We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ryan Mansion Garden Cottage
Ranked #29 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Galesburg, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations!!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Indeed there be many fine B&Bs available to travelers of the Galena area. Self described as "Galena's Finest....", I excitedly found this description understated. The Ryan Mansion experience is one of pure Victorian Elegance!! Regardless of which room accommodation you choose, elegance, warmth, a peaceful rest and a Delightful Breakfast is Yours! The Heiken Family proprietors and staff, from True Loving Hearts- share their home, and generous ways of life.

My stay, I gladly found to be much more than as a "guest". Be assured, that with a stay or tour at the Ryan Mansion, your are warmly received and treated as genuine Ryan Family.

I urge You to join the Ryan Mansion Family too, over night and/or take the tour, upon your every Galena experience!

Mark E.
Galesburg IL

Room Tip: Each and every room is breathtaking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was a fall get-away planned as special treat for my mom and sister. We wanted to go somewhere out of the ordinary and make some lasting memories. Ryan Mansion exceeded our expectations without breaking the bank. By choosing to go mid-week, there is a cost reduction. There is no break for single occupancy of a double room, however.

The furnishings were exquisite! We stayed in James' room and the ladies stayed in Cecilia's room, which they loved. The electric insert in the room's fireplace made it very cozy.

We found the hospitality to be exceptional. We were able to check in early and leave our bags at the mansion in the late morning while exploring Galena. We were given a short tour of part of the house then and a lengthier tour with full history by a costumed "butler" and "housekeeper" the following morning. Brandy was available for sampling in the evening in the library. The Wifi worked fine.

Breakfast was not stingy with juice, coffee, fresh fruit and a delicious stuffed french toast. All four of us were satisfied.

The only minus: the location is not on GPS; better to call and get specific instructions. It is not hard to find, once you know where you are going!

For anyone looking for unique, historical lodgings in Galena--we highly recommend Ryan Mansion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I have know idea why Ryan Mansion is not rated in the top 5 b&b's in Galena. It is absolutely beautiful. The mansion is decorated like it may have been when built in the 1800's. Every room is like stepping back in time. The owner even gives tours. And a wonderful home made breakfast is served every morning in the main dining room on different fine china each day. If your looking for a great place to stay that is beautiful and quiet you can't go wrong by staying here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rickz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently stayed at the lovely and historical Ryan Mansion, (a short drive to downtown Galena), for several nights and enjoyed it immensely. Our host, Bill, was gracious and very informative, providing us with a tour of their beautiful B & B, all while in ‘period mode’. It even included a brief parlour game which was delightful. Our rooms were spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed and their sheets most definitely were some of the most comfortable I’ve ever slept in. Each breakfast was delicious and displayed nicely. The grounds in the back of the home are vast, pretty, and include a large pond, which makes for a lovely stroll. Clearly Bill and Wendy have gone to great effort to provide an exquisite and historical setting for their guests.
I would also add that we have stayed in many, many B & B’s over the years and can state that this is definitely equal to the nicest B & B’s we’ve stayed at, and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorianCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Ryan mansion for three nights. Our room was very comfortable. The breakfasts where amazing. The house is filled with interesting historic decor. The location is a quick drive to downtown Galena. Be sure and take a tour of the house.

Room Tip: The rooms and bathrooms vary so take a tour if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatawinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I decided that my mother and I should stay at a B & B while in Galena rather than a hotel, since
we were looking for an atmosphere that had more of a "homey" feel. She recently lost her spouse of 59 years, and I wanted to surprise her with something out of the ordinary. The mansion was very impressive in appearance/exquisite decor, yet the hospitality seemed to be lacking. We were told we "need to be quiet" while exploring areas of the house other than our bedroom, and received a negative response when we asked if coffee was available upon arrival (it was indicated that coffee would only be served in the morning). The host perhaps was having an off day, yet considering the cost of an overnight stay $172.00, he could have been more welcoming, and could have been a more gracious host. He did give us a "quickie" tour, but failed to describe/show us any of the amenities. We didn't get the impression from him that we were welcome to feel free to explore/be in other areas of the house other than our room. Breakfast was very delicious although sparce. My past experiences at B&Bs put a lot of emphasis on the breakfast (more food than one can eat). We had 2 cinammon rolls, mixed fruit, 2 sausage links and some not so fresh tasting orange juice. Since this place was still being renovated, the upstairs ballroom and widow's walk were unfortunately off limits. I'm not a hard to please individual, but I expected more for my money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank douglas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My fiance and I were looking for a place that would be romantic and close to downtown. We have been to Galena many times before so the challenge was to find something new. My fiance has a service dog. This was a fabulous place for us. We stayed in the cottage for two nights and in the main inn one night. We had a wonderful stay. The cottage is amazing. Very romantic and very quiet. The owner's are fabulous. They know the area and are helpful without being overbearing. Even though the law requires every place of public accomodation to allow service animals, we have traveled often and found that to be very difficult. Not here. We would come back in a heartbeat. We had a wonderful and very special long weekend. Travel here and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbblawguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.8 mi away
Felt Manor Guest House
Felt Manor Guest House
#14 of 32 in Galena
124 reviews
7.7 mi away
Goldmoor Inn
Goldmoor Inn
#7 of 32 in Galena
511 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
1.8 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
157 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alice's Snyder House
Alice's Snyder House
#8 of 32 in Galena
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryan Mansion Garden Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan Mansion Garden Cottage

Property: Ryan Mansion Garden Cottage
Address: 11373 Highway 20 West, Galena, IL 61036
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ryan Mansion Garden Cottage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is no longer a Bed and Breakfast We are only renting the cottage behind the house with garden and pond view. Ryan Mansion garden cottage is a beautiful, historic garden cottage located just 1 mile west on Hwy 20. We offer gas fireplace , Jacuzzi tub in select rooms and coffee and mini fridge There is a breakfast restaurant just steps from your cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Ryan Mansion Garden Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing