We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep in your car instead!”
Review of Budget Inn

Budget Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Budget Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fairfield
Reviewed July 5, 2014

As my senses are still disturbed by my stay, I cannot recall what hit me first; the smell, the visual shock, or the feel of my shoes sticking to the carpet that was laid sometime in the 1960's. Between the mold in the shower, the missing vent cover in the bathroom, the brown stained bed spread or the rust that has built up on all metal surfaces, it is tough to pick out the most disturbing. Fairfield is great small town and lives up to it's motto you will see on the sign as you drive into town, "Home of Friendly People", The Budget Inn should be avoided!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
There are newer reviews for Budget Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I was forced to stay here due to bad weather and slick road conditions. The owner was nice but the rooms are terrible. When I go in my room I was greeted by a dirty ashtray dead mosquito stuck to the wall and cobwebs on the walls. I was provided one towel and zero wash cloths. The bathroom drains were slow and the water backed up in both the sink and the shower. I will never stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Cecil0185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

First off i do have to say the owner is a sweet guy. When we got here he made us all feel welcome. The motel needs major repairs though. the room and bathroom was dirty, there was a nice size hole in the wall, paint is peeling and coming off everywhere, the rooms dont lock like any other place we have been. you have to have an actual key and even in our room it didnt matter if we locked it cause it didnt latch and you could easily just open the door. so all we had was this old rusted little chain lock. something that you can buy at walmart for a couple of bucks. there is cardboard covering the two little windows on our door and the a/c looks decent but it doesnt do a very good job cooling the tiny room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelerswife5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We were off our planned route, and it was getting late at night, so we were happy to find a town with a motel ahead. We had two choices, and picked the budget Inn. I don't know what the other had to offer, but it became apparent that our choice was a sad and neglected property. It was a large, 2-story dated motel in a small country town. It appeared that it had not been maintained for a long time, as it needed paint and repairs. The room was dirty and dated. The bath was dirty. There was trash under the beds. We were off at first light, so we didn't get to explore the town. The manager was friendly and helpful, just not very handy.

Room Tip: Check the room before registering.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sofanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield
1.9 mi away
Briarwood Inn of Fairfield
Briarwood Inn of Fairfield
#1 of 2 in Fairfield
58 reviews
22.0 mi away
Best Western Lorson Inn
22.0 mi away
Super 8 Grayville
Super 8 Grayville
#1 of 2 in Grayville
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
No photo provided
Albion Motel
#1 of 1 in Albion
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Address: 201 S 1st St, Fairfield, IL 62837-2515
Location: United States > Illinois > Fairfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fairfield
Price Range: $62 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing