We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay in outlying 1 Bedroom Villa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay in outlying 1 Bedroom Villa”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in an outlaying 1 Bedroom Villa that had everything you could need for a weekend. Bed was comfortable, fireplace was stocked with wood, and kitchen was fully stocked with everything needed to feel at home. Didn't watch TV, but flat screens in living area and in bedroom. Large jacuzzi tub was nice, but getting the jets turned on was a little tough. Spa session was great with Deep Tissue and Hot Stones...ask for Cary (female). Easy check-in/check-out with options for location within the resort if you plan ahead. Ask reservation manager for deals on any weekend and they seem to want to work with you to an extent.

Room Tip: Options for location within the resort if you plan ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank messacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    543
    281
    127
    61
See reviews for
629
760
26
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

In the past year we have stayed here 3 times. The location and scenery is just beautiful. Our room was nice...not too hot or cold. The Sunday brunch is not to be missed. Check in was quick and they were always polite and helpful. The resort is minutes away from downtown Galena. It has a lot of nice shops, good bars and restaurants with live music. Highly recommend a weekend get away there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennieB656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay with us at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. I will be sure to pass along your remarks to our staff. At Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa we aim to provide each guest with the getaway experience they expect. It is always nice to hear that we met your expectations and look forward to providing you with your next perfect getaway experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a weekend together at Eagle Ridge. Beautiful scenery with four golf courses including the General which was just closed for the season. We were not there for the golf but did walk some of the south course. After checking in to our room on the courtyard we decided to request a new, quieter villa. The front desk accommodated our request, and moved us to a one bedroom villa about a half mile from the lodge at no cost. The villa could sleep seven and overlooked the east course; really enjoyed the villa. The lodge is nice but not spectacular. There are 2 restaurants in the lodge, the supposed best called the Woodlands where we had a disappointing dinner our first night. The service was substandard in part due to the wait staff being overwhelmed. The food was just ok. We also had breakfast there the next morning and again just ok. Walking the property is very scenic and a bit hilly. At 3 hours from Chicago, there are better options than Eagle Ridge.

Room Tip: One of the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donschaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to the Bricton Hotel Group and Brickstone Management. We have taken over management of Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa as of June of 2013.

Brickstone is a joint partnership between the Bricton Hotel Group and Touchstone Golf. Both companies have built great reputations in managing golf courses and resorts national. We are extremely excited we have this opportunity to rebuild Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa’s reputation as the premier destination to a play, meet and relax in the Midwest.

If you like what Eagle Ridge has done in the past then you will love what we have done this year and our plans for the future. As of August 2014, we are completing the first phase of a multi-phase property improvement plan. We spent the first year working on improving all 63 holes of our golf courses back into pristine condition. Based on the reviews in the past year we have met and exceeded everyone’s expectations. Playing time is back to the 4 to 4 ½ hours on all our courses. "Eagle Ridge has done a masterful job at restoring the original 'playability' of all the resort's courses. Sight lines have been improved, and grass and scrub areas have been cut back to reduce the penalty on shots that go awry. These renovations are most apparent on The General, widely regarded as one of the top courses in Illinois. Spectacular vistas are combined with generous landing areas and forgiving greens, making The General one of the top resort courses in the nation." Dr. Kiel Christianson, Senior Writer & Equipment Editor, Golfnow.com - The Golf Channel.
The main entrance and the Inn lobby have been completely renovated as well as all of our meeting and banquet space. To top it all off, we have just been accredited as an IACC Conference Center. We have many more plans to continue to improve the property in it physical appearance as well as our guest service and amenities.

Please Like Us On Facebook! We update Facebook on a daily basis with news, new activities and specials that you can take advantage of and of course contests that are a lot of fun to participate in. Also when you get a change take a look at the Eagle Ridge site as well!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will come back soon!

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked a suite in the main lodge for $229/night. The website stated that it had a whirlpool and sitting area. Upon check in, the whirlpool really was just a regular-sized tub with jets and looked just like a standard hotel room with another room attached as the sitting area. It was very oddly-shaped. The manager did end up transferring us to a one-bedroom condo right off of the golf course and gave us a $50 break, It was a bi-level with a fireplace and quite cozy. However, it was very dated, and the bathroom, though it had a whirlpool was very old. The next day, we awoke to a barking dog from the next door neighbor. I called the front-desk and was basically told, dogs are allowed in the area we were in. Thus we decided to just wake up earlier than usual as it appears nothing could be done.
On the brighter side, the amenities are lovely. They had free rental of paddle-boats and canoes right on the Galena River right at ther resort. We availed of this and had a wonderful time. The mother/daughter team that ran the recreation department are wonderful assets to the resort. We also borrowed tennis rackets, volleyball, and spent time at the indoor pool playing water basketball. We had a great time. The two ladies were just wonderful of letting us know what is available at the resort. They also had complimentary bicycle rental for hotel guests. Unfortunately, we did not get the chance to do this but will do so in the future. Although, the actually sleeping/hotel accomodations are so-so, the amenities make up for this. The hotel should look at lowering their rates as the accomodations compare to a 3 star hotel at best. The positive part is that the recreational amenities are complimentary. We had the breakfast buffet on a Sunday and found that to be excellent. We will return to this facility because of the amenities. I just wish the rooms were nicer and the units remodeled.

Room Tip: Hotels at main lodge are oddly-shaped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amerasiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to the Bricton Hotel Group and Brickstone Management. We have taken over management of Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa as of June of 2013.

Brickstone is a joint partnership between the Bricton Hotel Group and Touchstone Golf. Both companies have built great reputations in managing golf courses and resorts national. We are extremely excited we have this opportunity to rebuild Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa’s reputation as the premier destination to a play, meet and relax in the Midwest.

If you like what Eagle Ridge has done in the past then you will love what we have done this year and our plans for the future. As of August 2014, we are completing the first phase of a multi-phase property improvement plan. We spent the first year working on improving all 63 holes of our golf courses back into pristine condition. Based on the reviews in the past year we have met and exceeded everyone’s expectations. Playing time is back to the 4 to 4 ½ hours on all our courses. "Eagle Ridge has done a masterful job at restoring the original 'playability' of all the resort's courses. Sight lines have been improved, and grass and scrub areas have been cut back to reduce the penalty on shots that go awry. These renovations are most apparent on The General, widely regarded as one of the top courses in Illinois. Spectacular vistas are combined with generous landing areas and forgiving greens, making The General one of the top resort courses in the nation." Dr. Kiel Christianson, Senior Writer & Equipment Editor, Golfnow.com - The Golf Channel.
The main entrance and the Inn lobby have been completely renovated as well as all of our meeting and banquet space. To top it all off, we have just been accredited as an IACC Conference Center. We have many more plans to continue to improve the property in it physical appearance as well as our guest service and amenities.

Please Like Us On Facebook! We update Facebook on a daily basis with news, new activities and specials that you can take advantage of and of course contests that are a lot of fun to participate in. Also when you get a change take a look at the Eagle Ridge site as well!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will come back soon!

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Eagle Ridge for a mini-baby moon and absolutely loved it! The timing was perfect, since the colors of the trees just started turning those beautiful autumn colors and the weather was still mild. Although it was pretty soggy on Saturday and Sunday, we were able to walk through some of the hiking paths around the resort before the rain clouds came in. Eagle Ridge was really great -- from the staff, to the well kept grounds, food, spa. Everyone was extremely accommodating!

We drove in from Chicago, which was a pretty easy drive (2.5-3hours) which is really nice since I'm 7.5 months pregnant and anything longer would be painful.

Eagle Ridge is by far the nicest hotels/resorts in the area. And we'd highly recommend it. The only advice I'd have for travelers is that if you were interested in doing the hot air balloon rides, make sure you call at least 3 weeks in advance. Also, their golf courses looked great -- but we didn't go golfing at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just driving to this resort is a treat - beautiful views, walking trails and manicured golf course. Once you are there, you are there! Friendly staff, cozy atmosphere and very welcoming rooms, or "units" as they call them.
Everything in the room is top-notch - flatscreen TV, nice soaps, fluffy towels - but the thing I always fall for in a hotel room - the pillows! If they are big and fluffy and more than two, I am hooked on the place! Eagle Ridge provided 4 big pillows and a bolster on a king size bed. I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine102262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor about your recent trip to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. Our entire staff is always pleased when our guests' expectations have been met. Every season, there is a new reason to visit Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa; from our championship golf, to our award-winning spa and the ever-changing scenic beauty of Northwest Illinois. We look forward to your return. Please feel free to contact our staff if we can be of assistance in helping you discover more about Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa during your next visit.

Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
815-776-5060
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I chose Eagle Ridge for a relaxing couple of days away from home, mainly just to "chill out" and relax. For that it was a good choice. We spent two days and the view from our room with the fall colors at their early "peak" was wonderful. The front desk was very helpful and courteous, and the spa (we had a couples massage) was incredible.

However, we often judge our vacations by the feeling of "I don't want to leave" and for this trip, that did not happen. Our room size was large (Courtyard King in the main property), although it had a ton of wasted space and then a bathroom that was smaller than a cruise ship (It was very difficult to close the door to the bathroom standing in front of the toliet). The decor seemed dated, although I heard the property was actually remodeled a couple of years ago. The TV did not function well, and stations were somewhat limited. Housekeeping was a little limited and did not appear to do a very good job (we found a couple of hairs on the wall of the shower for example). Bed was comfortable and warm on the night of the first freeze of the year.

As for the food, we ate breakfast at the Woodlands Restaurant both of the mornings that we were there and it was good. We had the breakfast buffet both mornings and it had a variety and was reasonably priced. We also ate at the Woodlands for dinner on Friday night and it was tasty as well. Steak was prepared nicely and my wife's salmon was good as well. The chef's fresh basil salad dressing was impressive. Service was a bit shaky in the morning, but for dinner it was prompt.

Overall, it was a nice trip, although I believe the room was a bit overpriced for what we got. We will likely look at trying other options before coming back as there was nothing to "wow" us into an immediate return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
5.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
855 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
2.5 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 444 Eagle Ridge Dr, Galena, IL 61036-7805
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galena
#4 Family Hotel in Galena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is located 150 miles west of Chicago in the heart of The Galena Territory, a 6,800 acre recreational, residential and resort community nestled amid the rolling hills of northwestern Galena, Illinois. Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is a full-spectrum resort and showcases superior golf with 63 holes on four acclaimed courses which include the North Course; the South Course; the East Course (9-holes); and the resort’s crowning achievement, The General, with over 250 feet of elevation changes throughout the 18 holes. Lodging accommodations at Eagle Ridge are delightfully unique with 80 quaint Inn rooms and over 250 villas and distinctive homes to choose from throughout the property. For the resort’s corporate clients Eagle Ridge boasts 15,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting space, in addition to beautiful conference homes for small, elegant meetings. The entire facility is also the perfect venue for banquets, weddings and theme parties. Eagle Ridge offers three distinctive restaurants that include award-winning Woodlands Restaurant, along with Spikes Bar & Grill and Paisanos. Other amenities include the tranquil Stonedrift Spa, providing ten treatment rooms for a complete sensory experience, and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a beautiful indoor/outdoor pool, sauna and steam room. The property is the perfect backdrop to an incredible selection of outdoor activities including miles of biking, hiking and horseback riding trails, as well as tennis, hot air balloon rides, boating and fishing on the picturesque 225-acre Lake Galena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge Resort And Spa
Eagle Ridge Hotel Galena
Eagle Ridge Resort Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing