We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location, kind of old” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    175
    135
    64
    27
See reviews for
206
80
54
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel was in a great location, I had two interviews scheduled in Evanston and Chicago, so this place was ideal for a one night stay. My hotel room was clean and the view was great. Two days after I left, I checked my bank statements and they charged me $250 dollars for cigarrette smoke. I was very upset to learn this considering that I DON'T SMOKE nor have I ever. I don't know what they where getting this information. To add insult to injury, I called and demanded that I speak to someone about this and there was no one there in power to refund me back my money. After I asked what evidence they had of smoke for example, an actual ciggarrette butt or ashes, and they said there was a sense of smell, not SCENT, A sense. I don't know if they percieved smoke, or was so ignorant that they said sense instead of scent. This is very upsetting and I am still fighting to get my money back because I was robbed, and I am completely innocent of their crazy accusation. Maybe their cleaning staff smoked in the room after we left, but if I smoked, i would have just gotten a smoking room that is the same price. Well the manager hung up on me and was very rude, my husband got on the phone and still he hung up on him. This place was a night mare. I am trying to get a job in the Illinois area to make money, not lose it. Now my bank account is overdrawn and I can't afford my car note this month, I am not rich and I work very hard for my money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Delia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The advantage of this hotel was the location (close to NWU) and cost. The beds were comfortable; the view was great. The parking lot elevator was broken requiring moving luggage up and down stairs. Staff was very friendly and helpful.


  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank SUSAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This used to be a good hotel. Needs some serious updating. Clean, but Old TVs, bathroom fixtures. Expected a lot more for $99. Location is excellent. Parking $14.
A good place for college kids.
Watch out for the smoking rooms.
The whole floor can stink of smoke.
Friendly front desk.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Picplr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had a fantastic experience at this hotel. I stayed here back in December thanks to a 2-night deal on Kayak. I wasn't expecting much due to the price that I paid but boy was I surprised! The downside of this hotel was the lack of free parking ($14/day!) but everything was fantastic. The beds were comfortable, the staff was so nice, the breakfast was meh, but it was free! How can you beat that? The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the parking. boo! It was right around the corner from the train station, and on a Sunday it took us about 40 minutes to get to the city center. On Monday (after rush hour) it only took us about 25 minutes.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the city - it's a small view but it's a view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.1 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Margarita European Inn
Margarita European Inn
#4 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Address: 1501 Sherman Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Evanston is the Holiday Inn Chicago North-Evanston, Illinois! Our hotel occupies a prime spot along Chicago's North Shore, just four blocks away from Lake Michigan and Northwestern University and close to downtown Chicago sightseeing, tours, museums, restaurants and shopping. This state-of-the-art Hotel features special in room amenities such as Free High Speed Internet Access, Microwave and Refrigerator, 37" Flat Panel LCD TV and Free Local Calls. Whether you are staying with us for Business or Pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our Outdoor Swimming Pool (seasonal), Business Center, Wireless Internet Access in all public areas and Fitness Center. Points of Interests:Companies: Rotary International, Leapfrog Online, ZS Associates Hospitals: Evanston Hospital Universities: Northwestern University (NU), Kellogg School of Management Local Attractions: Northwestern University, Baha'i House of Worship, Navy Pier, Wrigley Field, Shedd Aquarium, Art Institute of Chicago, Willis Tower. The newest addition to Evanston is the Holiday Inn Chicago North-Evanston, Illinois! Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Chicago North-Evanston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Plaza Hotel Evanston
Best Western Hotel Evanston
Evanston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing