We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“College Tours Made Easy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“College Tours Made Easy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a perfect place for a visit to Northwestern as I was making this college visit with my daughter. The linens were very high quality and I loved the pillows.Also the breakfast was good and plentiful. Also we were able to visit without renting a car as the train lets you off within 1 block of the hotel. The school is also about 4-5 blocks from the University. An easy walk.
The one downside is the lobby ....quite dark, dreary and unwelcoming...a stark contrast to the room itself.
Also there are restaurants right across the street.

Great for parents' weekend

Room Tip: We did happen to have a room where we heard the train, but it was not totally unbearable. Just some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capegirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    179
    136
    65
    27
See reviews for
207
82
54
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here with a friend over spring break, and it was better than what we expected. We got a deal because of her dad's frequent traveling, which was very nice. We were freshman in college, and they still treated us like adults, which was refreshing. They were so helpful and understanding. The staff would ask us how the stay was going in passing, and the room was always clean. The beds were nice and fluffy and comfy. Really enjoyed it, and a great location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Although in a pretty good location, not impressed with this property while visiting Northwestern with my prospective student. For the money it was below standards. Our room smelled funny like old dust/musty, old wallpaper peeling, corners of room at ceilings had brownish stains. Bathroom had worn out tile. Not sure they could even get it all clean if they tried. The noise from the L was not overwhelming but annoying. No view. Our rate increased while we were there and I just felt it was not justified. Parking garage kind of scary. Breakfast was just ordinary. The staff was nice but not overly helpful. If we ever go back I'd try for a special at one of the Hiltons or even pay more. Just not worth it.

Room Tip: High floor on opposite side of the L.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaMA1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Evanston hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Recently went with our teenager to visit Northwestern University. Stayed at the Best Western University Plaza becasue it offered the best rates. The hotel is situated in downtown Evanston and easily accesible to the University and all the downtown restaurants. The hotel is a bit old and a little rough around the edges but the rooms and facilities were clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The room comes with a free continental breakfast in a large spacious area (looks like it used to house a hotel restaurant). Breakfast was typical. Free "USA Today" each morning. There is an attached parking garage for $14.00/day with free in/out all day long. The "L" stop in to Chicago is only two blocks away so we took the train in to town and spent the day there. Overall and nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is close to the "L" you do get some train noises. We were on the 5th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stl1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

There's nothing really noteworthy about this. It's a pretty standard Best Western. It's a little bit old; the hallways really could use a bit of fresh paint or wallpaper. The Rooms are spacious and clean, but honestly too white. Overwhelmingly white for my taste. The walls are off white, the bedding is white. It had a "cold" feeling to it, but it's comfortable enough - and, unlike a lot of hotels I've stayed at, the bed had excellent pillows! There's the standard complimentary continental breakfast. Everything you'd expect; nothing that really stands out. The staff here are very friendly.

As far as location is concerned, it's reasonable convenient. If you're there to do anything at all connected with Northwestern University (as I was) then the campus is no more than a 15 minute walk away. There's not a whole lot to do in Evanston, other than Northwestern, but there's lots of places to eat within walking distance. If you're planning to go into Chicago, there are Purple Line stations - again within reasonable distance. I didn't make that trip, but from what I've heard it takes about 40 minutes to get to the Loop. The only issue with the location is that there's a rail line right across the street and you can hear the trains. Not enough to keep me awake at night, but if one goes by while you're awake, you do notice it.

I was surprised by the rather limited number of television channels available, and I was equally surprised at the $14 daily parking fee in addition to the room rate. The public can use the hotel's parking garage for $14 for a 12-24 hour stay. I'd think they should give hotel guests a bit of a rate, so that put me off a little bit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Repeat guest. Will be back again. It's a good hotel in a good location! Friendly staff! Clean rooms. Free continental breakfast. Walking distance to Downtown Evanston, CTA "L" trains and METRA. Good food and bars nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNationalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.1 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Margarita European Inn
Margarita European Inn
#4 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Address: 1501 Sherman Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-4416 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Evanston is the Holiday Inn Chicago North-Evanston, Illinois! Our hotel occupies a prime spot along Chicago's North Shore, just four blocks away from Lake Michigan and Northwestern University and close to downtown Chicago sightseeing, tours, museums, restaurants and shopping. This state-of-the-art Hotel features special in room amenities such as Free High Speed Internet Access, Microwave and Refrigerator, 37" Flat Panel LCD TV and Free Local Calls. Whether you are staying with us for Business or Pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our Outdoor Swimming Pool (seasonal), Business Center, Wireless Internet Access in all public areas and Fitness Center. Points of Interests:Companies: Rotary International, Leapfrog Online, ZS Associates Hospitals: Evanston Hospital Universities: Northwestern University (NU), Kellogg School of Management Local Attractions: Northwestern University, Baha'i House of Worship, Navy Pier, Wrigley Field, Shedd Aquarium, Art Institute of Chicago, Willis Tower. The newest addition to Evanston is the Holiday Inn Chicago North-Evanston, Illinois! Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Chicago North-Evanston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Plaza Hotel Evanston
Best Western Hotel Evanston
Evanston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing