We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Retreat, Nothing "over the top"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I chose Eagle Ridge for a relaxing couple of days away from home, mainly just to "chill out" and relax. For that it was a good choice. We spent two days and the view from our room with the fall colors at their early "peak" was wonderful. The front desk was very helpful and courteous, and the spa (we had a couples massage) was incredible.

However, we often judge our vacations by the feeling of "I don't want to leave" and for this trip, that did not happen. Our room size was large (Courtyard King in the main property), although it had a ton of wasted space and then a bathroom that was smaller than a cruise ship (It was very difficult to close the door to the bathroom standing in front of the toliet). The decor seemed dated, although I heard the property was actually remodeled a couple of years ago. The TV did not function well, and stations were somewhat limited. Housekeeping was a little limited and did not appear to do a very good job (we found a couple of hairs on the wall of the shower for example). Bed was comfortable and warm on the night of the first freeze of the year.

As for the food, we ate breakfast at the Woodlands Restaurant both of the mornings that we were there and it was good. We had the breakfast buffet both mornings and it had a variety and was reasonably priced. We also ate at the Woodlands for dinner on Friday night and it was tasty as well. Steak was prepared nicely and my wife's salmon was good as well. The chef's fresh basil salad dressing was impressive. Service was a bit shaky in the morning, but for dinner it was prompt.

Overall, it was a nice trip, although I believe the room was a bit overpriced for what we got. We will likely look at trying other options before coming back as there was nothing to "wow" us into an immediate return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,022)
There are newer reviews for Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,808 - 1,814 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

We held our sales meeting at Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa the first of September. I have to compliment the facility and the staff for making our stay there AWESOME. We used the conference facilities, used the food service and stayed on the property (guest houses and the Inn) and no matter what request we made, Eagle Ridge staff was gracious and friendly (plus, they provided us the solution). Everyone from the bell men to the general manager was helpful when directions and transportation were needed. The property itself is worth the visit - the golf courses are challenging and gorgeous and we felt it was the perfect place to have our company sales meeting.

Room Tip: One of our attendees said the houses were very quiet at night.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

We would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to the Bricton Hotel Group and Brickstone Management. We have taken over management of Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa as of June of 2013.

Brickstone is a joint partnership between the Bricton Hotel Group and Touchstone Golf. Both companies have built great reputations in managing golf courses and resorts national. We are extremely excited we have this opportunity to rebuild Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa’s reputation as the premier destination to a play, meet and relax in the Midwest.

If you like what Eagle Ridge has done in the past then you will love what we have done this year and our plans for the future. As of August 2014, we are completing the first phase of a multi-phase property improvement plan. We spent the first year working on improving all 63 holes of our golf courses back into pristine condition. Based on the reviews in the past year we have met and exceeded everyone’s expectations. Playing time is back to the 4 to 4 ½ hours on all our courses. "Eagle Ridge has done a masterful job at restoring the original 'playability' of all the resort's courses. Sight lines have been improved, and grass and scrub areas have been cut back to reduce the penalty on shots that go awry. These renovations are most apparent on The General, widely regarded as one of the top courses in Illinois. Spectacular vistas are combined with generous landing areas and forgiving greens, making The General one of the top resort courses in the nation." Dr. Kiel Christianson, Senior Writer & Equipment Editor, Golfnow.com - The Golf Channel.
The main entrance and the Inn lobby have been completely renovated as well as all of our meeting and banquet space. To top it all off, we have just been accredited as an IACC Conference Center. We have many more plans to continue to improve the property in it physical appearance as well as our guest service and amenities.

Please Like Us On Facebook! We update Facebook on a daily basis with news, new activities and specials that you can take advantage of and of course contests that are a lot of fun to participate in. Also when you get a change take a look at the Eagle Ridge site as well!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will come back soon!

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Was very pleased to see such comfort, decor & appreciate the fall foliage from balcony! Room service prompt, friendly, accommodating:-) Thank you. Sorry to say was little let down that when complimentary robes were presented were just draped over arm & not presented to us folded neatly. Second & the Pits was that a shower should be Enjoyed. :-) It was torture! Water temp was Not consistent! Went from comfort, to cool...then suddenly felt a burning Hot water! The worst shower ever to experience! Was afraid of it after 2 uses! My allergies were put into high mode in room. Shampooing could be done. When I had to lean over to be close to floor,...Man! COPD kicked in too. Drapes on door to balcony need to be dry cleaned as much debris on it. Balcony boards & rails with mold. Outside can Easily see that heat-cooling unit needs much cleaning for health reasons. Detailing can be costly, but presentation is everything. Thank you for my fall beauty in such a wonderful atmosphere:-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. We are saddened to learn that you suffer from COPD. We understand that this is a debilitating disease can wreak havoc on the getaway plans of those suffering with COPD. We will certainly review your concerns about the temperature fluctuation you experienced during your showers and the housekeeping issues you mentioned. At Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa we strive to provide an unmatched getaway experience for all of our guests and take immediate action when a guest alerts us of a problem. We are delighted that you chose to visit us and happy that you were able to witness nature's colorful display that occurs each autumn in our place atop Northwest Illinois.

Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
815-776-5060

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa. (September 28-29). We had a regular room with no special view or special amenities. The room itself is nothing special. The bathroom is old and needs updating. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were “big enough”. We had a small balcony overlooking one of the walking paths. The room was clean.

The resort was a nice size –not overly big. It had a nice bar area with food and Woodland’s restaurant. We had the breakfast buffet and it was good. We also had lunch in the bar area on the first afternoon. The food was fine.

Overall it’s a decent place to stay however it needs updating. The grounds are very pretty with good walking paths. Certainly golf is big here with several courses.

I would stay here again but not have as high of expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLR1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor, although I am disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations. At Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, we are continually updating and improving our rooms, grounds and amenities. You are correct that golf is one of our most popular amenities. We have 63-holes of Championship Golf.

I noticed that you felt that our resort was a nice size. I’m not sure if you are aware that, in addition to our 3 award-winning restaurants, we also have a world-class spa and indoor/outdoor pool. Our walking paths are actually 23-miles of walking trails. You can also horseback ride and take a hot-air balloon ride.

If you have anyother concerns please contact me directly at 815-776-5060 or iahmed@eagleridge.com.

Sincerely,
Ikhlas Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our daughter's wedding took place at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa in Galena on Saturday, September 22, 2012. After having gone through 3 wedding sales managers since this past May, the resort struck gold with Becca Bahl. She was extraordinary in assisting with every detailed plan, and then, following through with each decision made. She was onsite for both the rehearsal, as well as the entire wedding ceremony, and reception. At the end of our short weekend, we all felt that Becca had become a lifelong friend. The weather was unseasonably rainy,windy, and cold. The reception was to take place outside on the Pointe Patio. Becca, as well as Rick Remington (director of food and beverage), encouraged us to think carefully about continuing to have the reception outside. They graciously offered us the beautiful indoor ballroom. The entire staff involved with this wedding on that not-very beautiful fall Saturday-could not have been more accommodating. We ended up with the ceremony outside in the tent with the sides up, and then, transitioned guests to the cocktail party inside. The entire wedding day, consequently, turned out to be just beautiful. If they were any cons, the breakfast brunch we had planned for the overnight guests was very expensive. The vouchers clearly said breakfast buffet, or Brunch. We were charged for things like a smoked salmon platter, and regular breakfast items. It seems like the servers should have been able to tell our guests that the voucher was for either/or, and not an open menu..But the breakfast buffet, and the Brunch, were absolutely delicious. In our particular villa we had a little incidence of a fishhook going into a bridemaids' toe. Luckily, she was up to date on her tetanus shot. Scarey, when we had an 11 month baby crawling around that unit. In conclusion, the hospitality, and genuine warmth of all employees that we encountered, made this destination wedding amazing. One person, particularly, stood out, and truly, helped make this wedding day special. Apparently, the florist didn't really know that the ring bearer was a 5 year old boy who was supposed to carry a pumpkin with the rings attached. When he saw the tiny pumpkin he was to carry, just moments before the wedding, he became quite upset. We ran down to the gift shop to buy him any sort of pumpkin that would fit his hands. The gift shop manager told us just to borrow it for the ceremony, and then return it to her. That was an outstanding gesture, and the perfect touch to this day. Her kindness and generosity just blew us away. These are the types of people that made our wedding weekend just so special.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandma0f2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

We would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to the Bricton Hotel Group and Brickstone Management. We have taken over management of Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa as of June of 2013.

Brickstone is a joint partnership between the Bricton Hotel Group and Touchstone Golf. Both companies have built great reputations in managing golf courses and resorts national. We are extremely excited we have this opportunity to rebuild Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa’s reputation as the premier destination to a play, meet and relax in the Midwest.

If you like what Eagle Ridge has done in the past then you will love what we have done this year and our plans for the future. As of August 2014, we are completing the first phase of a multi-phase property improvement plan. We spent the first year working on improving all 63 holes of our golf courses back into pristine condition. Based on the reviews in the past year we have met and exceeded everyone’s expectations. Playing time is back to the 4 to 4 ½ hours on all our courses. "Eagle Ridge has done a masterful job at restoring the original 'playability' of all the resort's courses. Sight lines have been improved, and grass and scrub areas have been cut back to reduce the penalty on shots that go awry. These renovations are most apparent on The General, widely regarded as one of the top courses in Illinois. Spectacular vistas are combined with generous landing areas and forgiving greens, making The General one of the top resort courses in the nation." Dr. Kiel Christianson, Senior Writer & Equipment Editor, Golfnow.com - The Golf Channel.
The main entrance and the Inn lobby have been completely renovated as well as all of our meeting and banquet space. To top it all off, we have just been accredited as an IACC Conference Center. We have many more plans to continue to improve the property in it physical appearance as well as our guest service and amenities.

Please Like Us On Facebook! We update Facebook on a daily basis with news, new activities and specials that you can take advantage of and of course contests that are a lot of fun to participate in. Also when you get a change take a look at the Eagle Ridge site as well!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will come back soon!

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were here for a wedding of one of my friends and thought it would be convenient to stay on site. We had a great time, and the wedding was great - beautiful property. However, the rooms themselves were below average especially for being so expensive. There were a few things that were broken and it wasn't very clean. I wouldn't have minded this at a Comfort Inn or the like, but we paid waaaay above that price range and would have expected a little better. But as I said the overall property, staff and resort were very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anngie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My daughter's wedding was on 09/15/12, she was married at a church in town and the reception was held inside the resorts main ballroom. Everything was beautiful and the staff was more than accommodating with last minute guests. The staff was friendly and helpful and more than willing to go the extra mile. the food was amazing and the presentation was even more beautiful. We had rehearsal dinner on Friday night at the patio and Sunday morning breakfast for all our guests. Everything was more than what all our guests had expected. We are looking forward to another long weekend at the resort and would recommend Eagle Ridge to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the water are awesome!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
5.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
866 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
2.5 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa

Address: 444 Eagle Ridge Dr, Galena, IL 61036-7805
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galena
#4 Family Hotel in Galena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: $201 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is located 150 miles west of Chicago in the heart of The Galena Territory, a 6,800 acre recreational, residential and resort community nestled amid the rolling hills of northwestern Galena, Illinois. Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is a full-spectrum resort and showcases superior golf with 63 holes on four acclaimed courses which include the North Course; the South Course; the East Course (9-holes); and the resort’s crowning achievement, The General, with over 250 feet of elevation changes throughout the 18 holes. Lodging accommodations at Eagle Ridge are delightfully unique with 80 quaint Inn rooms and over 250 villas and distinctive homes to choose from throughout the property. For the resort’s corporate clients Eagle Ridge boasts 15,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting space, in addition to beautiful conference homes for small, elegant meetings. The entire facility is also the perfect venue for banquets, weddings and theme parties. Eagle Ridge offers three distinctive restaurants that include award-winning Woodlands Restaurant, along with Spikes Bar & Grill and Paisanos. Other amenities include the tranquil Stonedrift Spa, providing ten treatment rooms for a complete sensory experience, and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a beautiful indoor/outdoor pool, sauna and steam room. The property is the perfect backdrop to an incredible selection of outdoor activities including miles of biking, hiking and horseback riding trails, as well as tennis, hot air balloon rides, boating and fishing on the picturesque 225-acre Lake Galena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge Resort And Spa
Eagle Ridge Hotel Galena
Eagle Ridge Resort Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing