We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service at this Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn / Camelot Inn of Fairview Heights
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fairview Heights
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I'm very impressed with this little quaint Inn. My family is moving across country and being on a budget is top priority. I am a hospitality supervisor for a 4 diamond property and use extreme caution sleeping in hotels. I was happy to enter a nice CLEAN room with great amenities. Thank you to the General Manager and the Housekeeping staff for a wonderful nights rest!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinLacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Camelot Inn of Fairview Heights, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

The hotel staff at Americas Best Value Inn truly appreciates the many compliments this guest has stated on their stay with our hotel. Our hotel staff has many repeat customers due to cleanliness of rooms, reasonable rates, and 100% customer satisfaction. We aim to provide 100% customer satisfaction to all our guest and ensure that they are happy with all the services they receive. Our hotel works as a team to ensure every customer leaves our hotel happy and looks forward to their return stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn / Camelot Inn of Fairview Heights
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is the place to stay if you are a tight wad but want someplace clean and nice. The staff was very nice, the pool was better than many bigger hotels and the upstairs room was quiet. Nice TV, great bed and free internet. Things are smaller like the bathroom and the breakfast room but you pay less, you should expect less.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJG1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Camelot Inn of Fairview Heights, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

The hotel staff at Americas Best Value Inn truly appreciates the many compliments this guest has stated on their stay with our hotel. Our hotel staff has many repeat customers due to cleanliness of rooms, reasonable rates, and 100% customer satisfaction. We aim to provide 100% customer satisfaction to all our guest and ensure that they are happy with all the services they receive. Our hotel works as a team to ensure every customer leaves our hotel happy and looks forward to their return stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were in the process of leaving. We had the bike all packed and ready to go before 11 am (check out time). Only thing left was to go back to the room and get our riding gear. As we walked down the hall way (second floor) we could see several, vacated rooms, opened up (doors propped open) ready for cleaning. We got to our room and the *Do No Disturb* thingie was still hanging from the door knob. We unlocked the door and entered the room. My other half went in first ... and found one of the cleaning staff(?) next to the bed holding her $1,000+ camera.

As you can imagine, a *conversation* ensued. The woman started babbling something about she thought we had left (vacated the room). Right! Why would we leave all of our riding gear (hanging in the open closet) and the camera!? My other half brought up the fact that there was still a "Do Not Disturb* sign ... and ... the fact it was still BEFORE check out time ... we had NOT turned in the keys yet.

[Note: When one turns in the keys to the room - this is a good indicator the room has now been vacated. So the cleaning staff - clearly - do not check with the desk before entering the rooms.]

By now, clearly, the woman was listening with her mouth. and just kept on babbling.

The other half went to turn in the room cards and to let the manager know what had ensued; telling him that she had found 'housekeeping staff inside our room with the door closed / locked & the camera in her hands' (there were two other rooms next to ours obviously being cleaned by the staff - both with their doors wide open).

She told the manager that we had walked in on the staff holding the camera who immediately began repeating "sorry - I am housekeeping, you are not gone?".....and that she had told the staff it should have been obvious by the "Do Not Disturb" sign that was hanging from the door.

The manager apologized and said "he would speak with the staff, but that nothing bad had happened".....she then told the manager that the only reason that we had the camera is that we had walked in prior to it being taken; also adding "the only reason that nothing bad had happened is because we came back to the room, and caught her, before anything *bad* could happen". Really? Coming our room, while we were out side packing the bike ... uninvited ... and rummaging through our possessions behind a locked door is nothing bad? That is not how it works where I come from!

He again apologized again and wished us a good day.....

This is all a shame ... up until this ... it had been a pleasant stay. Had it not been for the staff rummaging through our property *with the door closed and locked*! ... I'd have given this place 4 dots.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Camelot Inn of Fairview Heights, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

The staff at America's Best Value Inn is appreciative of the many compliments on cleanliness of our hotel and that they enjoyed their stay. Manager explained to customer that many customers turn in keys to let hotel staff know they are checked out or they just leave keys in the room without notifying hotel staff. The house keeper honestly thought the guests were gone and went into room at the 11am checkout time to start her duties to clean the room. The housekeeper thought the guest had accidentally left their camera behind and was exiting room to take the property to the manger at the front desk to report the item as missing and try to contact the guests immediately about the property. The guests entered the room as the housekeeper was trying to get to the manager. The guests did not seem to understand that the housekeeper was trying to explain to the guests that she thought they had checked out already and was taking their property to her manager on duty. The guest came to the manager and he talked with the guests about this and tried to explain this occurrence to the guests as written in this response notification. The manager apologized to the customer for the misunderstanding. The customer left the hotel property with all their belongings. Their has never been any reported theft by any staff at this hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stay in and around Fairview Heights/O'Fallon area several times a year when we travel to Cardinals games. We stayed here because all the other hotels in the area with a free breakfast were booked solid because of the game between the Cardinals and the Cubs. (My husband insists we stay someplace with an early breakfast available.) We had never stayed at this hotel before but because of the good reviews, the photos, and the decent price we decided to try it. We were checked in very quickly and the clerk gave us the option a room on the ground floor or the 2nd. We opted for the ground floor only to encounter the cleaning lady just starting on our room...she nicely offered clean it as quickly as possible. While waiting, we discussed it and decided the 2nd floor would probably be quieter as no one would be walking above us, (hotel has only 2 stories), and the ground floor has the pool. We went back to the front desk and were promptly given a room on the 2nd floor. Our room was warm as the air conditioning was on low, which shows conscientiousness for energy saving, and it did not take long to cool it off once we changed settings. The room was good sized with plenty of walking room; the sink on the inside of the bathroom allowed for more space in the room. Our room was very clean and, even though the hotel has smoking rooms, we did not smell any! Beds were very comfortable with 4 pillows each and our room was quiet. The breakfast was continental with hot waffles and everything was kept replenished and clean! The staff was very friendly, courteous, and helpful. We didn't use the pool but many folks did so I assume it was in proper working order. All in all a very nice stay and pleasant experience, especially since it was so crowded! We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There is no elevator in the lobby; it's down the hall at the end of the building.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chattiekathy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Camelot Inn of Fairview Heights, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your review! We value your opinion and we are very glad that you had a wonderful time staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We come to Fairview Heights at least twice a year and have stayed at other hotels but we always stay here now. The rooms are clean, the pool was clean and we are always happy with the service we receive. And it is quite. That is the best quality you can get!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizzjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Camelot Inn of Fairview Heights, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your review! We value your opinion and we are very glad that you had a wonderful time staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Services was alright. The swimming pool was so green the boys and us couldn't go swimming. But they did let us 4 adults and 2 young boys stay in one room. They need to upgrade their televisions in the rooms. We had an old type television. They need flat screen in room 213.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threebuchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Camelot Inn of Fairview Heights, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hello threebuchs,

We are sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused you. Due to unforeseen conditions, our pool's water did turn green; however, we were able to resolve the issue right away. Majority of our rooms do have the flat screen televisions, and we are currently waiting on a new shipment to come in so that we could change out the televisions in few of the rooms including room 213, the room that you stayed in. We really hope you will reconsider and give us another chance to deliver superior service and accommodations to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Staff is amazingly nice :-) pool is very clean,the rooms are spacious as far as the bathrooms very clean.... breakfast room extremely clean .... everything is very clean and quite no matter what ... I highly recommaned this motel to everyone...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Camelot Inn of Fairview Heights, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your input and are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairview Heights hotels
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Fairview Heights
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Fai...
#1 of 10 in Fairview Heights
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Louis-Fairview Heights
Holiday Inn St. Louis-Fairview H...
#2 of 10 in Fairview Heights
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 10 in Fairview Heights
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Fairview Heights
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Fairview H...
#4 of 10 in Fairview Heights
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Fairview Heights
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Fairview...
#8 of 10 in Fairview Heights
116 reviews
67.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Fairview Heights
Four Points by Sheraton Fairview...
#5 of 10 in Fairview Heights
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn / Camelot Inn of Fairview Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn / Camelot Inn of Fairview Heights

Address: 305 Salem Pl, Fairview Heights, IL 62208-1314
Location: United States > Illinois > Fairview Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fairview Heights
Price Range: $80 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn / Camelot Inn of Fairview Heights 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn / Camelot Inn of Fairview Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fairview Heights
Fairview Heights Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing