We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at Eagle Ridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We recently spent the weekend at Eagle Ridge with several other couples. The accommodations were quite comfortable. A wonderful lobby with a huge Christmas tree extending up to past the open second story walkway. A warm fire in the fireplace. We were greeted in a friendly way at all times. Our first night there offered a complimentary wine tasting with cheese and crackers. We spent Saturday doing cross-country skiing on skis provided by the resort, and some sledding that made us all feel like 14-year-olds again.

Our room was comfortable with two reading chairs and good light. The bathroom is pretty tight. Just the commode and shower/tub behind the door. The basin is out in the room. It was hard to take a shower without water spilling onto the floor, even though we had the shower curtain inside the tub. But the room was quiet. I ended up getting up in the middle of the first night and turning off the heater...one of those blasted things embedded in the wall. It would run for 30 seconds, then shut off for 30 seconds, then run for 30 seconds, and on and on. Pretty annoying. I just turned it off and we were warm enough under the covers and finally got some sleep.

Sunday featured a nice hike through the snow-covered hills, then an AMAZING brunch put on by the resort. We were stuffed.

This was our first trip to Eagle Ridge but we definitely want to go back in warm weather and use the beautiful lake.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CardsFanIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. Your comments are truly helpful for our entire team and encourage us to improve our amenities. It was a pleasure to learn that in general you have enjoyed your visit. Please accept our apologies for the discomfort you experienced with the heater in your room. We have forwarded your message to our engineering staff for follow up. I surely understand your concern regarding the shower in your room and we are planning immediate corrective action to eliminate similar service errors in the future. Once again thank you for choosing to stay at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist to ensure your next visit to be more comfortable and enjoying.

Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
iahmed@eagleridge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,865 - 1,871 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

It's been 10 years since we were last at Eagle Ridge. We've stayed in 2 Bedroom villas before & a larger house. We've never stayed in the Inn itself. All the villas & homes are privately owned so the vary as far as how comfortable they are. The one we had this time had a good layout & twin beds in the second room but no tv in that room. The kitchen was well stocked with cookware & utensils which worked well for us. We also could have our dog with us. The surroundings are beautiful. We didn't eat at the restaurant this time but did shop st the general store. The store is overpriced but had a good variety of groceries for its size.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mihockeymom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

We would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to the Bricton Hotel Group and Brickstone Management. We have taken over management of Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa as of June of 2013.

Brickstone is a joint partnership between the Bricton Hotel Group and Touchstone Golf. Both companies have built great reputations in managing golf courses and resorts national. We are extremely excited we have this opportunity to rebuild Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa’s reputation as the premier destination to a play, meet and relax in the Midwest.

If you like what Eagle Ridge has done in the past then you will love what we have done this year and our plans for the future. As of August 2014, we are completing the first phase of a multi-phase property improvement plan. We spent the first year working on improving all 63 holes of our golf courses back into pristine condition. Based on the reviews in the past year we have met and exceeded everyone’s expectations. Playing time is back to the 4 to 4 ½ hours on all our courses. "Eagle Ridge has done a masterful job at restoring the original 'playability' of all the resort's courses. Sight lines have been improved, and grass and scrub areas have been cut back to reduce the penalty on shots that go awry. These renovations are most apparent on The General, widely regarded as one of the top courses in Illinois. Spectacular vistas are combined with generous landing areas and forgiving greens, making The General one of the top resort courses in the nation." Dr. Kiel Christianson, Senior Writer & Equipment Editor, Golfnow.com - The Golf Channel.
The main entrance and the Inn lobby have been completely renovated as well as all of our meeting and banquet space. To top it all off, we have just been accredited as an IACC Conference Center. We have many more plans to continue to improve the property in it physical appearance as well as our guest service and amenities.

Please Like Us On Facebook! We update Facebook on a daily basis with news, new activities and specials that you can take advantage of and of course contests that are a lot of fun to participate in. Also when you get a change take a look at the Eagle Ridge site as well!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will come back soon!

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Eagle Ridge is an excellent location for golf. This was our second year at the resort and it was better than the last time. We stayed in some the houses on the property, and they were EXCELLENT!! I have not seen the lodge rooms, but I'd opt for the houses every time. Well furnished and very clean. Since this was a guys trip (20)we congregated at one of the houses and had a great time recapping the day's round of golf. All of the courses offer a great challenge, with the General course being the crown jewel. The buffet breakfast (part of the golf package)was also pretty good with a wide selection of foods. I can not speak for the other amenities at the resort, but for golf, it is top notch. There was a bit of confusion regarding some free rounds I'd been given by the head pro at our prior visit who was not there this year. The rounds had been given to us to show appreciation for our business the prior year when a serious rain storm had did some damages to parts of the golf courses. When we attempted to use the rounds, we were told that we could not, but everything was straightened out fairly quickly and we were back on the course without an undo delay. Check this location out if you enjoy playing golf. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you have enough people attending, bypass the lodge and stay in one of the houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a good time at Eagle Ridge and the scenery was splendid. The staff was very friendly. The sunday buffet was great. A few missing elements included poor (basically no) wifi and thin walls (I felt like I was part of the conversation of the couple next door). I would stay here again but would bring some ear plugs.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank apo495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your getaway to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. I am happy that you enjoyed the hospitality provided by our team members. The staff at Eagle Ridge is our most precious asset and we are always pleased to hear they meet the expectations of our guests. Iam also pleased that you enjoyed our award-winning Sunday Brunch, the top Sunday Brunch in Chicagoland as recognized by Open Table. That being said, we are sorry that you experienced issues with our complimentary wi-fi and the noise from an adjoining room. I have forwarded your concerns to our IT team and they will ensure that the wi-fi levels are adjusted. Unfortunately, during the holidays some guests can be overly-jovial. During your next visit please bring any noise concerns to our attention immediately and we will address the issues. I look forward to your return and continuing to meet your expectations for a relaxing getaway at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa.

Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
444 Eagle Ridge Drive
Galena, IL 61036

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Eagle Ridge Resort for two nights right before Christmas this year. A 10-inch slow storm made our arrival treacherous--if I had once complaint during the stay it was that they were pretty slow to clear their 3-mile entry road. We had arranged to rent a 3-bedroom house but because of the storm, they had put us in a three-bedroom townhouse very close to the main lodge. This was a life-saver cause we could walk to dinner and to use the indoor pool instead of having to get back on the icy roads. Unfortunately, because of the storm, they were on skeleton staff around the hotel. This means they closed the sledding hill (in the best snow all year!!) and they were understaffed at the restaurant where the food arrived cold and very late (both my kids slept before it arrived at the table) .I can't really complain about that though since I would rather that everyone get home safe than have warm soup. Good indoor pool, small but sufficient workout room. Great service of bringing more wood to the condo, checking if we needed anything while we were snowed in. One of the three tvs in the house had no remotes but we barely watched TV. Townhouse kitchen was very small but acceptable. Looking forward to coming back one day in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank your for choosing Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa for your pre-Christmas getaway. During the dates of your stay with us the National Weather Service had issued a Blizzard Warning that was effective from Wednesday, December 19 through Thursday December 20. The severe weather during this period included more than 12" of wind-driven snowfall with winds in excess of 50 miles-per-hour, frigid temperatures and greatly reduced visibility. At one point during the storm, the State of Illinois, Jo Daviess County and our maintenance team needed to pull their plows off the road for safety reasons. The Jo Daviess County Sheriff and the Illinois State Police also strongly advised against any travel during this period.

At Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa the safety of our guests and staff always comes first. While several staff members were unable to travel to work during this period, our resort remained open completely staffed throughout. The severe weather warnings remained in effect throughout Friday, December 21 and we were unable to open our sledding hills with dangerous winds and drifting snow still a major hazard. Our sledding hill and cross-country skiing did open as planned on December 22.

We are happy that you enjoyed the service we were able to provide you during your stay. We also look forward to your return during the summer months when we offer an entirely new list of amazing outdoor amenities at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. Every season, there is a new reason to enjoy Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa.

Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
iahmed@eagleridge.com
815-776-5060

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I did a "babymoon" at the resort with a TravelZoo deal. We paid $199 for 2 nights stay in the standard room and got a $50 voucher to use anywhere in the resort.

Pro's of Eagle Ridge:
• The resort itself is decorated very nicely. We were up there for Christmas and they had lots of lights and decorations up everywhere.
• Spa was fantastic. We booked a couples massage and I thought the massage therapists did a great job.
• Beds were really comfortable and the flat screen TV's were large & had a great cable package.
• Food at the "lounge" restaurant was pretty good, but pretty pricey. Steak was delicious but was priced at $35 - ouch.

Con's of Eagle Ridge
• My main issue with the hotel: the standard rooms were just okay. They reminded me of a room at a Best Western - clean, efficient, but not really special. No perks - no hotubs, no fireplaces, the rooms are very small. Bathroom was clean but also very small and nothing special. If you want to pay a LOT more, I imagine you can get a nicer room.
• Prices. We found out after we checked in that we were being charged a $18 resort fee each day - whatever the heck that is. Granted, we got a special deal so I figured there were hidden charges, but it's still a bit irritating. Prices at the restaurants were really high - we found by driving a few minutes in town.

Overall, was a nice place but I wouldn't stay there again unless I had a special deal. Paying full prices here would feel like a ripoff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanH2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa and congratulations on the impending arrival of your child. We are sorry that we did not completely meet your expectations during your stay. Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa does offer several packages and specials that our guests enjoy. Our resort fee is clearly publicized on all of our rate information and allows our guests to take advantage of several resort amenities at one low price per room. We aim to provide our guests with the best culinary choices available and our resort team has been awarded several prestigious honors, including the best Sunday Brunch in Chicagoland by Open Table. We hope you will choose to stay with us again either before or after the birth of your child. Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is the perfect choice for a family getaway.

Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
iahmed@eagleridge.com
815-776-5060

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in an outlaying 1 Bedroom Villa that had everything you could need for a weekend. Bed was comfortable, fireplace was stocked with wood, and kitchen was fully stocked with everything needed to feel at home. Didn't watch TV, but flat screens in living area and in bedroom. Large jacuzzi tub was nice, but getting the jets turned on was a little tough. Spa session was great with Deep Tissue and Hot Stones...ask for Cary (female). Easy check-in/check-out with options for location within the resort if you plan ahead. Ask reservation manager for deals on any weekend and they seem to want to work with you to an extent.

Room Tip: Options for location within the resort if you plan ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank messacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
5.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
880 reviews
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
6.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
2.5 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa

Address: 444 Eagle Ridge Dr, Galena, IL 61036-7805
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galena
#4 Family Hotel in Galena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: $188 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is located 150 miles west of Chicago in the heart of The Galena Territory, a 6,800 acre recreational, residential and resort community nestled amid the rolling hills of northwestern Galena, Illinois. Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is a full-spectrum resort and showcases superior golf with 63 holes on four acclaimed courses which include the North Course; the South Course; the East Course (9-holes); and the resort’s crowning achievement, The General, with over 250 feet of elevation changes throughout the 18 holes. Lodging accommodations at Eagle Ridge are delightfully unique with 80 quaint Inn rooms and over 250 villas and distinctive homes to choose from throughout the property. For the resort’s corporate clients Eagle Ridge boasts 15,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting space, in addition to beautiful conference homes for small, elegant meetings. The entire facility is also the perfect venue for banquets, weddings and theme parties. Eagle Ridge offers three distinctive restaurants that include award-winning Woodlands Restaurant, along with Spikes Bar & Grill and Paisanos. Other amenities include the tranquil Stonedrift Spa, providing ten treatment rooms for a complete sensory experience, and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a beautiful indoor/outdoor pool, sauna and steam room. The property is the perfect backdrop to an incredible selection of outdoor activities including miles of biking, hiking and horseback riding trails, as well as tennis, hot air balloon rides, boating and fishing on the picturesque 225-acre Lake Galena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge Resort And Spa
Eagle Ridge Hotel Galena
Eagle Ridge Resort Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing