We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serious lack of business ethics and integrity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus O'Hare International South Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Franklin Park
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We booked a room for two nights with an advertised park and fly package from the Choice Hotels web site. The rate was to cover the night before our trip the night of the return flight, parking and shuttle to and from Chicago O'Hare.

Upon check in we were informed that the park and fly rate advertised at $109 a night a full $20 higher than the lowest advertised rate did not include parking and we would need to pay an additional $8/day or in our case and additional $56 or the cars would be towed the next morning. Not a request more of a threat! Further the desk clerk wanted payment in CASH!!!!

The cost advertised was not even close to the real price. Total outlay was over $275 for the stay
for this price you can stay at any of the better hotel between Rodeway and O'Hare and there are many there with better facilities.

Best advice for this property is just do not stay here. Choice Hotels should be ashamed to have their name attached to this operation.

Room Tip: Any other hotel in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 236 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

When I first arrived at this hotel I was greeted by a very rude woman at the front desk named Heather. She was rude to me and other customers and was hanging up on people that called on the phone. She kept telling everyone about how overworked she was and how much she hated her job. My wife called the hotel to be transferred to my room and the first time she called the woman answered the phone by saying "FRONT DESK!", then my wife asked if this was the Rodeway hotel? and the woman hung up on her. My wife then called back and she asked to be transferred to my room, and the woman said "We don't transfer calls to rooms at this hour!" it was 10pm. My wife then said that she was calling to make sure she had the right number and that she was going to call in the AM to wake me up for a wakeup call. My wife then asked what time in the AM will they transfer calls? the woman said "after 8am". My wife explained to her that I needed to be woken up at 5:50am to catch a flight. The woman then asked if we wanted a wakeup call? My wife said yes that would be great. I didn't get the wakeup call, but was already awake because my room was so hot and had not control of the temp. I also had problems getting a taxi and the shuttle bus was not available when I needed it. There isn't any place to eat near this hotel that is close. I had to walk with another person staying here about a mile to find fast food. This hotel is not in a nice area to be walking.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here when we were in the area for a concert. The hotel must have lost its Comfort Inn license, and it is a Rodeway. They must be in transition with renovations and upgrades. It was surprisingly CLEAN: lobby, room, and bathroom. I travel frequently for business and pleasure nationwide and worldwide. I have NEVER encountered such RUDE front desk employee! What an attitude this "Russian" lady had. It took her FOREVER (20-25 minutes) to check us in and kept interrogating me with questions. I gave her a credit card to process payment. I switched to cash to make it easy on her. Then, she wanted the credit card for incidental expenses...... Process started all over. Checkout is at 11am, and I totally understand. At 11:05am the cleaning staff were knocking on the door. We were getting ready. Once more, they were rude. I am sure they had other rooms to get to. That's why I give my review average. Would I stay here again? Probably not.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Ellada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here one night while in the area for a family event. Chose this from the hotel group's rewards program offerings. It's now rbranded a Rodeway Inn. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. The hotel is clean. Our single king room was a decent size. The bathroom is a touch on the small side but was very clean and orderly, and that's what matters most. Breakfast was surprisingly good. Wasn't expecting more warm offerings than waffles but they also had some egg and sausage selections, plus sausage gravy and anything else you'd anticipate seeing at a lesser breakfast. If you're planning to swim, ask to make sure they have the heat turned on. Pool is an ok size and could use a little rehab on the bottom surface. They also have a hot whirlpool. Overall a very nice stop. Close to O'Hare and does have a shuttle. Very inexpensive. Great value. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was using the hotel as it was near the airport. I had been staying in a 4 star hotel for the rest of my stay and I had a better experience at the Rodeway. Friendly staff, comfy bed, good TV, airport shuttle. Everything you need. Even a small pool!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank superfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The property is no longer a Comfort Inn, but now a Rodeway Inn. The phone in the room and the WiFi network still has the Comfort Inn name, however. So. The name change must have been recent.

The property itself appears to be undergoing some renovations. The parts that are complete look beautiful, but there are many areas unfinished.

The common areas are freezing cold - especially the interior hallways, but our room was plenty warm. The employees are wearing winter jackets including at the front desk which makes it difficult to identify them as employees rather than guests.

The elevator is unacceptably dirty with a wet and sticky floor littered with used packaging formerly containing male enhancement pills. Additionally, there are words scratched into the metal sided of the elevator. The bottom level control panel is visibly dented/smashed inward and the indicator light to tell you it arrived is completely smashed out.

There is only one ice machine and it is on the second floor - it did not work. This area also has a snack vending machine and beverage machine. One can of soda pop will set you back $2.00! Upon me calling the front desk and asking for some ice to be sent up, I was told that is the only machine they had and that he would attempt to fix it. No ice was ever sent up and no follow up was ever made by staff - I had to go without ice and drink my beverage warm.

In the morning after breakfast, both of my room cards did not work in returning to my room. We went to the front desk and waited in the freezing lobby, but there was no employee manning the front desk. We waited at least 5 minutes before being acknowledged even though two employees could see us standing and waiting for help. When I mentioned how long I was standing there, I was made out to be a liar by the employee who said it was impossible I was waiting for so long because she had only been gone for two minutes. She did not apologize for the situation. She did deactivate our room cards, but in doing so failed to make any attempt whatsoever that the room cards did in fact belong to me and were for my room. She never asked for our names, and therefore it is entirely possible that if the room cards got into the hands of the wrong people, the security of our room and property within the room could have been compromised.

Breakfast is included at no additional charge which is a plus. Breakfast consisted of apple juice, orange juice, coffee, milk, Cheerios, frosted wheaties, raisin bran, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, waffles, French toast, Danish pastries, sausage links, biscuits and gravy, and scrambled eggs (the artificial tasting type). During our entire time at breakfast, we did not witness anybody working to restock the items that ran out.

The hotel does have a shuttle service, but I cannot comment on it because I did not use it.

The hotel does have a pool and hot tub, but it is not filled. The area is locked and cluttered with construction materials. The pool only goes down to what appeared to b four feet deep (when filled).

The room is in better shape. It contains a flat panel HDTV, stylish decor and colors, and is overall beautiful. Our room also contained a microwave and mini fridge. My only complaint about the room is that it reeks of B.O. and chlorine, the bathroom is a tad dimly lit (one recessed light over the shower only and no light for the toilet area).

We arrived when it was snowing. The parking lot was not properly cleared of snow and could be a hazard for an older person that migh slip, fall and be injured.

Overall, I am disappointed in my experience. It could have been worse, but with so many other options in this area, I would look elsewhere next time.

Pro's:

Beautiful room
Finished common areas are beautiful

Con's:

Rude staff
Poorly maintained elevator
Cold common areas
Unfinished construction
No functioning pool area
Exterior needs better snow removal
No working ice machine

If you find this review helpful, could you please give me a helpful vote?

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here on both ends of a trip to Costa Rica. The hotel is being renovated and rooms are fine. Breakfast is great and the nice girl at the front desk put food out extra early because we were leaving on the shuttle at 5 am. The bed was comfy. The only thing I wish was different was the top floor is the smoking floor. We were one floor down and there was a lot of noise above us on the return stay. Shuttle service was good. We will return.

Room Tip: Choose the back side of the hotel as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conklem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin Park
0.7 mi away
Regal Inn Chicago-O'hare Airport Franklin Park
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-O'Hare International Airport
2 mi away
Comfort Suites O'Hare
Comfort Suites O'Hare
#4 of 9 in Schiller Park
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Chicago/Rosemont/O'hare/SE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus O'Hare International South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus O'Hare International South Hotel

Address: 3001 Mannheim Rd, Franklin Park, IL 60131-2434 (Formerly Comfort Inn O'Hare South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Franklin Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Franklin Park
Price Range: $84 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus O'Hare International South Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet-friendly BEST WESTERN PLUS O'Hare International South Hotel in Franklin Park, Illinois is just few minutes away from O'Hare International Airport. Our O'Hare Airport hotel provides O'Hare Airport shuttle service to and from the airport 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Our hotel is situated about four miles from the Donald E. Stephen Convention Center, Rosemont Theatre and Allstate Arena. Attend a business conference, hear a Broadway musical performance or cheer the hockey team at a game near our hotel. Experience Chicago's renowned shopping at the nearby Fashion Outlets of Chicago, or make a wager at nearby Rivers Casino in Des Plaines. Explore the Windy City during your stay and make the short drive or train ride to well-known things to do in Chicago such as Rosemont Walk, The Magnificent Mile(R), Navy Pier and Wrigley Field. Start your work or sightseeing day right with our complimentary hot breakfast at our community table or a table for two, both featuring comfortable seating. Ask our knowledgeable team members for restaurant recommendations and transportation options. Each of our comfortable king or queen size bedrooms is equipped with free Wi-Fi, desk or activity table and flat screen HDTV. Consider an upgraded room with mini-refrigerator and microwave oven. Enjoy the comforts of home and friendly service at the BEST WESTERN PLUS O'Hare International South Hotel, offering a convenient location and access to downtown Chicago via the Chicago Transit Authority (CTA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus O'Hare International South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn o`Hare South Hotel Franklin Park
Comfort Inn Franklin Park
Franklin Park Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing