We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Hilton quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
philadelphia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Hilton quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Comfortable, good location in a large college town close to Northwestern campus, walking distance to shops, Starbucks in the morning. Boutique style, which I like. Nice lounge area, wish I had used more!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank aidawedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    343
    160
    64
    55
See reviews for
319
108
79
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel has such a great location. Close to Lake michigan, Northwestern, shops and restaurants. The staff is the best! so friendly and helpful. It's a Hilton but has a historic boutique hotel feel which i love. very unique place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alyjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Chose this hotel since within walking distance to Northwestern and also train station - paid a little more than desired for these perks.

It was nice, though a little outdated. Staff were pretty friendly but no one bending over backwards.

As there are only a few options in Evanston, I would recommend this hotel if you're looking to stay right in town and right near the campus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloGal017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The good: excellent staff at the front desk, concierge, and bell service. Clean, comfortable and updated rooms. Good restaurant for breakfast. Walk 1 block to Northwestern University. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby.
The not-so-good: the bathroom in our room was a little strange...the light switch was located behind the door. Some groping and stumbling if you are trying not to disturb the rest of your party while they are sleeping. Also, the walls are fairly thin and we were able to hear the people's conversation in the room next to us.
All in all a good stay, however! The breakfast buffet has everything you could ever think of.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank los4caracoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed our service, location and the Hilton breakfast buffet. My apologies for the location of the bathroom light switch, some of our hotel bones are not the easiest to navigate around. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed 4 nights on business in Jan 2013 and had a good stay. It's ideal if you are visiting or otherwise have business in Evanston, Skokie or the north end of Chicago. The exercise room is spacious and very good and this Hilton is in a very walkable neighborhood day or night with a lot of food and shopping options within a 2 block radius. Another big plus: it is walkable to the Metra and CTA train stops. The lobby bar is also nice. The junior sized rooms have oddly small bathroom vanities but that was not a big deal since I was travelling alone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmatute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your time here and got to experience all that Evanston has to offer...despite it being January! We hope to see you again on your next business trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have made a reservation with Hotel Orrington via Booking.com. My parents decided to join me as well and booked another hotel in the area. I understand I booked the reservation with Orrington under non-refund policy.

I am a very reasonable customer, and thought it's no harm to give a try and see if any party (hotel / booking.com) can lower the penalty to one night, instead of full stay (USD 500) . A customer service at Booking.com answered the phone, and didn't help at all.

I called the hotel staff to check the possibility of cancellation or dates change. First hotel staff was nice and polite but she can't find my reservation in the system.

I then called back to Booking.com to ensure that my reservation is in the system. This time customer service at booking was so rude. She said my direct check with hotel doesn't prove anything, because she had confirmed with another staff working at hotel by throwing some random staff name.

I started not to believe in customer service at booking.com and requested hotel staff's name who confirmed my reservation. When I requested the spelling of the name, which is not a common name, booking.com staff challenge me why I don't know the spelling. OMG, I was so shocked by her response, and she started to yell at me over the phone...

I called in hotel again. Another nice staff answered and was willing to make changes, but once again, she confirmed no one can change the reservation but booking agency...

This is very bad online booking experience. No complaints on hotel. Hope hotel can feedback to Booking.com for future improvement.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maghongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I will definitely pass your remarks regarding your experience along to our market manager. It is unfortunately true that when making a reservation with a 3rd-party company like you did, the hotel isn't able to modify or cancel the reservations in any way. I hope that next time you and your family is in Evanston, you book directly with us and avoid the head ache!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is in a nice area, very close to Northwestern. It's well maintained, my room (a superior) was clean and spacious. The A/C worked well. It was really what one can expect from a Hilton, or any of the other respectable chain hotels. The one downside was the my room was facing the back, and there was some noise from A/C units on the roof of an adjacent building. It wasn't a issue when the window was closed, but opening it, for air, did let it some annoying noise. I'd suggest asking for a room facing another direction, as the area in general is quite at nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank praetor979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We hope you stay with us again next time business brings you to Evanston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.4 mi away
Margarita European Inn
Margarita European Inn
#4 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#6 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Property: Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-3828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing