We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing place”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Foa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne. Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful relaxing place”
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We had 4 lovely days at Sandy Beach Resort: Whale watching / Swimming with the whales with the dive center "Happy Ha`apai Divers" on a very modern catamaran, snorkeling at the beautiful house reef, horse riding with Jürger round the island, kayaking and just relaxing. The bungalows are very comfortable, food and wine was good, the hosts are very friendly and helpful. We felt very wll pampered, we never expected such comfort on an "outer island" in Tonga. Thanks very much Jürgen and Boris for these wonderful days.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nc-hilpisur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    43
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
206
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liahona, Tongatapu
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed in a "fale" for two nights and thouroughly enjoyed our visit. The house was clean and tidy, and well designed. The picture window looked out over the calm and clear Pacific. The restaurant was elegant in its simplicity, with excellent food and service. The high prices were completely justified by the small intimate setting and the remote location of the resort. We enjoyed the amenities included in the accomodation price -- sea kayaking, bike riding, a reef walk and a nature trip through the bush. Our guide was no less than the owner himself, and we felt we got the best of care.

Would we return? First chance we get.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TongaClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2009

I stayed with my wife for 5 nights at Sandy Beach in September 2009. The setting is - well - just amazing. Is sitting on a picture perfect white sand beach, excellent both for swimming and for snorkeling both at low and high tide, and scattered with beautiful shells. The views are outstanding, too. We where lucky enough to see humpback whales from the beach, and they where breaching just in front of us!
Bungalows are extremely comfortable, tastefully appointed and spotlessly clean. Jurgen and Boris are fabulous guest, kind, attentive and warm (Germanic efficiency paired with South Pacific charm!) and very well supported by a friendly and capable Tongan collaborators. The food is fresh, varied and tasty.
Bicycles, kayaks, snorkeling gear are all available for free for guest.
And on top of it all there's Ha'apai: friendly people, no traffic, almost no tourists, but still easy to reach now that Chatham Pacific is providing a reliable connection to Tongatapu.
Everything considered, Sandy Beach is the best place we ever tried as a tropical beach retreat (we traveled extensively around the globe, so have good terms of comparison). Paradise doesn't come cheap, but considering the remoteness of the location and the work that maintaining it requires, the costs are more than reasonable. This resort should not be compared with the alternatives that can be found in Ha'apai (mostly very rustic and basic accommodation), but with top quality international resorts, that usually cost much more.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bear-Trout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Comfortable, spacious and convenient fales on a most beautiful beach in a relaxing and peaceful part of Tonga, perfect for swimming and snorkeling.
Juergen and Boris are excellent hosts; among other things we had very informative bushwalk with Juergen as well as visiting a Sunday's church service with Boris - very nice and unforgetable experiences.
The staff was friendly and helpful, the food very good - we enjoyed our stay at Sandy Beach very much and if wel have the opportunity of coming back to Tonga we'll come back to Sandy Beach too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manta54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Comfortable, spacious fales on a most beautiful beach in a peaceful and remote part of Tonga. Amazingly good food -- the chef prepared creative and delicious meals for us each evening. The staff was friendly and helpful. Jurgen, our host, took us on a wonderful and informative 3-hour bushwalk. We also went with him into town for a Sunday church service, all in Tongan -- an experience not to be missed. We enjoyed great snorkeling and kayaking right from our fale. We went for morning runs through the small villages on Foa Island, meeting curious and friendly Tongans along the way. And we went out to sea with the on-site dive company for whale watching and more snorkeling. We particularly appreciated Jurgen's understanding and respect for the Tongan culture and it's lovely people. We very much enjoyed our time at Sandy Beach and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJEBishop_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Individual cottages on the water's edge, with great snorkeling right there. The water ebbs and flows gently over the coral and the fish are amazing if you just relax and float. Kayaks and bicycles are available to explore land and water. Host Jurgen took us to a nearby uninhabited island and told us fascinating stories about the places we saw. I loved every minute in this specatacular place!

Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tina J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Wanted to say I stayed at the Sandy Beach Resort a couple years ago and hope it's the same wonderful place, would go back in a heart beat, totally relaxed, don't expect anything besides peace, wonderful H20, good food and a new attitude. Check it out. The diving was great as was just walking and swimming.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTinUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foa Island
0.3 mi away
Matafonua Lodge
Matafonua Lodge
#1 of 2 in Foa Island
405 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#7 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
47 reviews
12.7 mi away
Serenity Beaches Resort
Serenity Beaches Resort
#1 of 1 in Uoleva Island
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tongan Beach Resort
Tongan Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Neiafu
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keleti International Resort
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Property: Sandy Beach Resort
Address: Absolute Beach Front | Ha'apai, 4711, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Ha'apai Islands > Foa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Foa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled right on the most beautiful beach, Sandy Beach Resort consists of only 12 absolute beachfront Bungalows, so privacy and solitude is guaranteed. All Bungalows have spacious ensuites with solar powered hot water showers and a furnished private terrace facing the ocean.The beach is just footsteps away from the door. The perfect place to relax, unwind and recharge. No crowds, no queues, no TV, no nightclub … pure island life ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Ha`Apai Islands
Sandy Beach Resort Tonga/Foa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing