We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect with kids, but such a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Great location in downtown Evanston and Northwestern campus. Walk to Lake Mi beach in 5 mins. Orrington is an old hotel tastefully updated in modern style. Nice lounge downstairs. Room was cozy with two adults and two kids. We would've done better in an extended-stay, suite setup. It'd be ideal for a couple or for business travel.

I'd like the room to have been dusted recently, but it may've been a bit dusty because they just replaced the pillows.

Please add wireless, Hotel Orrington! Nobody wants to sit, tethered to the too-tall desk and reach over the funky, out-of-date keyboard in the desk drawer. We work in bed. It's just how we roll.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2010

Per the reviews - rooms are a little small. If you travel a lot...this can be a trend in boutique hotels that are remodeled from decades ago....After searching the site, my suspicions were correct. The hotel was built in 1923 when people didn't need as much space.....

Anyways....how they make up for it is good service. Everyone is extremely friendly and asks how you are doing each time they see you. Location is great. Centrally located in Evanston. Rooms are clean.

There are a lot of restaurants within walking distance. Check out the Celtic Knot across the street. Food and atmosphere are excellent. Locals like it as well.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PghBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I booked the executive suite to have a birthday party. When I first walked into the room, it was the smallest suite I had ever seen. Disappointment didn't stop there - I went on with the plan and invited people, but the security kicked us out in one hour because of the noise. I took the party elsewhere and went back to the hotel to sleep, and the security came again because of the noise. It was just me and one friend who were there! Worst hotel experience ever. Never ever going back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chyunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Conclave for the alpha epsilon Pi fraternity organization of the Midwest were harassed by staff as they true to greet their fellow brothers in the hall. Police were called in with no communication from staff as to what was wrong. Staff was confrontational when engaged about the situation.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tacobellfail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

We arrived late on a Friday night and stayed until Sunday morning. We had good service the entire time - from the front desk to the valet service. Room was nice, bathroom was small but not a problem. We didn't notice any problem with noise. We plan to stay here again - it's a really nice location.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelchiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

This hotel is in a nice spot in Evanston, which is a great walking town. You can walk to everything, including Northwestern U. which is a couple blocks away.The room I had was large and spacious with a small bathroom. The shower was great though..good water pressure and nice amenities. This made up for the small size.

The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillow choices, The TV was a large flat screen with limited choices, and it was very quiet inside the hotel. I didn't hear any of my neighbors. It was, however, very noisy outside with construction, the obnoxious leaf blowers in the morning, and cars honking.

The food that we had at the hotel was very good and the staff was very professional and courteous. The elevators were very fast.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel. I've been there 3 or 4 times now, and it's very reliable.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Orrington...very clean, modern-style rooms. Would definitely visit again!

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
Thank dladd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 7 in Evanston
221 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-3828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range: $136 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing