We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decidedly mediocre.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decidedly mediocre.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you are visiting Northwestern, this is the only game in town. It certainly trumps any other property in the area. That said, it is decidedly mediocre. The ever-revolving restaurant is always "just OK" - the downstairs bar is mysterious (sometimes there is a bar tender there...other times no) and the room service is meh. The upside is the location - right in the heart of Downtown Evanston.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KG702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
KG702,
thank you for the feedback on the Hilton Orrington Hotel. It is through feedback from our guests that enable us to address concerns, and improve the level of service for all future guests. We sincerely appreciate the time that you took to complete you review.

Thank You

MIke McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    372
    181
    70
    58
See reviews for
367
123
86
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here for a three day training conference and found the hotel to be in an excellent location in downtown Evanston. The conference facilities and support are very good. The front desk staff was extremely personable and helpful. The room was on the small side, but clean and comfortable. I was staying on the 3rd floor, the lowest guest floor and found the outdoor noise very intrusive and unacceptable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yossarrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Yossarrian,
Thank you for the complimentarry feedback on your recent stay. It was nice to see that you were able to enjoy a little bit of Evanston, while attending the conference. Our associates take great pride in providing excellent service to our guests and meeting all your expectations.

Mike Mcguigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very helpful and professional staff - especially the bellmen and valets. We brought our bikes in order to ride along the lake and through the Northwestern campus. In particular, Oscar, he gladly helped us with our bikes throughout our stay. Our room was clean and modern, and despite the three wedding parties also staying at the property, noise was not an issue, and we had a great night sleep!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Purl2014,
It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay in Evanston. I have passed along your comments to our bell staff, valet, and Oscar, specifically. Thank you again, we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.


Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Below expectation. Definitely not a 4-star hotel. Some rooms are very noisy and tiny and they are terrible. Avoid any rooms with machines operating 24/7 outside the windows in the back of the building. Overall condition is poor compare to other 4-star hotels. Breakfast is so so.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank pearsonh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Mr. Pearson, our apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. I know our front desk supervisors have communicated to you, and I hope they were helpful in dealing with your
dissapointments during your stay. It is obviously information that we will use to work on improving on a daily basis. Our goal is to exceed your expectations, and we are working everyday at that very goal.

Again my apologies,

Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

The Diamond Getaway was for a family wedding, which was a wonderful and blessed event. Our stay at the Hilton was comfortable and the staff went out of their way to treat us pleasantly as well as helpful in any way we needed. We couldn't have asked for a better way to spend our Memorial Weekend as the Evanston, IL area is filled with options no matter what your interests. Whether you're shopping, eating, sightseeing, looking at cultural venues or enjoying the beautiful Lake Michigan, Hilton Orrington/Evanston is a great oasis to call home no matter how long your stay!

Room Tip: If you're not an early riser try asking for a room not on the east side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peanutNorthwestOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Wow, what a great weekend you experienced. Thank you for sharing it on trip advisor. We all agree that Hilton Orrington and the City of Evanston, both have a lot to offer.
Thank you for the kind words, and we definitely look forward to your future trips in.


Mike McGuigan
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The room was okay. The wait at the breakfast and especially the bar were very long, I got the impression the staff needed some training. The bar person was literally nowhere to be found for large amounts of time. The hotel staff should be better than this. The location is great which is why I stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoF56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Room was quite small, but it was clean. Nobody was super friendly at the hotel, but they weren't rude either. Hotel is in a great location with lots of food and shopping within walking distance. Has a precor fitness center, so it was nice. Exactly what I expected, no more no less.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JoshCory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Margarita European Inn
Margarita European Inn
#4 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Property: Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-3828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing