We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous views - resort needs work” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnut Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Galena
hudson, ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views - resort needs work”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The view is outstanding. As are desperately needed updates for the price. Rooms are small and very dated. Restaurants are updated but the service is poor and the food is mediocre. We are a family of four who would have loved to stay longer but with mini golf you can't see (just one light?), a bathroom only one can be in, not good food, advertised wireless ("but we know it rarely works" and a team that seemed very confused and untrained - why? With updates and fixes we'd be back in a flash.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljhudsonHudson_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    77
    43
    28
    27
See reviews for
88
73
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Rooms are bad,bad,bad. This place might have been nice in the 80's.
I took my family to the alpine slide in the summer so I can't comment on the skiing.
The staff at the slide are disrespectful high school kids. I have never been talked to like that at any establishment......ever!!
I also heard them yelling at two kids....I'm talking top of lungs yelling for twenty or thirty seconds and not correcting kids for doing something wrong.
That is a direct reflection of ownership and management which neither of seems to be present.
Passed on the restaurant because of the smell near the kitchen which I can only describe as sewagey/bathroomy??
Don't waste your time and money like I did.
This place has so much potential but obviously nobody cares.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galena hotels

Level Contributor
250 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The views of the Mississippi are gorgeous. The condition of the hotel is egregious. The worst are the public spaces. Water stain after water stain greets you as you pass down the halls. The furniture is old and chipped. There is paint pealing off the ceiling in our room. The condition of the hotel is not acceptable. This place could be great. Nice staff. The room was clean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenrealife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I once read in a Galena Magazine the best views in all of galena can be seen from C.M.R. I have to admit when I first walked in I was blown away. Theres a indoor/outdoor restaurant that is surrounded by glass that has expansive views of the hills and The Mississippi river that is just beautiful. There are two restaurants at the resort The Summit which is your typical bar food and The Sunset grille which offers a more upscale menu. They both provide great views but The Sunset grille also provides outdoor seating. I have to say they make some of the Best Hot wings in the summit that I've ever had. Their wing sauces come in Beginner, intermediate and advanced-Advanced is amazing. We had a group for our reunion of around 30 people all of which had a great time. We had full use of the conference room which was a great way for us all to get together and have dinner play games etc.. The group loved the pool/hot tub and the Alpine slide. We also did the Scenic boat ride which launches right from the resort. The cons were what many reviewers have already stated-Most sections of the resort needs to be renovated. Some of the rooms have been but the rooms on the top and bottom floors have not. The restaurants were very nice but the hallways, common areas were in desperate need of updating. There was mold all over the ceiling in the pool area and the corridor leading to the pool was probably the worst of all the ares in the hotel. There is also no elevator at the resort so request a room that is on the main level, the 2nd floor. Rebecca behind the desk was rude to deal with but other than that everyone was very nice. A special thanks to Joan who helped me coordinate this event and did such a wonderful job. Overall I'd recommend this resort especially for group events, reunions etc..Between all the amenities the resort offers as well as main street in Galena we always had stuff to do. With some sprucing up this place could be amazing!

Room Tip: Select a room on the second floor (main floor) since there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drumdan2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were part of a Touring Motorcycle group that was having their annual rally at the Chestnut Mountain Resort. After reading a few reviews we decided that maybe we didn't want to stay there... One of the organizers of the rally assured us that the Chestnut was a nice place and the management and staff were going above and beyond to make our stay outstanding. Well, we stayed there, and are we glad we did!!!!! Our room was comfortable, large and clean. The restaurants were outstanding and the views were spectacular. Each morning I took my coffee outside at about 6:30am and watched the day start while overlooking the Mississippi River... In the evening my wife and I would have a beer or wine and watch the sun set from the balcony. What a great place!!!! Do yourself a favor and stay at the Chestnut.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Soupman1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We joined some friends for a rally at this hotel. It is an older hotel, but clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly, from front desk to restuarant to room staff, nothing was too much trouble. Food was really good and the view from the restuarant was amazing. Enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

To start with, this place advertises themselves as being located in Galena. In fact, they are 9 miles away, in Hanover, which is a completely different town, and being so misleading about their location just seems like a desperate attempt to attract people.
The hotel itself is extremely outdated. The carpets all around are smelly (we had to keep a window open in our room at all times), dusty, and stained.
The rooms are horrendous. We have stayed a long weekend there, and those three nights were rather uncomfortable. The double sized mattresses are old; the blankets and the top covers haven't been washed in a while. The only few things that were probably refreshed are the sheets and towels.
There's no fridge, coffee maker, no microwave, nor blow dryer in the room or anywhere around. The AC is ancient and squeaks.
So far, this place is on the list of the top worst that we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
8.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
7.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
5.1 mi away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#11 of 11 in Galena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
6.6 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Mountain Resort

Property: Chestnut Mountain Resort
Address: 8700 W Chestnut Rd, Galena, IL 61036
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only in the Midwest will you find such an unexpected diamond in the rough. High above the Mississippi, tucked nicely in the hills near historic Galena, Chestnut Mountain is a premier Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Chestnut Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Mountain Galena
Chestnut Mountain Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing