We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop over while traveling”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Freeport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Freeport
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Freeport
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    53
    39
    24
    23
See reviews for
73
34
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was recently married in a small town near Freeport and had guests coming from all over the country. We reserved rooms at the Super 8 as well as another local hotel. Reservations were easy, and the one minor disruption I experienced was taken care of by the manager. Almost all of our guests chose to stay at the Super 8, and all of them reported that it was a more than satisfactory experience. The hotel has a great location in Freeport: close to highway 20, and right next to a pizza place/bar and a rental car center. The rooms are spacious, and the "suites" are worth the extra couple of bucks for the nice layout - especially if you are staying for multiple nights. The manager is very nice and seems to genuinely care that people have a good stay, and that makes all the difference in the world.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

It's a good rate and a good location right off of 20 but this place has gone downhill. Every possible shortcut to save $ was taken by these guys. The place was dirty. Sheets were clean and beds were good but the carpet was gross. Without fail every single time we exited our room into the hallway someone from my family said 'what is that smell?' I never did identify the smell..sorta like dirty carpet and smelly people...? LIke a group that camped the entire weekend enduring the primative circumsances. The breakfast was okay but I had trouble eating just knowing corners were cut. How do we trust the milk to not be expired.....? Personally it was a rough trip for our family but it sucked even worse to not have a haven to return to in our room. I WILL spend the extra $ next time and have a pool which is heated, doesn't smell of fish water and is avaialble once they pull the 'pool out of order' sign off the door. Yeah, the pool as gross too. Spend the dough guys, go to another hotel.

Room Tip: If you need a place to lay your head and get up and go the next day, do this one. If you are making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful. Our rates were great. This was the second time I stayed at this location. I am in hotels a lot all over the Midwest. It's clean, safe, comfortable, quiet. I was at this location for about five weeks this Spring on business. No negative issues. This is not a full service "resort". It IS a clean, freshly updated, convenient, affordable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontheroad1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel easily accessible and close to shops, comfortable bed and room, internet excellent, no traffic noise, parking good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Freeport
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Freeport
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport
Hampton Inn Freeport
#1 of 7 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Super 8 Monroe WI
Super 8 Monroe WI
#1 of 3 in Monroe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
2.8 mi away
West Motel
West Motel
#5 of 7 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Freeport

Property: Super 8 Freeport
Address: 1551 S Sleezer Home Rd, Freeport, IL 61032-2542 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Freeport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Freeport
Freeport Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing