We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italian”
Review of Vinny Vanucchi's

Vinny Vanucchi's
Reserve with OpenTable
Vinny Vanucchi's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 63 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Real Italian”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at Vinny's. We sat outside and was served by a youngman that did a very nice. Proces were reasonable for a resort community. The only negative was a rather long unattended wait when we first went in. However once seated all was good.
The sauces were very good- the egg plant parm special was greatly loved by my wife.
Overall a very good dinner- and a reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davids3187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    299
    134
    50
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bonfield, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very good lunch with neat decor”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

we only had time for a quick lunch but everything was very tasty, presented very nicely and the building and decor was very interesting. Would definitely dine there again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hopeful”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have visited Vinny's on our semi-annual trips to Galena through the years, but have been disappointed lately that neither the food or service is what it once was. We are hopeful that they will return to better quality on both accounts.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Pasta”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A very unique atmosphere with yummy pasta dishes. If you want pizza - you are at the wrong place. The Garlic Bread was also very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nemahbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A busy place on weekends”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

On Saturday, May 4th, my wife and I had dinner at Vinny Vanucchi’s Italian
restaurant in Galena, IL. We had eaten there a few years back on a week day but never dined there previously on a weekend. The food is very good and the service is also good. We had their “special” for that evening of egg plant which was delicious. No disappointments there.

On this particular Saturday evening they were busy! Maybe it was where they had seated us but we felt we were in the middle of a major traffic flow within the place. A quiet dinner was not possible that evening.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank B_Maurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vinny Vanucchi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing