parking house (no fee for this) and just spend our time exploring the local shops and eateries and when we're tired or just need a quick break, we just head back to our room. We have been coming here since our kids were little, so it kind of feels like our home away from home. Also, their atrium restaurant is worth checking out for breakfast in the morning, very friendly and cozy, a good way to start your day.

Room Tip: Rooms on Main Street are a good choice because you have a terrifc view of downtown.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Nearly 80 of our friends and relatives met at the DeSoto House for our daughter's wedding reception. What a great time! Trolleys and hot air balloons are available for site seeing and we rented a trolley to take our guests from the hotel to the church and back. The hotel rooms were clean, comfortable and very roomy. Parking garage is included in the price of the rooms. The dining room was very elegantly done with white table cloths, white chair covers with black tie-backs, candelabras . . . and the food was to die for! We kept the servers hopping and not once did we feel we were being neglected. Most of our guests stayed for the Halloween Parade the next evening that lasted nearly an hour. Kids and adults alike were in costume and the entire downtown took part in the festivities. The shops and restaurants that line mainstreet make it easy to walk from one establishment to the next with very little effort. We highly recommend Galena as the perfect getaway.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank SM7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
866 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: $75 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing