We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bueno!”
Review of Mi Jalapeno - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mi Jalapeno
Restaurant details
Glen Ellyn, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bueno!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Authentic Mexican food right across the street from the hotel. They do carry out, so just walk in, check out the menu, sit at the bar and have a cerveza fria, grab your order, and head back. They give you free chips and salsa/guacamole with each order. Everything is outstanding. You simply cannot go wrong.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

If you like mexican shrimp coctail... their shrimp is jumbo-sized and the tomato-juice, cilantro, avocado sauce is DELICIOUSLY fresh and flavorful!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KaiserConsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Tried this place with a colleague as it was essentially in the parking lot of our hotel and I always enjoy Mexican food in the states (much, much better than what we typically see in Canada), The food was decent as was the service, but it struck me as more of a place to refuel your belly than one where you go to truly relish in your meal. Prices were average and on the whole it was better than the other restaurants in the same area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank albedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch good price”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wife and I enjoyed a reasonably priced mexican lunch with $1.25 margarita's. We both ate like a King and Queen. We will be back! The menu is full of tasty looking meals.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“business owner”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The food are excellent meaning delicious, mouth watering, and tasty for my picky taste buds. The service are super as well. The atmosphere is perfect for those people who likes western / modern feel.... you have to go check it out, and see what I mean.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Jalapeno also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing