We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Villas Nicer Than Others”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Some Villas Nicer Than Others”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I have stayed in one and two bedroom condos (or villas) many times at Eagle Ridge. I have been pleased with some and not so pleased with others. While all the front desk clerks are nice, problems do occur. This past weekend I had requested a specific unit and did not recieve it but was OK with it as long as my other requests were honored. I went to check out the villa and it was down two fights of stairs, which my dad can't handle. I called the front desk and they upgraded us to a two bedroom for no charge on the main level. We were happy until we saw the villa. There were dead bugs and flies all over, the decor was outdated, and the room was about 80 degrees! Eventually, it cooled after a few hours of air running full blast. Another issue was that there were some very drunk ladies walking outside and they were shouting/singing and yelling. One of them walked by my car and said she wanted to steal it! I called security and while he was very nice, he refused to go talk to the drunk women, even though we knew which villa they were in! Overall, I am not sure when I will return to this resort.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a villa or home, request the specific location, building, address etc. The sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenrockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    536
    276
    127
    60
See reviews for
617
757
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Arrived on a Saturday morning for a one night stay at the resort and to visit "The Town that Time Forgot" Galena, Illinois. When we arrived, our room was not ready so we stored our luggage in a room the resort provided and headed into town. We were able to walk the streets and visit the Ulysses S.Grant Musemum, located downtown. We had lunch at Gobbie's Sports Pub and Eatery, which served a large combo platter appetizer and great tasting pizza with a salad. All were satisfied with the amount of food. We then walked to Grant's home (about a 15 minute walk from downtown up a steep hill) which has well informed tour guides. We went back to Eagle Ridge and our room was ready, but had only one bed. We had three people and needed a room with two beds. Since all the other rooms were booked, they offered us an upgrade to a one bedroom villa at no additional charge. The original room looked great and had a balcony and a geat view of the lake/river area, but the villa was a half a mile from the main building and was on the golf course. The one bedroom villa had a King sized bed and a sofa sleeper in the living room area, which our son really enjoyed since he had the big screen tv all to himself once we retired for the night. The villa was well equiped for our short stay, with a kicthen (stocked with refrigerater, microwave, dishes, cups, glasses, etc.) with a coffee pot and coffee, Since the weather was great, I enjoyed spending the late evening sitting on the deck looking out on to the course and up at the stars and enjoying the breeze, drinking some decafe. There was a shuttle service available to take us back and forth from our villa to the main buidling. The manager and staff at the hotel were all great and seemed to take a concerned approach to our well-being with our stay. We are contemplating a longer return stay to take advantage at what all is available at the resort (biking, hiking, boating, Golfing) and take a longer look at this quante little town - "that time forgot".

Room Tip: Its best to ask what kind of activities are going on during your stay and ask to be located away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zmansworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Spent two nights in king executive with lake view on Sun 26th Feb to Tues 28th. No complaints, clean room very comfortable ( a fridge would be good in summer) Would recommend the Woodlands Lounge in the evening.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at the Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa over President's Day weekend.

Our Home: We reserved Distinctive Home 589, which is privately owned, but managed by the resort. It was a three bedroom, 3 1/2 bathroom with beatiful views of the woods and had a true cabin feel with all modern conveniences, including a fully equipped kitchen, flat screen TVs, wireless internet access and cable TV. Our home also had a chimney and there was plenty of firewood. There was also a grill and three porches, one of them was screened in, which is perfect for summer bbqs, although we didn't get to use it, since it was a bit chilly. The beds were decent and there were plently of pillows and blankets for everyone. There are areas of the home that could use a little updating, like the dishwasher and bathrooms, but they were all functional and in good working condition. Every morning three staff members came to our home to give us fresh towels, linens, take out trash, and replenish toilet paper and paper towels. They also tidied up the kitchen. They are not a maid service, so, we did have to load the dishwasher and run it, but when we came back to our home, all dishes were put away, and pots and pans were washed and we had clean kitchen towels.

There were board games, puzzles, and cards. Plenty of books and old movies, but we settled for good old cable TV.

The Inn: The lobby was nice and welcoming and all staff were friendly and helpful. There was live music all evenings and even for a holiday weekend, the resort was not packed. We used the indoor pool, which was clean and not over chlorinated. There are no lifeguards on duty, so you must watch your children, but all children were quite well behaved, and the bathrooms were clean, and staff worked diligently to keep clean towels available for guests.

The food: We bought groceries and cooked most of our meals at home, but we did order pizza for our six and seven year old girls and the pizza from Paisanos was quite good. We also had champagne brunch at the Woodlands Restaurant on Sunday; it was 23 for adults and 13 for children. There were plently of choices, but we were disappointed that there were no pancakes. However, the prime rib was delicious and the mimosas were an added bonus.

The outdoors: A must see! The grounds at the resort are spectacular, there were plenty of walking trails, which we took advantage of, and enjoyed every minute of our walks. There wasn't much snow on the ground, so we couldn't go sledding or skiing, but we still enjoyed our time at the resort.

Room Tip: We chose Distinctive Home 589 for 6 adults and 2 children. There are four queen sized beds and two p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscoe, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed in 601. First time at Eagle Ridge but i think we wont be going back soon. Credit-front desk sercvice was good and friendly. House was unfortunately a bit dirty. Sheets in a pull out were missing and the other pull out had used sheets(free old pizza included). Toilet did not work in one of the bathrooms, when fixed few hrs later, there was visible dirt on the tank. Ask for towels and soap or bring it with you-our house had just a few towels on arrival. For a 5 star resort-thats a disapointment.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JackDelores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2012

If you've never been to NW Illinois, specifically The Galenta Territory, you're missing out. It's the rolling-hill countryside in France or Italy. Gorgeous!

The spot to stay is the Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. The lobby has a real log cabin feel, smells like pine or campfire, the rooms are serene and the surroundings are all nature.

Golf if you wish, hike trails, ride horses. Nice ski resort-type bar and good food.

Recommended!

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2012

To whom it may concern,
If you're looking for a beautiful resort with tons of amenities that is family friendly yet can be romantic too, look no further. Eagle Ridge resort has it all and it's just minutes away from the downtown Galena area with great shopping, restaurants and lots of history! The staff is friendly and very customer service oriented. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean! Don't forget to check out the lounge with live music or one of the fabulous restaurants in the hotel....You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
4.1 mi away
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
5.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
847 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
4.2 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 444 Eagle Ridge Dr, Galena, IL 61036-7805
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galena
#4 Family Hotel in Galena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is located 150 miles west of Chicago in the heart of The Galena Territory, a 6,800 acre recreational, residential and resort community nestled amid the rolling hills of northwestern Galena, Illinois. Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is a full-spectrum resort and showcases superior golf with 63 holes on four acclaimed courses which include the North Course; the South Course; the East Course (9-holes); and the resort’s crowning achievement, The General, with over 250 feet of elevation changes throughout the 18 holes. Lodging accommodations at Eagle Ridge are delightfully unique with 80 quaint Inn rooms and over 250 villas and distinctive homes to choose from throughout the property. For the resort’s corporate clients Eagle Ridge boasts 15,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting space, in addition to beautiful conference homes for small, elegant meetings. The entire facility is also the perfect venue for banquets, weddings and theme parties. Eagle Ridge offers three distinctive restaurants that include award-winning Woodlands Restaurant, along with Spikes Bar & Grill and Paisanos. Other amenities include the tranquil Stonedrift Spa, providing ten treatment rooms for a complete sensory experience, and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a beautiful indoor/outdoor pool, sauna and steam room. The property is the perfect backdrop to an incredible selection of outdoor activities including miles of biking, hiking and horseback riding trails, as well as tennis, hot air balloon rides, boating and fishing on the picturesque 225-acre Lake Galena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge Resort And Spa
Eagle Ridge Hotel Galena
Eagle Ridge Resort Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing