We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is very nice and staff is friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Overall this hotel is a diamond in the rough in Evanston. It is close to everything you would need in walking distance. My really only complaint is the rooms have plantation shutters and it was too bright in the morning. Could have germ better with room darkening shades.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trustfundtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

853 - 859 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

We didn't even make it to the hotel and the agents couldn't help me. My father became unexpectedly ill and had to cancel our family trip to Chicago. I called the hotel to cancel and was hung up on. Called back and was transferred to reservations where they couldn't help me and were going to transfer me to another agent and hung up on me. Called back asked for a manager was placed on hold and the same telephone operator tried to assist me and couldn't so she transferred me to the front desk. The front desk agent tried to transfer me back to the reservation department. How can no one cancel a simple reservation?? I still have no confirmation I'm cancelled and not going to be charged. I won't be rebooking at this property. When we travel again I'll definitely look else where.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Barb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hilton Orrington is the perfect combination of a chain (so quality standards are met) and boutique hotel. The staff is so incredibly friendly and hospitable. I have told people if I could, I would move into the Orrington - I feel so at home when I visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff was very friendly and the location was convenience for someone with business at Northwestern. The rooms smelled like an older building and there was a lot of noise throughout the night from the ally in the back. Turning on the fan drowned it out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed one night while visiting NU. Our flight was late so we didn't arrive at the hotel until almost 1am - we were exhausted and just wanted to sleep but the hotel was being overrun by teenage kids in town for a Model UN program. They were unbelievably loud and seemed to exist on every floor. That's not really the hotel's fault, but it would have been nice if they were told to keep the noise down a bit. Our room was quite small (a King rm) and the bathroom even smaller, as in only one person at a time could be in there. The room was a bit dated and the beds/pillows not so comfortable but our sleep was short due to our late arrival and morning appointments. Completely agree with others that the internet was unacceptably slow - so slow that we turned off Wifi on our devices and just used 4G on our phones and tablet. Breakfast the next morning was running very late (30 mins for food) so we just grabbed the buffet and tried to pretend it wasn't as expensive as it was. Not a perfect stay for the price paid, but not horrible either. Definitely the best for a visit to NU, though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNFamof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a real nice stay. The hotel is very conveniently located near the Northwestern campus. The suite we had was very clean and it was quite nice. Checkin was quick and the valet was efficient. My small gripe was that I was quoted one rate on the phone and then charged a higher rate on the bill. When I called, the call started out friendly, but ended just not as friendly as the employee on the phone should have been. It wasn't an argument or anything, but just not up to professional polite standards. And... we were woken up to loud noise outside the hotel in the morning, but I would expect that that was a rare occurence. I'm not sure what it was. (Some kind of construction?). But again, overall it was a very nice hotel, and most of the employees were extremely nice. Everything was very clean. The restaurant staff were great too. If you're going to an event at Northwestern and need a nice place to stay, this fits the bill.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff was willing to help in any and all ways. I was dealing with a family emergency and they assisted me whenever I needed help. If I return to the area, I will certainly stay at The Hilton Orington.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 7 in Evanston
221 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-3828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range: $136 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing