We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quaint small hotel that could use updating (ASAP)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Homestead
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Tokyo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A quaint small hotel that could use updating (ASAP)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The facade is very nice, Colonial Look.

I stayed here for three weeks and the staff at the Front Desk were all friendly and accommodating.

Unfortunately, the room is also "colonial" and needs modern day updating. The Wi-Fi just would not connect very well and the reception was very week to moderate at best. Requested room change, but that did not solve the problem, so figure that the whole network needs attention.

Air conditioner (window type) was not only noisy, but wasn't cooling, so called the engineer to fix and it took them 2 days to find out that the unit was not working, so they install a new one (to another window).

The bathtub drain must be from the 60s and just would not drain quickly. The plug was one of those plastic/rubber flat plugs that I have not seen in ages.

The room I stayed in had a small kitchen (nice feature), but the pots/pans and frying pan were from the 60s also and everything stuck/burned and I had to go out and by a Teflon coated frying pan. The faucet in the kitchen also dripped and took them two full days to fix it.

All in all, a very nice small hotel in a very quiet neighborhood, but it needs upgrading ASAP.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hirokoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate you mentioning the beautiful exterior of our property. The detail and charm of the 1920’s craftsmanship is something that we take great pride in, as we are a registered historic hotel.

We agree with you about the upgrading, and are in the process of doing just that. Unfortunately, upgrades on a 90 room hotel don’t happen overnight, and tend to be ongoing, due to the frequency of traffic. The Homestead makes steady improvements all year long, and we have plenty of fresh implementations one the way. We know that we don’t look like a generic chain hotel, but we think that’s a good thing!

I’m sorry to hear of your maintenance issue with the air conditioner and faucet. There is no excuse for a two day delay in any maintenance service that we provide. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We discussed your specific experience at our recent management meeting, so as to discourage any repeated or similar experiences in the future.

Thank you for mentioning the positive attributes of having a kitchen in your suite.
For your reference, all of our pots and pans in house are a high quality stainless steel, and have been purchased due to their commercial grade and high durability. While some do get more use than others, I can assure you that none of them are from the 60’s.

We recognize that many people are more accustomed to non-stick pans, and tend to use those at home. While Teflon pans are significantly more affordable, and for some easier to use, we still think it’s better to have the high quality of stainless steel for the use of our guests.

Thank you for mentioning our great location, and our friendly and accommodating staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    70
    33
    18
    8
See reviews for
69
48
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Initial impression upon entering the lobby level was that it's old. We are used to Westin type of hotels. The elevator is small, old and slow. The hallway on our 6th floor reminded me of an old apartment. Upon entering the room, the same feeling. But, over 3 night stay we increasingly liked it more and more. It feels like home but with the convenience of a hotel that serves your needs in a down to earth sorta way. Very comfortable bed, good water pressure in shower, soft sheets, flat screen tv, ample closet space with plenty hangers, coffee machine, fully acceptable toiletries, continental breakfast, but no doorman, no valet, none of the things in fancy hotels that suck up your tip money. Also, conveniently located very near Northwestern and downtown Evanston in a very safe feeling picturesque neighborhood street. Hotel uses an off property public parking lot about one block away that is quite large and brightly lit and safe feeling. Still, not as convenient as on property lot. Street parking in front of the hotel was usually available though. It all somehow works towards a rather unique hotel experience
and we really enjoyed it. Thanks Homestead.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nwdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in desperate need of upgrading, including getting more than one elevator. Beds werent comfortable, air conditioner was an old window unit. I was expecting this to be quaint, it wasn't. Photos on the wall were strange. Positives - staff was super friendly, everything was clean, it was cheap, mediocre continental breakfast. There has to be a better place to stay - we stayed here for a wedding (paid $110 I think). I would have gladly paid more for a nicer place, I saw a Hilton down the road that I wish I checked out. Otherwise stay in Chicago and take the train in

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ICanBeCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thanks for reviewing The Homestead on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you sharing your experience.

For your reference, The Homestead does have a second elevator located towards the rear of the building. The second elevator is often used for freight, as it is larger, and more accommodating for bigger items. For the convenience of our guests, there is a sign posted to indicate the alternate elevator just past the lobby elevator, located on the revolving door of the hallway. We wish we would have known you were looking for another option, as our concierge team would have happily redirected you.

We understand that everyone has different likes and dislikes when it comes art. It is for this very reason that we feel it is important to mention that most of the art that we have on our walls are actually original pieces of work, and not mass produced prints. While we understand, like all art, that this may not be everyone’s choice, the art in the building was a detail that the hotel ownership took great care with.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and specifically for mentioning our friendly staff and clean accommodations. We certainly do appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just spent 6 nights there and will be back. The staff is wonderful and could not be nicer. My room was large clean and the bed was quite comfortable. It is an older building but well maintained. Parking is included in a garage 1 block away. My only complaint was some rude guest who was screaming about jelly. I felt sorry for the staff. P.S. The dining room is excellent we brought 5 guests and they loved it

Room Tip: The one bedroom unit was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Yes, the building is lovely. Yes, the location is good. Yes, the room was big. Yes, the front desk service is accommodating. But, the place is just not clean. Stains in the elevator with lots of cleaning solvent smell. Stains in the bathroom, the bedroom, and the living room. Years of grime ground into the carpets. And a sullen cleaner.

If you go, take slippers so you don't have to be barefoot in your room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDinDC20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. While we hate to hear that your visit was less than exceptional, we do appreciate you letting us know.

Unfortunately, due to the high end products that are used to maintain rigorous carpet cleaning, the scent that you described in the elevator is one that accompanies this type of deep cleanse. We recognize that the scent may be temporarily stronger and more concentrated in the elevator, as it is an enclosed space. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your visit.

A hotel is a busy place, and routine carpet replacement is a mandatory staple in the operation of business. While it sounds as though your room definitely needed a carpet replacement, I can assure you that no carpet in the building has “years of grime” built up, requiring the need for slippers. That being said, I’m so sorry that your experience left you feeling this way.

We take customer service extremely seriously at The Homestead. Please accept our apologies for any communication with a member of our team who was not pleasant, courteous, and welcoming. We have since addressed your dissatisfaction with our housekeeping team.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Homestead. We appreciate you mentioning our lovely building, excellent location, and spacious suites. We also appreciate you mentioning our accommodating front desk concierge service, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradfordwoods, PA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

First the good. The Homestead is a charming old building located just feet from the Northwestern campus. Parking and breakfast are complementary, service is friendly and prompt, and the front porch is a nice place to sit outside. Rates are very reasonable. Parking was in a public garage just one block away. Breakfast included the basics: bagels, hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt. Fine to get the day started.

Also good: our room on the fifth floor, which was actually a one-bedroom suite with a small living room, kitchenette and bathroom, was quiet and clean, and being on the fifth floor our view was above the surrounding buildings instead of the walls of the building next door.

The negatives: The bed was very very uncomfortable. The mattress seemed like it was at least 20 years old and the sheets were becoming threadbare. There was no thermostat and the room was very warm after a day in the 70's. We kept the windows open, which helped, but then it stormed overnight so our choices were loud thunder and rain but tolerable temperature, or quieter room with us roasting.

One other problem is that though the hotel provides free wireless internet access, there is no way to print. I just wanted boarding passes and ended up going to the library (just two blocks away, and it is worth a visit. It is beautiful.) But really? A hotel in 2012 that can't print 2 pages?

Bottom line is that although the hotel is attractive, conveniently located, and has a pleasant staff, if you want to be comfortable and need any kind of business computer service, better stay someplace else. Evanston has plenty of choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor or above if you like to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Homestead.
We appreciate you mentioning the charm of our building, and our excellent location by Northwestern University! We also appreciate you mentioning the convenient garage parking option, complimentary breakfast, and the overall cleanliness of our hotel, thank you.

We do offer a couple printing options that you may not have been aware of during your visit. The Homestead has a printer located in the hotel library for complimentary use by all guests 24 hours a day. We keep the printer in the library as it tends to be the most common place for people to work and study. We also find that the added bonus of coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and the daily newspaper that is always available in the library, make it that much more pleasant for our guests to comfortably work.

Additionally, for your convenience, if your preference is to have your documents printed for you, you can always request the front desk concierge to do so at any time between 7am and 11pm.

For your reference, concierge printing information is made available in each in-room guest directory.

Regarding the temperature of your suite, all guest rooms and apartment suites are equipped with air conditioning units and radiators to maintain a consistent indoor temperature throughout the year. All radiators have a temperature-controlling valve with settings ranging from 1 to 6 to adjust to your desired room temperature. All air conditioners may be independently controlled to provide ventilation and cooling options.

We are sorry to hear that you were not comfortable while staying with us. We wish we would have been made aware, as a member of our team would have happily made the appropriate temperature adjustments for you, or simply relocated you to an alternative suite.

Our policy regarding sheets and mattresses is to replace them once they are no longer at their maximum comfort level. Thank you for making us aware of your dissatisfaction. We have since addressed the situation.

Thank you again for taking the time to let others know of your experience on Tripadvisor.
We take great pride in being a hotel that offers elevated service, and appreciate you mentioning it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews. I stayed at the Homestead with my husband, daughter and her two teenagers, one who was visiting Northwestern University. We were all pleasantly surprised with the accommodations. We had the two-bedroom suite on the seventh floor, with plenty of sleeping space for all of us and included a complete kitchen. I have done a lot of traveling and have stayed in many different types of accommodations. The Homestead is a very comfortable and very clean hotel. It is not a modern hotel with all up-to-date furnishings, and it is not meant to be. It is a historical hotel and that is indeed part of its charm. It is very handy to the University and close to many great restaurants and shopping. The staff was very pleasant and anxious to please. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coco_hite_2240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience!
We love reading reviews like this one, and wanted to thank you for your honest feedback, and for taking the time to let people know about your recent stay at The Homestead.

I wanted to especially thank you for mentioning the cleanliness and comfort of our hotel.
Our team takes great pride in the work that they do, and your mention of elevated service is really wonderful!

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Evanston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.1 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.5 mi away
Margarita European Inn
Margarita European Inn
#4 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead

Property: The Homestead
Address: 1625 Hinman Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-6021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Homestead 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homestead is a historical hotel, ideally nestled on a residential street just two blocks from both Northwestern University as well as the sandy shores of Lake Michigan. Just a five minute stroll to lively downtown Evanston, we provide our guests with inviting and comfortable accommodations in an appealing, European atmosphere. Each of our ninety guestrooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartment suites have been individually adorned with traditional decor, guaranteeing every guest a unique experience in charming and gracious surroundings. Complimentary continental breakfast, wireless internet, and garage parking are included with each reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Evanston
Homestead Hotel Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing