We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, great guinness, friendly folks”

The Celtic Knot Public House
Ranked #14 of 276 Restaurants in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Celtic Knot Public House is a locally owned and independently operated pub and restaurant located steps from hotels, Northwestern University and public transport in downtown Evanston.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good food, great guinness, friendly folks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

we have been staying in Evanston for a few weeks now. We have stopped in at CK for drinks, snacks and dinner -- always a pleasure. I wish there was a branch in SLC -- a place where you can always find something tempting served with warmth and great hospitality. BTW - the guinness is draft and poured properly

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    64
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
“An extension of home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Celtic Knot is one of those places that we love sharing with friends. When we have guests we often take them to the Knot for excellent pub food and other more complicated entrees. They make the best liver and onions in sherry sauce ever. The staff makes us all feel at home, much like we have found in the UK.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boston_Terrier_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Irish food is not a 6pack and a potato!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have eaten in the Celtic Knot numerous times, and the food has always been tasty and the atmosphere casually pleasant. The menu provides lots of choices and the mild fruit beers are good accompaniments for those who do not like grain beers (I am one of those).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AFL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Book your seat now for St Paddy's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Corn Beef and Cabbage is out of this world! We have been there many times and it is a great atmosphere. The staff goes out of their way every time. It reminds of my visit to Ireland.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curt f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
155 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We were welcomed into the restraraunt and seated right away. Tommy our service was very attentive and knew the menu well. The food was delicious.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChaChi121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Celtic Knot Public House also viewed

 

Been to The Celtic Knot Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing