We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We went to Evanston to tour Northwestern University and initially made the mistake of booking a Best Western in Morton Grove. Big mistake. When we discovered our error we called the BW in Evanston to see if they had rooms. On all the hotel sites it lists this hotel's rate as $249.00 per night, which was a bit more than we wanted to spend since we needed two rooms. When I called, the woman asked if we were in town for anything special and I replied that we were going to Northwestern. She immediately discounted the rate from $249.00 a night down to $109.00. Why??? It was graduation the next day. We did not know this. Was this hotel worth $249.00 a night? Absolutely not. It is an older hotel with a much needed facelift. The town of Evanston is nice enough with decent pubs and shopping. Unfortunately, there isn't a lot of options there. When we arrived to check in one of the hotel desk clerks "Westly" was in a heated argument on the phone with a guest about canceling a room.. He was extremely rude and loud and everyone who was in the lobby overheard the conversation. When he finished he said "Won that one!" Very unprofessional.

Room Tip: Ask for the "Northwestern" discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnerCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    179
    136
    65
    27
See reviews for
207
82
54
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, IL
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Best Western University Plaza staff were very kind and accommodating. We were in Evanston to take care of family matters; we had to check out beyond the normal check out time and we were not penalized. The continental breakfast is filling and plentiful; the lady in charge runs her responsibility like a queen. the rooms and hallways have recently been redecorated and are acceptable, if a bit uninspired. However, the parking garage is dark and dirty; the entrance to the hotel through the parking garage is dismal and uninviting. an unpleasant smell like gas escaping is present in the common areas (but not the breakfast area). The location in downtown Evanston is very convenient. The rating of "average" is a bit on the generous side. Parking is $14, but we were not charged.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the end of a hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maiagaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

My family stayed here when we did a prospective freshman visit to Northwestern University. Talk about convenient. The hotel is about a block away from the elevated train stop and within easy walking distance to the University. Very convenient.

The room was clean and spacious. Good bathroom with plenty of hot water. Maid service was efficient. The family loved the complimentary breakfast.

If we need ti return, we will have no hesitation in coming back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colo_Traveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

My room was nice but my colleagues room had pealing paint.
He is giving me a hard time for picking this hotel.
Train noise all night. Room temp fluctuating.
Wifi didn't work with iPad or iPhone but ok via laptop.
Breakfast was plain bad. Plastic and carbs only. Cold HB eggs only. No toaster.
Breakfast room dark and ugly with wires running across wall in carelessly.
Elevator rattled as if it was falling apart.
Parking garage dark and scary.
I will stay somewhere else next visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottcoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Evanston hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

The most depressing brand-name hotel I have ever stayed at. Dark, dingy, and worn. It starts with the self-park garage, with hazardous, poorly lit stairs that lead to the elevator. It continues with the worn entrance door and rug leading to the drab registration desk. You pass an out-of-order water fountain thinking "Who would drink from this if it was in working order?" The room furniture is worn and shabby. The TV set appeared to be circa 1995 at best. The bathroom had cheap formica and worn tiles, and you could almost see through the ultra-thin bath towels. The other and far more reliable chain hotel in town was sold-out but had an opening for our second night visiting Northwestern and we left quickly after the one night.

Best Western? Hmmm...just a Western.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brodmktg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

I stayed here recently while visiting Northwestern University with my teenage son. The price was much lower than other hotels and is about 8 full blocks from the University. On a nice day, that's a nice walk. The room was clean though somewhat dated. Lots of places to eat within a short walk if you don't want to eat in the hotel. There is a free continental breakfast but I didn't use it. Front desk was very personable, helpful, and they stored my luggage before check in, after check out, and printed my boarding passes for me. Not an upscale hotel, I would definitely stay here again for the price and location and friendliness of staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calace90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

This hotel was dingy and sketchy. It is not ideal for a group of 20 high school students. When one room of 4 girls was given a room and key it was occupied by two naked men. The breakfast is complementary but awful. The free wifi works awfully.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carcar810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.1 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Margarita European Inn
Margarita European Inn
#4 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Address: 1501 Sherman Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-4416 (Formerly University Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Evanston is the Holiday Inn Chicago North-Evanston, Illinois! Our hotel occupies a prime spot along Chicago's North Shore, just four blocks away from Lake Michigan and Northwestern University and close to downtown Chicago sightseeing, tours, museums, restaurants and shopping. This state-of-the-art Hotel features special in room amenities such as Free High Speed Internet Access, Microwave and Refrigerator, 37" Flat Panel LCD TV and Free Local Calls. Whether you are staying with us for Business or Pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our Outdoor Swimming Pool (seasonal), Business Center, Wireless Internet Access in all public areas and Fitness Center. Points of Interests:Companies: Rotary International, Leapfrog Online, ZS Associates Hospitals: Evanston Hospital Universities: Northwestern University (NU), Kellogg School of Management Local Attractions: Northwestern University, Baha'i House of Worship, Navy Pier, Wrigley Field, Shedd Aquarium, Art Institute of Chicago, Willis Tower. The newest addition to Evanston is the Holiday Inn Chicago North-Evanston, Illinois! Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Chicago North-Evanston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Plaza Hotel Evanston
Best Western Hotel Evanston
Evanston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing