We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food... yummy ice cream treats”
Review of The Union Dairy

The Union Dairy
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Also know as Alber Ice Cream Parlor
Restaurant details
Description: Also know as Alber Ice Cream Parlor
Warren, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food... yummy ice cream treats”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Tried the Chili Burger for lunch. Grilled Texas Toast, topped with a hamburger, chili and cheese! Very yummy! So many flavors of ice cream.. hard to decide. A perfect place for the family or a date... good for all! Loved the choice of music! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    20
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went at an off hour but holiday weekend and they were packed. My burger was nice and fresh. The ice cream was pretty good but nothing great. Service got bogged down in the rush.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaStarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I can't say enough about this place!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

They had more varieties of ice cream that I can even mention here. This is a local favorite hang-out, and has been around for a very long time. You shouldn't take a trip to Freeport without stopping here. Not open in the winter of course, you can sit inside or out. They offer a menu as well as ice cream.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The best ice cream parlor I've ever visited.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Union dairy is a must see. In addition to being located right next to the Lincoln-Douglas Debate Square, it's a blast from the past. An authentic old-fashioned ice cream parlor with fabulous ice cream, interesting and creative ice cream desserts, and food offerings for those who want more than ice cream. Milk shakes, sodas, malts, hot dogs, burgers, fries, and friendly staff help make this experience wonderful for everyone. The ice cream flavors are both traditional and unique, and the sherbet was truly the best I've ever tasted. The walls are decorated with vintage advertisements for yummy foods and treats. Yes, the Ten Commandments are posted on the wall near the kitchen, but I visited Union Dairy at least ten times (across three vacations) before I noticed them and then, it was only because we were sitting at the counter right by the kitchen. With many different sizes of ice cream and treats and affordable prices, this place is perfect for families and anyone looking to capture a bit of the past.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank largomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pricey & Preachy”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Food was ok, but for the two of us for lunch is was well over $20 for burgers and ice cream. The shakes alone are almost $6! Also, they have a 10 Commandments plaque up which if I had seen before we had ordered, I would have not eaten there. I'm fine with whatever religion you want to believe in, but posting the 10 commandments in your restaurant basically says "Christians only." That's fine, we won't be coming back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DemeterDevotee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Union Dairy also viewed

 

Been to The Union Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing