We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah-mazing”
Review of Pine Yard Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pine Yard Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ah-mazing”
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Yum! We all LOVE Pineyard. It is authentic and delicious. I highly recommend it for any occasion. Great Place for kids. Pineyard has a lot of space and is relatively quiet and peaceful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yentrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great wonton soup and dumplings”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Good moo shoo also, but the environment is antiseptic and the service unfriendly. Take out.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Make the Server Know How You Want to be Served”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

My wife and I and two friends visited Pine Yard recently. This restaurant has been a favorite for many years, and the food is still wonderful and reasonably priced. The servers were attentive. And yet - our entrees were served separately - about 10 minutes apart. In retrospect, the servers obviously assumed, without asking, that we intended to dine family style and share each entree. Had that actually been the case, the mean would have been terrific.

This restaurant has an extensive Chinese menu, well prepared and tasty food and reasonable prices. However, be sure the server knows wheher or not you intend to dine family style or want all your entrees served at once.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Delicious affortable Dishes for yourself or family”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

There have a good price and various lunch menu, included rice, soup and tea if you eat in. Those are different then other traditional Chinese restaurant. You should give it a try if you haven't been there or even come to Evanston.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenTea88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor customer service.”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

After waiting 30 minutes for our entree to arrive
after our soup appetizer the food was very oily.
We sent our entree back to be re-prepared because
there was about 1/8'' of oil on the bottom of the dish.
The waitress got very quiet and summoned the manager.
The manager was surly about it and grudingly
brought it back to her brother, the cook.
This is how Chinese food is she said.
We said its never been this oily.
3 minutes later she brought
it back out with the broccoli burned and still quite oily.
Usually the food is prepared fine
but you are better off not
complaining because its a huge problem.
When we said we are regular customers
she said everyone is a regular customer.
The bottom line is they did not care enough to
treat one of their regular customers right.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Leisuretravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine Yard Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing