We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place with a great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
660 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A nice place with a great staff”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is an older hotel that has been persistently upgraded over time. The rooms are large and nicely appointed. There is a pleasant bar on the first floor, and a restaurant that is best I thought for breakfast and lunch, rather than dinner, though it was certainly attractively priced. The restaurant has somewhat of a diner look to it, and although the food was ok, it's not really the place for a nice evening meal. The service is quite fast and attentive, as it is elsewhere at the hotel. Oh, and a nice touch is the free coffee throughout the morning in the lobby. It is close to everything in downtown Evanston and just across the street from Northwestern. It is also close to the L. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors seemed quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Phillip,
Thank you for the feedback, it is sincerely appreciated. The kind words in regards to the staff are very much appreciated.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Mike McGuigan
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    384
    190
    75
    59
See reviews for
386
131
90
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
old westbury, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

we were in Evanston to look at Northwestern University as my son is very interested to go to college their. one of his friends suggested to Stay at the Orrington- it was the perfect place it was clean convenient and very nice. the staff was very helpful with directions and suggestions. it was also very safe and easy. i would recommend this hotel to everyone. thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coloradan gal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great location in downtown Evanston, in walking distance to NU, the lake front and shops and restaurants. Our bed was really comfortable, and the room was clean, if a little small. There aren't too many options in Evanston, and this will be your best one.
We didn't have the noise issues a lot of members report... The staff did well, the hotel is in good shape, and it's overall a very risk-free, pleasant enough option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momo-colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

A hotel well known for massive street noise, shoddy service and a disastrous valet service is now even worse.

Thought I would give them another try but deeply regret it.

Despite reasonable status was assigned an incredibly bad room - really tiny and with blids that keep the sun out. No minibar.

No fitness center.

No more for me.

Room Tip: bck of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
694 reviews
313 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

ASked for an upgrade ans was given one. That is cool. room was newly renovated, that was nice. room was very clean and quiet. Furnishings were new, carpet was new. Check in was quick and easy. Staff was very helpful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Hilton Orrington is a great place to stay when you need to be in the Evanston area. It is conveniently located close to shopping, the lake within walking distance, and good restaurants all over. The staff at the hotel make it special. They are very friendly, accommodating, and pleasant. The fitness center is adequate, and the rooms are comfortable and quiet.

The only negative is that I think the rooms are ready to be "refreshed" with new carpeting and the bathrooms are small and could use some updating, but everything is adequate now - with new "soft goods" and bathroom refreshing, the property would really be a 5* property.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Hotel Orrington offered an array of interconnecting rooms and restaurant services that made getting ready for my son's wedding absolutely perfect for family and groomsmen alike. We had ample room in newly decorated rooms with an attentive staff on hand.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#6 of 8 in Evanston
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
0.4 mi away
Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Property: Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-3828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing