We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise, absolutely gorgeous not to mention the 4 incredible golf courses. Well worth every penny !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Reviewed August 23, 2010

What a pleasant surprise, rolling hills, peaceful, absolutely gorgeous not to mention the 4 incredible golf courses. You can stay at the Lodge or rent a Townhome or a single family home with up to 6 bedrooms right on a golf course or the lake... and it's just 3 hours from Chicago !!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottANaperville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,996 - 2,002 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2010

Gorgeous, well-,maintained grounds, mediocre facilities. Long long drive from Chicago, lovely location. Maybe good for golfers - courses looked nice. Overly expensive plus an insulting obligatory "spa fee" for services none of us would use because we were attending a wedding. Free wireless was a plus as was the computer and printer in the lobby available for guests. The good doesn't take away from the torn blankets in our "villa," also burned out light-bulbs and virtually no bathroom amenities except for a bar of soap and a flask of shampoo. Beds, pillows, sheets and towels were low quality. Might be a destination worth considering if you are totally exhausted and/or writing the great American novel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaFeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I want to thank you and the entire team for the gracious hospitality shown to our group last week. The accommodations were outstanding. Housekeeping was on top of their game. Our rental house was impeccably clean. With regards to golf, Matt and Erin pulled off a miracle. With gentlemen that didn’t know the right end of the club before the lesson, their patience and a “few simple tips”, we were able to thoroughly enjoy ourselves both at the range and on both courses on Thursday. All three of us quickly became experts the following day, offering tips to each other and critiquing each other’s swing. Also worth recognizing was the tact and diplomacy of the ranger trying to hurry us along after the fourth hole. He came through with a cold towel and a few kind words. Our game quickly picked up pace and no feelings were hurt in the process. The team in the lounge and the culinary staff on Wednesday night did a great job with dinner. The pu pu platter allowed us to taste a variety of appetizers (favorite was the sushi roll) and my friend continues to rave about the scallops. The course conditions on Thursday were fantastic. The maintenance team is unsung heroes for every meticulously manicured hole and unforgiving rough that took many a ball that day. The service oriented culture continued with Laura in the recreation area. When tasked with finding bait for our last minute fishing excursion, she quickly came through with bread from the kitchen. Unfortunately we didn’t even get a nibble that afternoon (no fault of hers). Finally, later that evening, Larry and the team at Spike’s served up some of the best ribs I have ever tasted. Ours plates were never empty. My apologies if I forgot anyone. I know the entire team made the experience what it was. Thank you again for everything. Keep up the great job.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamNYC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

My friends and I had the greatest experience!! From the golf to the spa and the food it was incredible. Rooms were spacious and well appointed. Thank you Eagle Ridge!!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Eagle Ridge still offers beautiful surroundings, golf courses, and great food and shopping nearby in Galena. However, the Lodge is starting to show its age. Food at the conference was ok, but nothing remarkable. Staff was very helpful. However, I agree with other posts, that housekeeping could be improved. Overall, the Lodge is probably due for another renovation. Another area that needs improvement is the wireless internet access. The internet was extremely slow in the room as well as in the business center.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trek150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Pleasant staff, very musty room. Housekeeping left a little bit to be desired. As we had to ask for a new bar of soap on second day as if they never went in the washroom. For the price an updated tv is more appropriate. TV is very outdated. The bed was good. The lighting was wierd. Food was good. However, it will not be returning as it not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank connnery007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed in a two bedroom condo. The first condo they placed us in was very disappointing. The carpets were filthy, the walls were marked up, smelled moldy and musty -- the place was just worn out. We called and complained and moved us to a differenct condo. It was clean but again the condo was very dated and honestly not worth the $400++ a night for it. In my opinion the resort lodging is overpriced for what it is. I would recommend staying in a nice hotel and save yourself some money on lodging. The food was average and we had issues with flies landing on you and your food while eating in the restaurants

The pools were nice and access to bikes etc was nice as well. The value we received just doesnt add up to the $400 a day.

The lodging is just outdated and they need to invest back into this place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEtraveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
5.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
880 reviews
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
6.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
2.5 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa

Address: 444 Eagle Ridge Dr, Galena, IL 61036-7805
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galena
#4 Family Hotel in Galena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: $190 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is located 150 miles west of Chicago in the heart of The Galena Territory, a 6,800 acre recreational, residential and resort community nestled amid the rolling hills of northwestern Galena, Illinois. Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is a full-spectrum resort and showcases superior golf with 63 holes on four acclaimed courses which include the North Course; the South Course; the East Course (9-holes); and the resort’s crowning achievement, The General, with over 250 feet of elevation changes throughout the 18 holes. Lodging accommodations at Eagle Ridge are delightfully unique with 80 quaint Inn rooms and over 250 villas and distinctive homes to choose from throughout the property. For the resort’s corporate clients Eagle Ridge boasts 15,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting space, in addition to beautiful conference homes for small, elegant meetings. The entire facility is also the perfect venue for banquets, weddings and theme parties. Eagle Ridge offers three distinctive restaurants that include award-winning Woodlands Restaurant, along with Spikes Bar & Grill and Paisanos. Other amenities include the tranquil Stonedrift Spa, providing ten treatment rooms for a complete sensory experience, and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a beautiful indoor/outdoor pool, sauna and steam room. The property is the perfect backdrop to an incredible selection of outdoor activities including miles of biking, hiking and horseback riding trails, as well as tennis, hot air balloon rides, boating and fishing on the picturesque 225-acre Lake Galena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge Resort And Spa
Eagle Ridge Hotel Galena
Eagle Ridge Resort Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing