We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and accommodations - even in a blizzard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Eagle Ridge Resort for two nights right before Christmas this year. A 10-inch slow storm made our arrival treacherous--if I had once complaint during the stay it was that they were pretty slow to clear their 3-mile entry road. We had arranged to rent a 3-bedroom house but because of the storm, they had put us in a three-bedroom townhouse very close to the main lodge. This was a life-saver cause we could walk to dinner and to use the indoor pool instead of having to get back on the icy roads. Unfortunately, because of the storm, they were on skeleton staff around the hotel. This means they closed the sledding hill (in the best snow all year!!) and they were understaffed at the restaurant where the food arrived cold and very late (both my kids slept before it arrived at the table) .I can't really complain about that though since I would rather that everyone get home safe than have warm soup. Good indoor pool, small but sufficient workout room. Great service of bringing more wood to the condo, checking if we needed anything while we were snowed in. One of the three tvs in the house had no remotes but we barely watched TV. Townhouse kitchen was very small but acceptable. Looking forward to coming back one day in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank your for choosing Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa for your pre-Christmas getaway. During the dates of your stay with us the National Weather Service had issued a Blizzard Warning that was effective from Wednesday, December 19 through Thursday December 20. The severe weather during this period included more than 12" of wind-driven snowfall with winds in excess of 50 miles-per-hour, frigid temperatures and greatly reduced visibility. At one point during the storm, the State of Illinois, Jo Daviess County and our maintenance team needed to pull their plows off the road for safety reasons. The Jo Daviess County Sheriff and the Illinois State Police also strongly advised against any travel during this period.

At Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa the safety of our guests and staff always comes first. While several staff members were unable to travel to work during this period, our resort remained open completely staffed throughout. The severe weather warnings remained in effect throughout Friday, December 21 and we were unable to open our sledding hills with dangerous winds and drifting snow still a major hazard. Our sledding hill and cross-country skiing did open as planned on December 22.

We are happy that you enjoyed the service we were able to provide you during your stay. We also look forward to your return during the summer months when we offer an entirely new list of amazing outdoor amenities at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. Every season, there is a new reason to enjoy Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa.

Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
iahmed@eagleridge.com
815-776-5060

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,872 - 1,878 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I did a "babymoon" at the resort with a TravelZoo deal. We paid $199 for 2 nights stay in the standard room and got a $50 voucher to use anywhere in the resort.

Pro's of Eagle Ridge:
• The resort itself is decorated very nicely. We were up there for Christmas and they had lots of lights and decorations up everywhere.
• Spa was fantastic. We booked a couples massage and I thought the massage therapists did a great job.
• Beds were really comfortable and the flat screen TV's were large & had a great cable package.
• Food at the "lounge" restaurant was pretty good, but pretty pricey. Steak was delicious but was priced at $35 - ouch.

Con's of Eagle Ridge
• My main issue with the hotel: the standard rooms were just okay. They reminded me of a room at a Best Western - clean, efficient, but not really special. No perks - no hotubs, no fireplaces, the rooms are very small. Bathroom was clean but also very small and nothing special. If you want to pay a LOT more, I imagine you can get a nicer room.
• Prices. We found out after we checked in that we were being charged a $18 resort fee each day - whatever the heck that is. Granted, we got a special deal so I figured there were hidden charges, but it's still a bit irritating. Prices at the restaurants were really high - we found by driving a few minutes in town.

Overall, was a nice place but I wouldn't stay there again unless I had a special deal. Paying full prices here would feel like a ripoff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanH2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa and congratulations on the impending arrival of your child. We are sorry that we did not completely meet your expectations during your stay. Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa does offer several packages and specials that our guests enjoy. Our resort fee is clearly publicized on all of our rate information and allows our guests to take advantage of several resort amenities at one low price per room. We aim to provide our guests with the best culinary choices available and our resort team has been awarded several prestigious honors, including the best Sunday Brunch in Chicagoland by Open Table. We hope you will choose to stay with us again either before or after the birth of your child. Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is the perfect choice for a family getaway.

Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
iahmed@eagleridge.com
815-776-5060

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in an outlaying 1 Bedroom Villa that had everything you could need for a weekend. Bed was comfortable, fireplace was stocked with wood, and kitchen was fully stocked with everything needed to feel at home. Didn't watch TV, but flat screens in living area and in bedroom. Large jacuzzi tub was nice, but getting the jets turned on was a little tough. Spa session was great with Deep Tissue and Hot Stones...ask for Cary (female). Easy check-in/check-out with options for location within the resort if you plan ahead. Ask reservation manager for deals on any weekend and they seem to want to work with you to an extent.

Room Tip: Options for location within the resort if you plan ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank messacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

In the past year we have stayed here 3 times. The location and scenery is just beautiful. Our room was nice...not too hot or cold. The Sunday brunch is not to be missed. Check in was quick and they were always polite and helpful. The resort is minutes away from downtown Galena. It has a lot of nice shops, good bars and restaurants with live music. Highly recommend a weekend get away there!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennieB656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay with us at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. I will be sure to pass along your remarks to our staff. At Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa we aim to provide each guest with the getaway experience they expect. It is always nice to hear that we met your expectations and look forward to providing you with your next perfect getaway experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a weekend together at Eagle Ridge. Beautiful scenery with four golf courses including the General which was just closed for the season. We were not there for the golf but did walk some of the south course. After checking in to our room on the courtyard we decided to request a new, quieter villa. The front desk accommodated our request, and moved us to a one bedroom villa about a half mile from the lodge at no cost. The villa could sleep seven and overlooked the east course; really enjoyed the villa. The lodge is nice but not spectacular. There are 2 restaurants in the lodge, the supposed best called the Woodlands where we had a disappointing dinner our first night. The service was substandard in part due to the wait staff being overwhelmed. The food was just ok. We also had breakfast there the next morning and again just ok. Walking the property is very scenic and a bit hilly. At 3 hours from Chicago, there are better options than Eagle Ridge.

Room Tip: One of the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donschaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

We would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to the Bricton Hotel Group and Brickstone Management. We have taken over management of Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa as of June of 2013.

Brickstone is a joint partnership between the Bricton Hotel Group and Touchstone Golf. Both companies have built great reputations in managing golf courses and resorts national. We are extremely excited we have this opportunity to rebuild Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa’s reputation as the premier destination to a play, meet and relax in the Midwest.

If you like what Eagle Ridge has done in the past then you will love what we have done this year and our plans for the future. As of August 2014, we are completing the first phase of a multi-phase property improvement plan. We spent the first year working on improving all 63 holes of our golf courses back into pristine condition. Based on the reviews in the past year we have met and exceeded everyone’s expectations. Playing time is back to the 4 to 4 ½ hours on all our courses. "Eagle Ridge has done a masterful job at restoring the original 'playability' of all the resort's courses. Sight lines have been improved, and grass and scrub areas have been cut back to reduce the penalty on shots that go awry. These renovations are most apparent on The General, widely regarded as one of the top courses in Illinois. Spectacular vistas are combined with generous landing areas and forgiving greens, making The General one of the top resort courses in the nation." Dr. Kiel Christianson, Senior Writer & Equipment Editor, Golfnow.com - The Golf Channel.
The main entrance and the Inn lobby have been completely renovated as well as all of our meeting and banquet space. To top it all off, we have just been accredited as an IACC Conference Center. We have many more plans to continue to improve the property in it physical appearance as well as our guest service and amenities.

Please Like Us On Facebook! We update Facebook on a daily basis with news, new activities and specials that you can take advantage of and of course contests that are a lot of fun to participate in. Also when you get a change take a look at the Eagle Ridge site as well!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will come back soon!

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked a suite in the main lodge for $229/night. The website stated that it had a whirlpool and sitting area. Upon check in, the whirlpool really was just a regular-sized tub with jets and looked just like a standard hotel room with another room attached as the sitting area. It was very oddly-shaped. The manager did end up transferring us to a one-bedroom condo right off of the golf course and gave us a $50 break, It was a bi-level with a fireplace and quite cozy. However, it was very dated, and the bathroom, though it had a whirlpool was very old. The next day, we awoke to a barking dog from the next door neighbor. I called the front-desk and was basically told, dogs are allowed in the area we were in. Thus we decided to just wake up earlier than usual as it appears nothing could be done.
On the brighter side, the amenities are lovely. They had free rental of paddle-boats and canoes right on the Galena River right at ther resort. We availed of this and had a wonderful time. The mother/daughter team that ran the recreation department are wonderful assets to the resort. We also borrowed tennis rackets, volleyball, and spent time at the indoor pool playing water basketball. We had a great time. The two ladies were just wonderful of letting us know what is available at the resort. They also had complimentary bicycle rental for hotel guests. Unfortunately, we did not get the chance to do this but will do so in the future. Although, the actually sleeping/hotel accomodations are so-so, the amenities make up for this. The hotel should look at lowering their rates as the accomodations compare to a 3 star hotel at best. The positive part is that the recreational amenities are complimentary. We had the breakfast buffet on a Sunday and found that to be excellent. We will return to this facility because of the amenities. I just wish the rooms were nicer and the units remodeled.

Room Tip: Hotels at main lodge are oddly-shaped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amerasiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

We would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to the Bricton Hotel Group and Brickstone Management. We have taken over management of Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa as of June of 2013.

Brickstone is a joint partnership between the Bricton Hotel Group and Touchstone Golf. Both companies have built great reputations in managing golf courses and resorts national. We are extremely excited we have this opportunity to rebuild Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa’s reputation as the premier destination to a play, meet and relax in the Midwest.

If you like what Eagle Ridge has done in the past then you will love what we have done this year and our plans for the future. As of August 2014, we are completing the first phase of a multi-phase property improvement plan. We spent the first year working on improving all 63 holes of our golf courses back into pristine condition. Based on the reviews in the past year we have met and exceeded everyone’s expectations. Playing time is back to the 4 to 4 ½ hours on all our courses. "Eagle Ridge has done a masterful job at restoring the original 'playability' of all the resort's courses. Sight lines have been improved, and grass and scrub areas have been cut back to reduce the penalty on shots that go awry. These renovations are most apparent on The General, widely regarded as one of the top courses in Illinois. Spectacular vistas are combined with generous landing areas and forgiving greens, making The General one of the top resort courses in the nation." Dr. Kiel Christianson, Senior Writer & Equipment Editor, Golfnow.com - The Golf Channel.
The main entrance and the Inn lobby have been completely renovated as well as all of our meeting and banquet space. To top it all off, we have just been accredited as an IACC Conference Center. We have many more plans to continue to improve the property in it physical appearance as well as our guest service and amenities.

Please Like Us On Facebook! We update Facebook on a daily basis with news, new activities and specials that you can take advantage of and of course contests that are a lot of fun to participate in. Also when you get a change take a look at the Eagle Ridge site as well!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will come back soon!

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Eagle Ridge for a mini-baby moon and absolutely loved it! The timing was perfect, since the colors of the trees just started turning those beautiful autumn colors and the weather was still mild. Although it was pretty soggy on Saturday and Sunday, we were able to walk through some of the hiking paths around the resort before the rain clouds came in. Eagle Ridge was really great -- from the staff, to the well kept grounds, food, spa. Everyone was extremely accommodating!

We drove in from Chicago, which was a pretty easy drive (2.5-3hours) which is really nice since I'm 7.5 months pregnant and anything longer would be painful.

Eagle Ridge is by far the nicest hotels/resorts in the area. And we'd highly recommend it. The only advice I'd have for travelers is that if you were interested in doing the hot air balloon rides, make sure you call at least 3 weeks in advance. Also, their golf courses looked great -- but we didn't go golfing at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
5.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
880 reviews
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
6.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
2.5 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa

Address: 444 Eagle Ridge Dr, Galena, IL 61036-7805
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galena
#4 Family Hotel in Galena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: $190 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is located 150 miles west of Chicago in the heart of The Galena Territory, a 6,800 acre recreational, residential and resort community nestled amid the rolling hills of northwestern Galena, Illinois. Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is a full-spectrum resort and showcases superior golf with 63 holes on four acclaimed courses which include the North Course; the South Course; the East Course (9-holes); and the resort’s crowning achievement, The General, with over 250 feet of elevation changes throughout the 18 holes. Lodging accommodations at Eagle Ridge are delightfully unique with 80 quaint Inn rooms and over 250 villas and distinctive homes to choose from throughout the property. For the resort’s corporate clients Eagle Ridge boasts 15,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting space, in addition to beautiful conference homes for small, elegant meetings. The entire facility is also the perfect venue for banquets, weddings and theme parties. Eagle Ridge offers three distinctive restaurants that include award-winning Woodlands Restaurant, along with Spikes Bar & Grill and Paisanos. Other amenities include the tranquil Stonedrift Spa, providing ten treatment rooms for a complete sensory experience, and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a beautiful indoor/outdoor pool, sauna and steam room. The property is the perfect backdrop to an incredible selection of outdoor activities including miles of biking, hiking and horseback riding trails, as well as tennis, hot air balloon rides, boating and fishing on the picturesque 225-acre Lake Galena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge Resort And Spa
Eagle Ridge Hotel Galena
Eagle Ridge Resort Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing