We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chestnut Mountain Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$85
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites(Galena)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoney Creek Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Hills Motel(Galena)(Great Value!)
$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
$179
$174
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeSoto House Hotel(Galena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Worldmark Galena(Galena)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
61
96
50
28
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
96
50
28
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszip linealpine slideski liftmississippi riverchair liftsoaring eaglesegway tourfun summerbreakfast buffetrooms are largefall colorsbeds were comfortablebeautiful areaoff the beaten pathpool and hot tublong weekendgirls weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 264 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

To start with, this place advertises themselves as being located in Galena. In fact, they are 9 miles away, in Hanover, which is a completely different town, and being so misleading about their location just seems like a desperate attempt to attract people.
The hotel itself is extremely outdated. The carpets all around are smelly (we had to keep a window open in our room at all times), dusty, and stained.
The rooms are horrendous. We have stayed a long weekend there, and those three nights were rather uncomfortable. The double sized mattresses are old; the blankets and the top covers haven't been washed in a while. The only few things that were probably refreshed are the sheets and towels.
There's no fridge, coffee maker, no microwave, nor blow dryer in the room or anywhere around. The AC is ancient and squeaks.
So far, this place is on the list of the top worst that we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenaM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Longing for a break , we only had 2 days to spare! Other than spending it at a water park in a hotel, my wife and I , and my 2 teenage boys , opted for the almost 3 hour ride to chestnut mountain resort knowing full well they would be closing after Sunday ( the ski part)! In short, great skiing because they make their own snow and they have a variety of skill runs from beginner to advanced and including some snowboarding exclusive parks, the rooms not so hot, in need of some renovation and some refreshening especially the pool and sauna and game room area. The restaurants (3) are great and the service from front desk to ski rental are all excellent. Great day and a half and biggest plus is you are skiing off the Mississippi river valley and 8 minutes from town of galena with cool shops restaurants bars and scenery.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarryZFrankfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Okay, so the hotel is not four star, and the rooms are a little dated, but they are clean and comfortable.

The most impressive thing about this hotel is its staff who are wonderful and treat guests as if they are family. The skiing was good, and the lessons were great. The restaurants were both more than satisfactory.

I would recommend this resort for family vacations, especially if you have young children who are learning to ski.

The pool and jacuzzi were a nice way to end the day!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a slopeside room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay that was supposed to be a surprise birthday trip - and turned out to be a total disappoinment. We entered the reception area and were pleasantly surprised -there are two restaurants with great views of the slopes that seemed to have been recently remodeled. Had a very nice ski lodge feel. HOWEVER, when you exit the central area into the hotel portion of the resort, it's like a different building. The carpet is worn, the halls have a wet, musty smell. The rooms are horribly, horribly outdated. There were stains on the curtains, a discolored toilet, peeling wallpaper etc. For $159 a night, just for the room, we expected much better. If you want to ski and stay on the slopes, this is the only place to stay. It seemed like the resort knows they have your business, so they don't have to provide better quality rooms for the customers. We will not be returning for this reason. A shame, it could be a first-rate facility otherwise.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank llc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel is outdated and in need of a overhaul. The ski kill is nice but I am not a great skier. The hotel beds were small and very uncomfortable. I will never stay at the hotel again but will definitely go back for the skiing.

Room Tip: do not book a room. Until they update and remodel!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews