We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Convenient but Dated”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're visiting Northwestern the Hilton Orrington is a likely candidate. It is literally just a block or two away from the campus. As many have noted below the hotel is a bit dated. The bathroom was tiny (lengthwise, the longest dimension, I could touch both walls standing in the middle). The aircon/heating unit would periodically go on at full blast every thirty minutes or so run for 10 minutes then flip off. Not exactly conducive to sound sleep. Oddly at check-in they handed HHonors members two bottles of "complimentary" water. Not exactly the thing one wants to be juggling as one carries one's bags up to one's room.

The lobby staff was extremely attentive though from the valet parking ($22/day) and the concierge/luggage staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centrepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    396
    197
    77
    60
See reviews for
400
133
93
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel during a trip to see colleges, in this case Northwestern. It is an older hotel that has been updated. As such the rooms are different than what I expected from the online reservation photos, etc. Rooms are older though again clear updated to some extent; bathroom was very small, but clean. We were only there for one night so it really did not matter one way or another.

Hotel was clean, comfortable. Staff were helpful.

You pretty much have no choice but to park at the hotel if you are driving, and I find the parking rates to be exorbitant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0diJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, US
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We parked the car upon arrival and didn't need it again until departure. Perhaps because it was Spring Break, the hotel wasn't that full and we were able to get an early check-in before our afternoon visit to Northwestern. It was a short walk to the downtown area for lunch and then a few blocks in the other direction for campus. We enjoyed our afternoon snack at the Globe Cafe which is part of the hotel. The nearby Cellar at the Stained Glass is a fantastic restaurant for dinner. The room was fine with excellent Peter Thomas Roth toiletry items. The breakfast buffet was delicious and included made-to-order omelets. Definitely the place to stay if you're at Northwestern!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a trip to visit Northwestern College. It is a perfect location, an easy three block walk to the admissions office to start our campus tour at 9:00 a.m. and we were done by 11:30 to check out at 12:00 noon. The staff was friendly and helpful, our room was comfortable and clean. As others have noted, our room was a little on the smaller size, but it was fine, also our bathroom was small but had everything we needed and was no problem. Our room heater was loud too but we turned it off so it would not bother us during the night. It was a little stuffy in the room in the morning but we slept fine! I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It is close to the college, the shops and restaurants of Evanston and only a 30 minute train ride to downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anare97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is old, room small and noisy. It is expensive for what I paid. I choosed it because I was at the kellogg school and I wanted to stay closed to the campus. I spent 1 night because campus was overbooked. Room was noisy.the front desk guy was outstanding. He showed me other room

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I visited in Feb 2013 for business at Northwestern. The staff was very friendly at check-in, and I was able to get into my room at 11am - awesome! They also granted me a late check-out, which was really nice of them as well. The 2 double bed room was large and comfortable and very modern with a boutique hotel decor. Beds were comfortable with nice linens and the room had good heating (very important in February!) Amenities included a safe, mini-bar, coffee maker (with Lavazza coffee and teas), in-room internet connection, hair dryer, and free wi-fi. Nice upgraded selection of bathroom toiletries as well. Also appreciated the extremely thoughtful outlet on the nightstand which made for easy charging for cell phones overnight. Finally, at night, the hotel provides complimentary hot beverages in the lobby, either hot chocolate or hot cider. An unexpected touch that was very much appreciated on those cold nights returning to the hotel!

Cons: The bathroom is EXTREMELY tiny. So tiny that if you turn around, you're either in the shower or toilet kind of tiny. There's very little storage space on the sink or vanity, which is kind of annoying. Other than that, water pressure and linens were both very good.
Second, all of the rooms in this hotel overlook a street somewhere so they all have potential for noise. Each of the windows has wooden blinds that help block out some of the sound and light, which is good. Tip: ask for a room overlooking the allley or Clark st, those are the quietest.
Lastly, valet parking is $10 and unavoidable, ugh.

Fantastic location: very safe, walking distance to the EL, and just a block from the edge of Northwestern's campus. It's also very close to tons of restaurants and shopping in downtown Evanston. I'd skip the hotel restaurant and room service, as there are plenty of great options for breakfast and other food nearby. If you're visiting Northwestern, I'd highly recommend this Hilton. Excellent quality for a Hilton and a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Comfortable, good location in a large college town close to Northwestern campus, walking distance to shops, Starbucks in the morning. Boutique style, which I like. Nice lounge area, wish I had used more!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank aidawedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#6 of 8 in Evanston
214 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Property: Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-3828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing