We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful house in a stunning setting made for...”
Plas Dinam
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plas Dinam
Dining hall seats up to 60 Sitting room, with lovely bay window with views down the valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Plas Dinam
Dining hall seats up to 60
Sitting room, with lovely bay window with views down the valley
Drawing room, with grand piano
Billiard room
Kitchen, seating for 10, aga, 2 dishwashers, 2 fridges, coffee machine, great stereo
Drawing room
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5
En suite bathroom
Bedroom 13
Top of the wooden stairs
Bedroom 2
Dining hall
Bedroom1
Library
Views of the hills from all rooms
View from the top of the hill
13 acres of gardens to explore include tennis court
Plas Dinam
Wedding reception at Plas Dinam
Plas Dinam Sitting room
View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
15 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 32
Llandinam, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gb732015
United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautiful house in a stunning setting made for a wonderful relaxed weekend.”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We have just had a fantastic time staying in Plas Dinam for a long weekend. It made for such a wonderful setting for a birthday weekend with lots of old friends.
Although it was a long drive for us from Cornwall, it was easy to get to and so worth it. The house is fabulous, large enough to accomodate hoards of us but not so big we lost each other. The kitchen is perfect, with all one needs, coping with us all coming and going from very young to the opposite. it then transformed in the evening for a local chef to produce a delicious three course dinner (the puddings were incredible). The first evening, we had an informal small dinner for the first to arrive, before the second evening when we had a formal dinner follewed by lots of dancing to great music. All in a wonderful setting. I haven't even talked about the table tennis tournement, the billiards.....I could go on.
The bedrooms are delightful with lovely bathrooms, lots of hot water and fine REN products to use.
During the weekend we had a long walk over the hills, and came back to find Tyson had lit the pizza oven for us to make really delicious pizzas, a fun way to feed a big group of hungry friends or families.
As I said, It was a warm and relaxed place, made lovely by Eldrydd and Tyson's efforts.
Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house absorbed us all, creating a warm and relaxed atmosphere for the whole time.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place for a group getaway”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I stayed here for a weekend away with a large group of friends. We stayed here and went on a shoot with the local gamekeeper. From start to finish we had a fabulous time.

The venue is suitably grand but well equipped with modern amenities and lovely bathrooms. The staff were really helpful in helping us with the wood fired pizza oven and helping with local catering firms.

I'd recommend this venue and the stunning scenery to anyone wanting to organise a very together with a big group of friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJFisher8...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect venue for an intimate wedding”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Plas Dinam was the perfect venue for the intimate wedding we wanted. Hearing all to often that wedding days are over too quickly, we decided from the outset to have a weekend wedding: four days of fun with our closest friends and family, with extended family and other friends joining us for the 'big day'. After visiting several venues in Devon, which weren't particularly luxurious but with huge price tags, we discovered Plas Dinam via recommendation. It offers 15 luxurious bedrooms, all individually styled exuding a perfect balance of vintage and modern. The grounds are stunning; you have the choice of tennis court, football pitch, croquet pitch, with a mini forest and stream, and horses in a nearby field to visit. The house is big enough to comfortably sleep 32 and although it's an old house, and there is a sense of grandeur, it isn't in the slightest bit ostentatious. On our wedding day we were 92 in the evening and it felt intimate. We couldn't have asked for anything more from the venue - Eldrydd (the PD's manager) has a excellent suppliers list to help you with all your requirements. Would highly recommend Plas Dinam for anyone wanting an intimate wedding in the gorgeous Welsh countryside.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina I
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Amazing!”
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I have chosen Plas Dinam by the pictures from their website and by Trip Advisor reviews. It is beyond my expectations! Wonderful!
We have such a lovely wedding album - with autumn amazing colours.
I think all together in 5 days we have over 3.000 pictures because we couldn't stop not taking a piece of memory from those days.
It is lovely - cozy, although huge and full of history.
Nobody got bored...either in the massive kitchen, or in the lounge or playing tennis or billiard - everyone -had something to do.
The beds are top class - made me spend my last days browsing internet just to find similar one for myself :).
Eldrynn is there and very helpful and we cannot be more grateful.
Thank you Plas Dinam for making my wedding day special not only for me - but for all the guests!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayrath
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect wedding location”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Plas Dinam really is the perfect wedding venue. It is large enough for a big group of people but at the same time feels intimate and cozy. Eldrydd, Tyson and the rest of the team go out of their way to make you feel at home for your stay and I was genuinely sad to finally have to leave.

All of the rooms in Plas Dinam were highly maintained. Everything from the two spacious lounges, the magnificent main hall, the fully stocked kitchen, incredible billiard room to the wonderfully decorated and MASSIVE bedrooms and bathrooms were clean, comfortable and fresh. You also get a great sense of the history of the house and the family who have lived there. They have set up a little museum, and I hope they continue to add to that and expand it.

There were 35 of us staying in the house from Thursday afternoon through to Monday morning but it never felt like we were living on top of each other. There are so many little places in the house and to sneak off to and hide away. It never felt cramped, even at dinner when we all gathered together.

On our wedding day we were joined by many more people staying in local hotels and B&Bs. In total we had about 100 people for the day itself. Plas Dinam can easily accommodate this size. We had our ceremony outside on the drive, but if the weather was not as favourable we could have fit that many in the main hall. There was plenty of space in the grounds at the back of the house for a reception. We made use of the big jenga and connect four games that were there, as well as the croquet lawn which gave our guests some unusual things to do and went down really well.

There is a large, flat space at the front of the house where we set up a marquee for the evening reception. Being able to make use of the house in the afternoon, and then move everything to the marquee in the evening meant we had the best of both worlds. A great stately home to welcome people, but a specific place for everyone to gather in the evening.

As a gay couple we wanted to make sure we found somewhere that was welcoming, and we got that. The owners never batted an eyelid, and spent a lot of time with us planning and making sure we got the most out of the day. I can't compliment them enough on this. I have faced discrimination due to my sexual orientation, and to go somewhere so accepting and friendly just made our weekend the relaxing time it needed to be.

Thank you to everyone at the house for making our weekend so special. Plas Dinam really is the perfect location, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone, whether you are getting married, or just need somewhere to sneak off to with some friends for the weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie109
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

beautiful house with so many nooks and crannies containing interesting historical items and plenty of things to dp

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: wifi was awful, kitchen not very well equipped with stuff like pyrex dishes, wooden spoons, large pans
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2014
I'm pleased you had a great time. I am sorry about the wifi. Our area in Mid Wales is getting high speed cable broadband later in the year so then it will speed up to nearer what you are used to in Manchester. As for the kitchen I always ask guests find it well stocked when they leave, and the answer til now has been YES, VERY! However I will get shopping for more wooden spoons etc now. Kind regards, Eldrydd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivia O
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beyond excellent. The Magnificent Castle”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The wonderful hosts of Plas Dinam were outstanding from the moment we first enquired about our stay. Elydrd is a delight to deal with and her service was personal and informative in the lead up our arrival.

The house itself is better than you could imagine. The vision in my mind was blown once we arrived the whole weekend was spent in awe of the stunning architecture.

Enchanting, inspiring & overwhelming are the three words I would used to describe the magic that was created at Plas Dinam. We were a group of 34 multi-national friends in need of a weekend to invest our time in fantastic conversations, stunning scenery and relaxing activities. The house offered everything and more.

A particular highlight for us was when we transformed the dining room into a beautiful black tie affair with a 4 course home baked meal. Everything we needed to accompany the meal was accessible from the house. This enabled us to have an outstanding experience made spectacular by the rare ambience we were able to create with what was already in the house. A night to remember!

Other activities include: 2 hour hike over the mountain with beautiful views over the valleys, trampolining in the worlds largest cave (1.5 hours drive away), a gorgeous 34 seater black tie meal in the Plas Dining room, tennis, fabulous BBQ, Billiards, Table Tennis competition, The World Cup Final in the cinema room, Yoga on the lawn..the list goes on.

Thank you Elydrd and the Plas team for welcoming us into your stunning home. We will never forget what you enabled us to create!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing