We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
northwest ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diamond Getaway!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The Diamond Getaway was for a family wedding, which was a wonderful and blessed event. Our stay at the Hilton was comfortable and the staff went out of their way to treat us pleasantly as well as helpful in any way we needed. We couldn't have asked for a better way to spend our Memorial Weekend as the Evanston, IL area is filled with options no matter what your interests. Whether you're shopping, eating, sightseeing, looking at cultural venues or enjoying the beautiful Lake Michigan, Hilton Orrington/Evanston is a great oasis to call home no matter how long your stay!

Room Tip: If you're not an early riser try asking for a room not on the east side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peanutNorthwestOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Wow, what a great weekend you experienced. Thank you for sharing it on trip advisor. We all agree that Hilton Orrington and the City of Evanston, both have a lot to offer.
Thank you for the kind words, and we definitely look forward to your future trips in.


Mike McGuigan
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    380
    188
    72
    59
See reviews for
380
127
88
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The room was okay. The wait at the breakfast and especially the bar were very long, I got the impression the staff needed some training. The bar person was literally nowhere to be found for large amounts of time. The hotel staff should be better than this. The location is great which is why I stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoF56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Room was quite small, but it was clean. Nobody was super friendly at the hotel, but they weren't rude either. Hotel is in a great location with lots of food and shopping within walking distance. Has a precor fitness center, so it was nice. Exactly what I expected, no more no less.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JoshCory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Ne
Level Contributor
400 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We have been coming to Evanston for years while our son has attended Northwestern, but never stayed at this hotel until now as we preferred to stay in the city or near O'Hare. This time we decided to try it out and were not impressed.
The room was tiny and the bathroom was even smaller. With spartan finishing touches and lackluster furniture, the experience was that of a Holiday Inn or Fairfield Inn, but the room wasn't even clean. There were stains on the carpet and the bathroom was impossible to use due to no space. If you extended your arms wide you could touch wall to wall from tub to other wall.
And did I say that we paid $237 a night?
The positive aspect was that it is extremely well located and is near all the areas in Evanston you would want to be. Additionally, the staff is outstanding, from bellman to front desk. All this hotel needs to be world class is a makeover, better cleaning services and larger bathrooms.
Truly, this is shameful. This hotel needs a major overhaul before it can be even considered as an option to stay at and has unfortunately had no competition to encourage this to happen.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jncd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Orrington is a well-kept property in a terrific location with very good service. I look forward to going back for our group's event next year. I was surprised to discover this kind of value in downtown Evanston, Illinois.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I love the decor and location. It's close to NW, a few blocks west of a beautiful jogging trail lakeside, and in the middle of a restaurant district. It has the look and feel of a boutique hotel. But the food and service quality at breakfast on a Friday morning was not good, and the service quality from the front desk was poor -- the guy who is there after 8pm or so on two nights either did not answer the phone, gave me incorrect information about cab availability to the airport, and was unhelpful and impatient when I inquired about connecting to the wireless. I also had asked for a quiet room and got a room with a very loud AC/heating unit and where I could hear the garbage truck in the early morning. I'd stay here again if I didn't need good front desk service or a quiet room, and was fine eating breakfast in one of the good places nearby.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Hilton in Evanston on Orrington is right next to the Northwestern campus and downtown Evanston. I was there for one night to visit family. The room was clean, large, recently renovated, linens and bed were very nice. Bath was large and clean. The fitness room was above average, with newer equipment and was also very modern, with music individual TVs, and water

The restaurant again was nicer than average, food was very good and environment was friendly with some nice extra touches.

Staff were great, every person I encountered was helpful and made sure I got the information I needed.

The hotel is walking distance to northwestern and downtown Evanston. I can find nothing to complain about, everything was great!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reginald666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Property: Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-3828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing