We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom, Breakfast, Fridge and Microwave” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Oconomowoc, United States
1 review
“Bathroom, Breakfast, Fridge and Microwave”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Bathroom is small, good for one person. I was only traveler so was OK. Someone taller than 5'6 average sized may not be pleased with tightness of bathroom space. Would have liked a continental breakfast offering. I think this would have added to the value of the experience for me. Would vote to have a fridge and microwave in my room for added convenience. Ice machine was done the hall. Nice quiet stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Christie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    369
    181
    70
    58
See reviews for
364
122
86
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We spent one night at this hotel. The people were helpful and friendly, and we were comfortable. We somehow got a corner room which had an angled wall and provided extra space and a large closet. Being at the end of a long hallway could explain why our internet connection was poor. The bathroom was pretty small with a corner sink and almost no counter space. Apart from that, the room was clean, comfortable and nice. I'm not sure if breakfast is routinely included, but we had a voucher so we ate in the hotel. That was disappointing. The breakfast buffet looked quite limited, so i just ordered off the menu. Although it's not all that easy to ruin one, I ate very little of my omelet. The service was not unpleasant, but not too efficient, either. Even though I described 4 of the 6 categories I rated as Very Good, I still gave an overall rating of 3 or Average. I expect a nice clean room and all, so they would have needed to up their game a little to be rated above average for the kind of hotel it is.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LFK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. I am glad to hear that your stay was a good one, but it is disappointing to see that we failed to provide the extra service that would create a memorable stay. The feedback you provided will be very helpful in addressing the opportunities in the areas where we could have been more consistent. Thank you again for choosing the Hilton Orrington. We look forward to hosting you again.

Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is my hotel of choice when visiting Evanston. The location is perfect. It's extremely clean. The staff is courteous and professional. I've stayed before and will stay again. Especially when visiting Northwestern University.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Pamela, thank you for taking the time to provide your great feedback on the Hilton Orrington. We are delighted to see that we have delivered on your expectations, and that your stays have been pleasant and productive.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Orrington.

Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Tiniest bathroom ever - at most 5' x 6' and room was small as well - could barely roll suitcase between bed and dresser and definitely could not eat in room - no room for a table and no room to sit together.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with size of our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

I was visiting Evanston on business and I put up here for three nights...Hilton Orrington was the obvious choice as it is right across our office.

The check-in was smooth, the location is great, the interiors...Okay.

The disappointment though was that in the room I was staying the lights in Bathroom didnt work, I complained and the technician turned up soon enough, but hey this is something that should have been taken care of in first place!

Even the handle of one of the drawer was broken...seems like the maintenance team of the Hotel is not good enough!

Also some other let downs are at the price you pay you expect atleast complimentary internet....but no you pay for that as well.

If I go Evanston again, I'll look for better options.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhaval_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for the constructive feedback on your recent stay. Our apologies for the breakdown in communication, that led to the bathroom lights needing replacement. Our associates take great pride in meeting the expectations of all our visitors. While one size does not fit all, we make every effort to provide the amenities that all of our guests can utilize. The hotel has made a substantial investment in our wifi system in order to provide and meet the requirements of those guests that have multiple devices and streaming uses. Again, we thank you for the feedback, and we will use it in an effort to improve on our services.

Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Bad -Check in was a pain and don't even go to the bar. Hopefully the elevator works now. Good- The Location is great and the surrounding neighbor hood is fun to walk around. The farm house restaurant attached has a good menu and delivers on the service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you are a big fan of added airline fees for every little service, you will LOVE this hotel. Be prepared to pay high parking fees (and don't forget to add in all the valet handouts, because you can't self-park) and absolutely ludicrous internet fees-- even if you are a Hilton Honors member! Also leave plenty of time for arguing over surprises on your bill at an understaffed front desk when you check out. The most popular front desk response to your bill disputes is silent staring.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank William G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Margarita European Inn
Margarita European Inn
#4 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Property: Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-3828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing