We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food - Relaxed Atmosphere”

The Celtic Knot Public House
Ranked #17 of 279 Restaurants in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Celtic Knot Public House is a locally owned and independently operated pub and restaurant located steps from hotels, Northwestern University and public transport in downtown Evanston.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
153 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Food - Relaxed Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had dinner here on our last night in Evanston. I ordered fish & chips and the fish had a light crispy batter on it. It was cooked to perfection -- NOT in the least bid greasy. Hubby had house made corned beef which he loved. (He is a bit of a corned beef connisseur.) Good & filling meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank labs33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    65
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good grub”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I can't vouch for the "regular" items in the menu like steak, burgers and fish but the bangers and mash and the full/half monty were both tasty. Great to find somewhere that does black pudding and the even rarer white pudding. Good quality Irish sausage, real bacon and Heinz baked beans, all good.
Sports fans, there are no tv's at all.
Tuesday nights Irish music night was a bit on the noisy side. It is only a small dining and with upwards of ten musicians including bag pipes the music can be a bit over powering.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steveg2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Live music and excellent kitchen”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great for lunch or dinner, alone or with friends. Live music and live Irish music at night. Also, a perfectly poured Guinness.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmatute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice little Irish place”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went to the Celtic Knot for dinner on a Friday. I was worried that we didn't have reservations, but we were seated immediately.

The menu was expansive and offered many delicious choices. We opted for the Celtic combo which was a nice mix of fish and chips, lamb stew, and corned beef and cabbage. The fish and corned beef were excellent. The lamb stew was good, but it had a little too much sage for my taste.

The bread pudding and chocolate cake were phenomenal. The Irish coffee was a little strong, but I don't often drink alcohol, so that's probably why.

Our waiter was very pleasant and attentive. The atmosphere was very cozy. I almost felt like we were invited into someone's home.

I would definitely eat here again. I would love to try the shepherd's pie!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Overall not bad”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Food & service is not bad, but nothing special. The corned beef & cabbage was interesting - more a couple slabs of beef, rather than the traditional slices. Desserts were very good - sticky toffee pudding and chocolate cake. A nice option when you want something different.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Celtic Knot Public House also viewed

 

Been to The Celtic Knot Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing