We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wee, wee, wee!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piggyback Tavern

Piggyback Tavern
Ranked #15 of 77 Restaurants in Forest Park
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wee, wee, wee!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went here with friends on a bitterly cold and snowy night--and the place was full of patrons. We had a reservation and were seated immediately. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable enough to make good recommendations from the lengthy beer and cocktail menu. We ordered the Baby Back Ribs, Piggyback Burger, Piggyback Patty Melt, and Pulled Pork Smoked BBQ sandwich. The food was tasty, complimented with multiple sauce favors, and the sides were top notch. When our server asked if we wanted dessert we all grabbed our stomachs and shook our heads. We were fat and happy, like pigs in a blanket.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ, Service, Environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My family and I went here to eat on New Year's Eve. Having two little ones, we ate at 5. Got there on time and got a great little booth spot. The place is very clean and open. The bar is lovely and separated from the dining area. Derick, our waiter, was attentive. Gave us great recommendations on beer from their large selections of crafts on draft and cans. They have an extensive spirits selection too. The grown ups got ribs. I got pulled pork with mine. They come sans sauce (dry rub ribs) and you can add your own at the table from their selection of 4. They have a Carolina style sauce, a mustard based sauce, zesty and sweet. My favorite was a combo of the zesty and sweet. It was really delicious. The mac n cheese was amazing. Dessert topped it off - ice cream for the kids and s'mores for me! (The best s'mores I've had.) And a whiskey flight for me and my husband with tastes recommended by the bartender.

Also - side note - the bathroom is lovely and clean.

A great place to eat BBQ. We will definitely go back with the kids, without the kids, with friends, with family, you get the picture...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilimags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BBQ and beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went on a whim for dinner last night. Enjoyed the decor, atmosphere, beer selections, and BBQ. There are over 20 beers on tap, many of which are craft brews, and many more available in bottles or cans. Among our group, we had the tacos, BBQ nachos, and pulled pork sandwich, which included hand cut fries. One of our first choices was a brisket sandwich, but at 8:30pm on a Friday they had only shredded brisket and no sliced. Not sure how a BBQ restaurant can be out of one of their staples that early on the first day of the weekend. Must be really good. The tacos were a little small, but they weren't very expensive. You need probably 3 to make a meal, which gets you up to about an entree price. Nachos and pork were very good. Pork came "dry" and four types of BBQ sauce are provided on the table, so you can make your own choice of flavor and quantity. Fries were very good. Open dining room with a few big screen TVs viewable at the bar. A little on the noisy side. We sat in a comfortable booth at the far end of the room, which was a little quieter. About $20 a person for a meal and a beer, all in. We'll definitely go back. Hope they have some sliced brisket.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great bbq and craft beers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stopped in for lunch on the 4th. I have heard about this place from friends about the great barbque and craft beers. They have a great selection of beers. The waiter brought samples of several of the beers we were interested in to try. Being the first time here, I tried the bbq slider trio of one each of the chicken/pulled pork and beef brisket. On the table there are 3 different bbq sauces. We found the chicken and pulled pork was best to our tastes. We also had the green fried tomatoes. The coating on the tomatoes was excellent, along with the remoulade. The waiter said the catfish was also very good. I can't wait to go back to try more of the food and to try the hot chocolate skillet cake which is supposedly to die for. Great place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bustravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty BBQ even without the sauce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This establishment is great for BBQ. I don't like a lot of sauce, although they offer a variety of choices therein. Their brisket and pulled pork sandwiches are so flavorful and moist that you don't need sauce. It's a very casual atmosphere, with a bar at one end. They have flights of beer that change all the time, which my husband loves to try. My only complaint is that the seating could be a bit more generous and comfy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piggyback Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Piggyback Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing