We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but Too cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My Wife and I went to Evanston to take our daughter to Northwestern. We picked this hotel for its location and indeed it was conveniently located. However, the room was very small and the bathroom was so tiny that we can not put the toiletries bags in the bath room. The breakfast was included in our room rates, but it is only good but less than exciting. Around the corner from the hotel you can find Andy's frozen custard, which is just fabulous, you must try it.

The valet parking is a bit of a hassle due to the wait, be sure to book a package that include Valet parking. We did, but the valet parking fee still showed up in our bill, which they corrected after my protest. The rate was quite high due to the high demand from parents like us during this time of the year. The staff were courteous, when you get them to pick up the phone.

If you have a car you may be better off staying a few miles away in a more modern hotels with bigger rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your review! I'm glad that you got to experience Andy's Frozen Custard; it's dangerous having it right around the corner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Orrington/Evanston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

887 - 893 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We stay there for two nights and we loved it. The rooms are big and quieted. Downtown evanston and the campus are around the corner. Too bad the room service is not non-stop for those who go out drinking;)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Evanston and the room we had was large and nicely presented. However, we had a minuscule bathroom, which just didn't make sense. The toilet and basin were packed in next to the bath and there was very little room for manoeuvre. I cannot think of a smaller bathroom in the many hotels I have stayed in in the US or Europe.
Breakfast was in the adjoining eatery and was fine but we were not made to feel very welcome by the greeter on our first day.
We had to line up to check in for quite a while, despite being gold card Priority Club as there was only one person on the check-in desk.
It is right in the heart of Downtown Evanston and close to Northwestern University and a good alternative to pricey Chicago hotels as you can hop on the train into the Windy City from the nearby stations.
If we had our dog with us we would have been delighted as it proclaims on a sign outside next to a water bowl that "Four-legged Guest are Welcome" - not sure though whether that would apply to a horse or a small pig!

Room Tip: Ask to see if there are bigger bathrooms than we had in our room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmoraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your review! I'm sorry that you found the bathrooms to be small; this hotel was built in the early 1900s, and while we have done a lot of work to modernize the building, changing the bathroom size is unfortunately out of our control! I do appreciate the comment about waiting to be seated for breakfast, because that is 100% in our control, and I will notify the restaurant manager immediately. Just a tip if you do come back to the area, our suites have much more square footage in the bathroom, which may make a future stay more enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst visiting Evanston and very nice it was too. All staff gave us a warm welcome and valet parking was a treat to use when arriving and departing. Our room, facing onto the main street, was large and comfortable as was the bathroom - no complaints at all about the standard or decor of either.

One thing to complain about (although it is a waste of time) - students getting onto buses from 1 am onwards making such a din shouting and bawling until well after 3 am. All a bit of a shame really and obviously nothing the hotel can do anything about.

Plenty of pubs, restaurants and other places to eat in the immediate vicinity to cater for all price ranges.

This part of Evanston was very nice and hopefully we will return - and also return to the Hotel Orrington as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldBill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review! We hope to see you in the future, and please feel free to call the front desk if there is outside noise; we can send security out to ask people to quiet down!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is an established, older hotel that works for the area. It is the most convenient hotel to Northwestern campus. The campus clock is literally down the street, They accept dogs and even gave a doggie water bowl outside. There are handicapped rooms that are large for wheel chair access and have bathrooms that can accommodate wheelchairs and other disability needs. The hotel itself is a bit worn. Clean, most are very large rooms...but you'll notice some spots on the carpets. Staff is pleasant. Elevators can be slow -- especially during parents weekend and new student orientation. Don't take the stairs . I took the wrong staircase and had to go back up to the third floor so I didn't set off the alarm. Internet is free. I can not emphasize enough how convenient this hotel is. For weekend visits to Evanston, we park the car and walk every where.

Room Tip: If you need a handicapped room ask for it. Try not to get the room at the end of the hotel, our d...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you and your pup next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We just returned from a three night stay at the hotel and found it to be very nice. The location is excellent and the staff was incredibly helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations and general information.
There are several negatives however. The bathroom was tiny to begin with and the fact that you practically had to climb over the toilet to get to the faucet for the tub made it dangerous as well. The second negative is that when I am paying $200 a night for a room I don't believe I don't appreciate being charged for parking. Also, at that price point it would be nice to at least be able grab some fruit or juice in the morning. For less than half the price I always get a good breakfast at the Hampton Inns I stay at on business.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mk1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for your review! I'm glad that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The hotel was actually built in the early 1900s, which both adds charm and unfortunately for us means small bathrooms. Just a tip for the future - we have a parking and breakfast package that offers value on these items. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My room was large, comfy and stellar. As others noted, interesting restaurants and shops abound. As much as I love Chicago, it was nice to get out of the Loop/Downtown area where parking is $50 per night. Evanston influences the pace and the Orrington follows.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank Georgia52245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your great review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay in Evanston, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#6 of 7 in Evanston
219 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-3828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range: $144 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing