We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING”

Chi-tung Chinese & Thai Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Japanese, Sushi, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is my favorite place to eat. The food is absolutely amazing. I can eat a whole plate of their shrimp toast and egg rolls, seriously to die for. Everytime I come back to Chicago I visit here. The only downside is that it is always busy so you may experience a wait. But its worth it!!! I have tried almost the whole menu and I have not found one thing that I do not like. I am already looking forward to my next trip out here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    36
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really. Great. Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

You know you have a great restaurant when people can't even get into the parking lot to pick up their food. And that's exactly how it is at Chi Tung. This restaurant has so many balls up in the air, and they juggle them all very well. The take out is phenomenal. The steakhouse is exceptional. The sushi is fresh. And the restaurant is always a great experience. The food is cooked with care and is delivered well. In case you haven't noticed, this isn't your typical Chinese fare. It's upscale Chinese (and Japanese and Thai), done at a place that values everybody being able to have a chance to try it. Portions are fairly large when dining in, so plan on splitting items. (my only hesitation is in recommending their Thai menu. It's good, but it's not authentic Thai. Those who are looking for more traditional fare will be disappointed.)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Food - and Crowded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have never dined inside the restaurant. It is always jammed packed. We have gotten carry out / delivery from Chi Tung for over 15 years and the food is delicious. Parking lot fills up pretty quick. They offer delivery service. Getting in & out is cumberstone if there is a line trying to leave, they force you to use the revolving door. the regular door is always locked.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ParkAvenueMOOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Whenever we are in Chicago, we love to order from Chi Tung. Our entire family likes that some of us love Chinese, such as shrimp fried rice & Chinese veggies with meat choices, orange chicken, etc., while others can order sushi, or other Japanese style foods, and still others can order Thai. The food is excellent, the shrimp large, the spices just right. We have never had a bad experience with Chi Tung. We always order out, and the service is fast!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Have been going to Chi Tung for many years and have always had great meals. Always fresh ingredients and flavorful. Best Shrimp Panang Curry I have ever had. Have also eaten in the Hibachi room many times and the only complaint is on a few occasions we were given our leftover containers and icecream as soon as the main meat course was cooked and put on the plates. We were not able to enjoy our meal (not inexpensive as we always order the filet and lobster) as they wanted us out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon3721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chi-tung Chinese & Thai Restaurant also viewed

Evergreen Park, IL
Evergreen Park, IL
 

Been to Chi-tung Chinese & Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing