We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We have been going to Eagle Ridge every spring for a golf outing for at least ten years. The golf packages are a nice value in April. The issue this year was though there was very few people on the property, the four of us were placed in a villa which was downright shabby. It was simply too small for four grown men. There were only three beds so one of us was forced to sleep on the couch all weekend. The resort is pretty upscale and they should do a better job than this. It would be nice if they recognized repeat business a little better and ensured that we had at least average accomodations. That being said, the service is good and the golf is spectacular.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

We would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to the Bricton Hotel Group and Brickstone Management. We have taken over management of Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa as of June of 2013.

Brickstone is a joint partnership between the Bricton Hotel Group and Touchstone Golf. Both companies have built great reputations in managing golf courses and resorts national. We are extremely excited we have this opportunity to rebuild Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa’s reputation as the premier destination to a play, meet and relax in the Midwest.

If you like what Eagle Ridge has done in the past then you will love what we have done this year and our plans for the future. As of August 2014, we are completing the first phase of a multi-phase property improvement plan. We spent the first year working on improving all 63 holes of our golf courses back into pristine condition. Based on the reviews in the past year we have met and exceeded everyone’s expectations. Playing time is back to the 4 to 4 ½ hours on all our courses. "Eagle Ridge has done a masterful job at restoring the original 'playability' of all the resort's courses. Sight lines have been improved, and grass and scrub areas have been cut back to reduce the penalty on shots that go awry. These renovations are most apparent on The General, widely regarded as one of the top courses in Illinois. Spectacular vistas are combined with generous landing areas and forgiving greens, making The General one of the top resort courses in the nation." Dr. Kiel Christianson, Senior Writer & Equipment Editor, Golfnow.com - The Golf Channel.
The main entrance and the Inn lobby have been completely renovated as well as all of our meeting and banquet space. To top it all off, we have just been accredited as an IACC Conference Center. We have many more plans to continue to improve the property in it physical appearance as well as our guest service and amenities.

Please Like Us On Facebook! We update Facebook on a daily basis with news, new activities and specials that you can take advantage of and of course contests that are a lot of fun to participate in. Also when you get a change take a look at the Eagle Ridge site as well!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will come back soon!

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,011 - 2,017 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2010

I have stayed at Eagle Ridge several times and the location is gorgeous. The golf course hills are beautiful, the drive to the hotel is lovely. I like the food at the restaurant and the lodge-y feel to the place.

I've always stayed in the condos and houses on the property. You can rent these for even one night. I've stayed in condos I ADORED and some that were not as great, but for the most part they are pretty wonderful. They provide privacy, easy access to the outdoors, and views.

I have heard less good things about the hotel rooms, but again, I've always found the condos/houses to be great.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBunnyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Our first Wine Lovers' Weekend. We weren't sure what to expect - just wanted to do something different and getaway for a weekend. What an untapped gem of a place! We're not total wine enthusiasts, but the whole weekend was full of fun, great wine experiences and FABULOUS FOOD! Even the wine "learning" was fun at the mini seminars. The lodging choices were so unique we can't wait to try a different villa or distinctive home the next time we come back. Service was great, people were friendly and the atmosphere so natural and beautiful. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

After check in to our villa as they call it. The shower did not work .problem #1.
Beds are hard as rocks problem #2
The fridge during the night started sqeeking loadly (had to unplug) problem #3
Way over priced for what you get.Had to call hotal guest services to come fix problems.#4 The villa felt like i went back in time ,as far as updates. It was my wifes birthday and i did not want to make a big thing about it. But when i got home i sent a long email to eagle ridge with no reply. So for the over 500.00 for two days, dont waste your money. Go else where.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harmon154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleRidgeResort, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2010

Thank you for your feedback, as in any operation, it is vitally important to receive comments from our guests. These comments help us to achieve the high quality standards that we strive to maintain at our resort. We do apologize and will be addressing these maintenance issues with the individual owners of the rental home.

We do value your business and look forward to having you back with us. To show our sincerity, we returned your $250 gift certificate back to you as a resolution to your dissatisfaction. Please contact me Ikhlas Ahmed, General Manager, if you have yet to receive that. My email is iahmed@eagleridge.com and my phone number is (815) 776-5060.

Best,
Ikhlas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

We traveled out to Galena for my wife's friends wedding which was being held at Eagle Ridge Resort. I will start by saying that the wedding facilities and food were absolutely fantastic! It was a beautiful area and the resort was amazing with all of the snow and hills...breathtaking. As for the rooms they were well kept but you could tell their age. We got a great deal on the room so I cannot complain about the rate! We also had friends that stayed in the villas. They were very well furnished and had everything you would need for an extended stay!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevesteve8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Stayed in the main lodge. Room was large and comfortable. Resort activies were minimal even though you are charged a resort fee each day. The best part of the hotel was the relaxing feeling you have in the lobby with the fireplace and cozy chairs.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Green24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed at a villa with our family. It was very comfortable and clean. We felt like we were at home. The place was beautiful with it views. The tall trees and dense woods, the winding roads and mountains. The only noise we could hear was from the wild life. It felt we were in a different world. It was so peaceful and relaxing. OUr family has decided to come here once a year around this time. Any age can enjoy this place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magiebenezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
5.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
880 reviews
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
6.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
2.5 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa

Address: 444 Eagle Ridge Dr, Galena, IL 61036-7805
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galena
#4 Family Hotel in Galena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: $190 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is located 150 miles west of Chicago in the heart of The Galena Territory, a 6,800 acre recreational, residential and resort community nestled amid the rolling hills of northwestern Galena, Illinois. Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is a full-spectrum resort and showcases superior golf with 63 holes on four acclaimed courses which include the North Course; the South Course; the East Course (9-holes); and the resort’s crowning achievement, The General, with over 250 feet of elevation changes throughout the 18 holes. Lodging accommodations at Eagle Ridge are delightfully unique with 80 quaint Inn rooms and over 250 villas and distinctive homes to choose from throughout the property. For the resort’s corporate clients Eagle Ridge boasts 15,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting space, in addition to beautiful conference homes for small, elegant meetings. The entire facility is also the perfect venue for banquets, weddings and theme parties. Eagle Ridge offers three distinctive restaurants that include award-winning Woodlands Restaurant, along with Spikes Bar & Grill and Paisanos. Other amenities include the tranquil Stonedrift Spa, providing ten treatment rooms for a complete sensory experience, and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a beautiful indoor/outdoor pool, sauna and steam room. The property is the perfect backdrop to an incredible selection of outdoor activities including miles of biking, hiking and horseback riding trails, as well as tennis, hot air balloon rides, boating and fishing on the picturesque 225-acre Lake Galena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge Resort And Spa
Eagle Ridge Hotel Galena
Eagle Ridge Resort Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing