We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, but close to highway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Fairview Heights
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fairview Heights
Shawnee, KS
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice, but close to highway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The room was excellent, very clean, looked like it had been updated within last few years. Breakfast was excellent, mostly continental but also with waffles and pre-made omelettes and breakfast sandwiches. My only complaint is that with the proximity to the highway, the windows should be ones that provide much more sound-proofing. the windows were single pane and did little to block the highway noise. We both were concerned, but did get to sleep with little problem anyways. If noise is a concern, there is a comfort inn near this hotel that has rooms that face away from the highway. Not sure how nice it is, but it would be quieter.

Room Tip: Get a room as FAR from the highway as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VarzilTheGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    33
    22
    17
    8
See reviews for
40
18
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This place is close to restaurants (walking distance to several chain restaurants), shopping, and short drive to St Louis. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast is OK but more geared towards children (cereal, oatmeal & waffles) but still nice to have.
Only knock on this hotel is it is very close to the highway so you will hear traffic noise, not extremely load but you will know it is there.
I would stay here again when I travel to the this area again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I'm staying here now and my experience has been pretty good so far. The room is fine and the bed is comfortable but I did find hair stuck to the wall in the shower from the previous people.
Staff is friendly, although I'm disappointed to read in other reviews they were alerted to discounts at local restaurants because nobody mentioned these to us and we've already eaten at a few.
After checking it, we realized we had been overcharged about $45 for our stay. They explained this was basically an account hold that would be returned 3-5 business days after checkout. Nobody ever mentioned this fee and I'm not sure why this is ok.
The window only has a sheer white curtain over it and the thick green curtains turned out to be decorative only and can't be closed, so when it's dark, lights shine in the room from neighboring signs and I've gotten to listen to the highway all night with no noise blocking.
The dresser only has two drawers in a room with two queen sized beds and the closet is small...definitely wouldn't recommend for long term stay.
Cookies in the evening and breakfast in the morning is nice and the indoor pool looks ok, just a little small.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbimpact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel worked fine for one person traveling. I stayed here multiple times. However, on my last trip I took my spouse along - at that point I realized the room was designed with only one person in mind. The restroom is not big enough for two full sized people to move about - there is only one sink, etc.. Also, the closet is limited to hanging up about a dozen items - plenty for me, however not enough for two of us.
The rooms were clean and the staff was very nice.
I paid $109/night - considering it is a nearly rural setting, that seemed a bit steep. Maybe I've been spoiled by Courtyards where I pay less and get a full, hot breakfast while in a city environment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
881 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you don't mind being a fair distance east of St. Louis, this is a great hotel. Lots of eateries close by, and comfortable rooms (as we have come to expect from Marriotts). Close to the interstate, but quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have stayed at many Marriott's, but this was my first Fairfield Inn. I booked it through Priceline, and for a 2.5 star hotel, I'd have to give it high praise.
Upon entering I was warmly greeted. At check in they explained the hotels features, including the expanded continental breakfast, WI-fi, and discounts at the adjacent eateries (many within walking distance, like Joe's Crab Shack, Agostino's, Bob Evans, and Red Lobster). They also gave me a goody bag, which included water and trail-mix.
The room wasn't large, but not too small either. The furnishings were sparse, but it did have a Panasonic Flat-screen, and a coffee maker. The bedding was not as visually pleasing as a Marriott, or Hilton, or Doubletree, but it was okay, and I must say, I slept great. No doors slamming throughout the night).
Later while passing through the lobby they had fresh made cookies and lemonade, and again, they went out of their way to make you feel welcome.
The expanded breakfast was not much more than a typical continental breakfast, but they did have sausage biscuits, waffles, fresh fruit and a good selection.
The location was easy to find, and close to the mall.
When I got home I received a "thank-you" email....I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveCameraWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights starting December 26th. The hotel is within easy walking distance to several restaurants and is very close to downtown St. Loius. The staff is friendly, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Fresh baked cookies, coffee and complimentary USA Today in the lobby. As the weekend approached, the hotel became nearly full and was a bit noisy; one night we could hear the people above us who apparently coldn't sleep and were pacing the floor until about 1 AM. Breakfast is in an area adjacent to the lobby, and if the hotel is full it gets crowded so we ended up eating elsewhere. We didn't need it, but they allow pets with a $25 surcharge. All in all a pleasant stay while visiting the area over Christmas.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike-in-Bama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairview Heights
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 10 in Fairview Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Fairview Heights
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Fai...
#1 of 10 in Fairview Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Louis-Fairview Heights
Holiday Inn St. Louis-Fairview H...
#3 of 10 in Fairview Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Fairview Heights
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Fairview H...
#5 of 10 in Fairview Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Fairview Heights
Four Points by Sheraton Fairview...
#4 of 10 in Fairview Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, O'Fallon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn St. Louis Fairview Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn St. Louis Fairview Heights

Property: Fairfield Inn St. Louis Fairview Heights
Address: 140 Ludwig Dr, Fairview Heights, IL 62208-1333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Fairview Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fairview Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn St. Louis Fairview Heights 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn St. Louis Fairview Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Fairview Heights Hotel Fairview Heights
Fairfield Inn Fairview Heights
Fairfield Fairview Heights
Fairview Heights Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing